We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kalmar
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Central location - Stayed only one night with a tour group - Kalmar is pretty small so you can walk everywhere - close to the Castle. Bathrooms are quirky and oddly shaped - the model for Swedish hotel bathrooms seems to be small and very skinny (2'x6') - if someone's on the toilet you can't get to the shower and your knees are touching the wall - Someone commented about no a/c - that's the standard for Sweden - they don't need it - We were able to open the window and weren't disturbed by any outside street noise. The breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank turkeyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We are family of four travelling with kids ages 2 and 6 so finding a hotel that will have a big enough room can be a challenge especially if you try to book it over Expedia or any other American company as they usually tend to set aside smaller rooms or their search engines assume each kid needs their own bed. We did some search though the Tripadvisor and ended up making the reservation through Booking.com.
The hotel is a quirky boutique style building transformed into a hotel from a Masonic lodge or so the story goes. It has lots of charm and big family rooms with old style furniture, big windows and strangely coupled '80's style bathrooms. But overall very comfortable hotel. The location is also great in terms of being close to everything: the train station, marina, the castle... But it brings lots of noise from the restaurants and people on the street up in late hours. So when you check in you will find a set of ear plugs for every individual listed in your reservation. I knew that can't be a good sign :). In addition there is no air conditioning in the room which is a problem on hot summer days. The rooms get too hot at night but we were not able to open the windows due to so much noise in the street even past 2 am.
The Wi-Fi did not work at all during our total 3 days of stay. The girls working at the reception claimed that it is working for them but we were not able to connect anywhere in the building on any of our devices so do not count on it.
In addition, it was great having breakfast included in the reservation which seems to be a norm in Europe, at least in Scandinavian countries. The selection of breakfast items was decent and relatively tasty.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids ask for a family room. Corner rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple nights during a Scandinavian tour. I appreciated the old hotel charm and accessible location to attractions, shops, restaurants, etc. The included breakfast was quite good. I also enjoyed the sitting area with coffee/tea. However, the room was on smaller size, and I was able to hear my neighbors through the walls. Also, I remember waking up to construction, but that can happen anywhere! Since the hotel is in a central location, one has to expect some noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faiza4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice hotel in the middle of Kalmar. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was excellent. You can park your car close-by, but it is paid parking between 9 and 15. The hotel is in an historic building and looked nice from the inside. The rooms were not too big, but well equipped and clean. Restaurants are located across the hotel and plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaakBaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located in the centre of town on a square. The building is a gem and the staff were friendly, the room was ok but we were on the first floor directly opposite the bar/club. Out stay coincided with graduation week which meant a lot of very loud and drunk Swedish youngsters partying into the early hours. The only way to try to get a reasonable sleep was to use earplugs (not provided by the hotel) and sleep with the window shut. A small desk top fan in the room kept the air moving but the room was too hot.
Breakfast was average with the usual European fare.
I'm sure that on an ordinary weekday with no parties going on that the hotel would be ok, just unfortunate that we didn't experience this!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Location is best part about this hotel. Just by the railway station, close to shopping mall and close to harbor, not at hotel meant for spending time on the rooms. The rooms was just the right size, cost was neither cheap or expensive. Very good alternative for middle priced hotel in Kalmar.

Room Tip: Choose room towards the town, even if busy streets in Kalmar aren't really busy, lights from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurtig679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

One of these old style hotels you just love, if you are looking for soemthing out of the maistream. The careful renovations gives you the imprerssion that this hotel are run by people that know not to destroy a good feeling. Localiosation is spelndid so are the service. Breakfast is well tasting but nothing really ordinary.
The nice "afternoon tea" room is well worth a visit but I wodul wish that the hotel had put a little more effort to the complement to the cofee and tea. Why not, for example a fruit basket?
Note the the hotel reception is not manned 24h, so contact the hotel in advance if you planning for a late arrival.

Room Tip: If you lookig for a more quite night dot selcet the room in entrance level direction to the marketpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
0.3 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#8 of 10 in Kalmar
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#5 of 10 in Kalmar
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 10 in Kalmar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Address: 2 Larmtorget, Kalmar 392 32, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frimurarehotellet, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frimurare Hotellet Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing