We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location, best option in Vaxjo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Vaxjo
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“best location, best option in Vaxjo”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We had a great experience in our 3 night stay at this hotel.

Location: Perfect, 100m from the train station. In the middle of the commercial part of Vaxjo and the lake.

Wireless Internet: Free

Breakfast: good, not perfect.

Room: We asked for the "new rooms" and they are great. Big, new and well maintained. The shower is "Swedish style".

Tip: Try the Greek restaurant on the other side of the train station. wonderful food and sympathy (25€/pax).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinaferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    128
    65
    22
    12
See reviews for
44
85
20
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollviken, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Stayed here for one night - saturday to sunday. From previous reviews can tell we must have been in one of the renovated rooms. Great - bright, spacious and with everything you wanted. Beds a little soft for my taste - but that is definitely a matter of taste. Couldnt have been better.

The hotel currently runs a weekend campaign - breakfast until 12:00 noon and checkout 18:00 on sundays. For a weekend getaway this is absolutely perfect.

Location is middle of town - easy to find and easy parking on the town square.

It was a saturday night - and got the feeling the hotel made sure that the guests were staying away from the hotel side facing the square/back since the inhouse disco was generating a lot of noise. In our room location we were certainly not disturbed - although we did hear the dumping of the trash the following morning. The hotel should probably consider at least waiting with dumping the previous nights bottles until the afternoon.

But aside from that little grumple - can say we will certainly be back. Can only recommend this hotel to anyone who finds their way past Växsjö.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We keep coming back to this hotel every Christmas since we have family in this area (it'll be our fourth time pending December 2010), and our experience is that one should ask for the renovated rooms. 2007 (or was it 2008) they started to renovate the hotel, and while the new rooms are lovely, modern and comfortable, the old rooms are horrible. It is located at the end of the "shopping-street" of Växjö, which means it will take you only 30 seconds to find the nearst shop. It has got a large parkinglot next to it, not free though.

But, on to the new rooms: we always choose the deluxe-rooms and they are relatively spacy and airy. And we haven't had any problems with noise coming from the corridor. Although, if you get a room, facing the inner yard, you might get disturbed by the sound of staff throwing out garbage in the large containers. The beds are really comfortable, and with comfortable pillows and duvets. The bathrooms have heated floors (which is a nice feature during winter-time) and we have always had very clean rooms. The TV is quite large, i.e. there's no problem lying in bed watching TV.

We haven't had any problems with service either, although I should say that we haven't had reasons yet to use much of it, but, staff has been friendly when called upon.

The breakfast buffet has a large variety of food, cold and warm, but nothing that struck you as extraordinary. Don't have dinner at the restaurant though: their cooking-skills don't match the prices. Dry wild-boar, over-dressed salads etc.

But if you go to Växjö - you should definitely stay at Elite Stadshotellet!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

It is within 5 minutes walk to the train station, main shopping street and a lovely park with a lake to circle during your morning jogging. Rooms are clean and have all the sensible necessities like iron, blower, safe etc. In size the single room was small without a proper writing table but otherwise comfy. Floor uncarpeted. Bathroom was spacious enough for me. (I remember many more bathrooms in Germany and the UK were I could barely move and I am skinny).
Weather was cold so adequate heating was appreciated. Minor noise did came out from a ventilation hole above the bed but it was really minor.
Breakfast is sumptious and can satisfy both the hungry and the health-conscious. I would name the breakfast style international, saw nothing very Swedish there. If you want to dine/lunch/breakfast out there is a lot of the stuff just few steps away including an Wnglish pub in the same building.
To conclude: the Elite Hotel in downtown Vaxjo is not a Holiday Inn or Sheraton. It has face. It is pleasant to stay in this hotel. A wee bit basic but very likeable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GideonJerubbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I have just returned from a two night stay. A party of 12 had travelled to Vaxjo from Ireland
for a funeral and we all stayed here. Some of us had stayed initially at the Clarion but transferred here as it is far superior. I don't understand the negative reviews as everyone in our party thought this was a great hotel with first class service. We all had a newly renovated room. Breakfast was really nice but most of all the staff are most obliging and thoroughly professional. Overall a first-class experience.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFJC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night. The staff was not very welcoming and the room was not what we had expected. The room was small and in need of renovation. The bathroom was terrible, even the toilet paper was bad, and we avoided the shower. No shampoo was offered. It seemed as if the room details had not been cleaned for a very long time. The breakfast was OK but the coffee cups looked dirty. We will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandUSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This has probably once been a luxury hotel but not anymore. Sure, it has four stars but they don't live up to them. They meet all criterias for a four star hotel (private bath, minibar, on-site restaurant etc etc). But what has happened with the staff?

My room was very clean and when I arrived and a selection of minibottles (schampo, conditioner, bath gel) was in the bathroom. During the week, they were never restocked. My minibar was not restocked any day.

In the batroom I had a Jacuzzi, very nice indeed I thought. But the bubbles didn't work. A small sign besides the jacuzzi also informed me of this fact. Why not just fix it instead of putting up a sign? So it worked like a normal bathtub. I hate sitting in a bathtub to take a shower. Water is doomed to splash all over the floor. If they are not intending to fix it, it should be removed and replaced with a shower cubicle.

Breakfast was ok but staff was slow to refill items. The scrambled eggs was finished and it took them 15 minutes to refill, this is simply not acceptable if you want business people.

Parking is done on the town square but remember that Wednesday and Saturday they have a market and any car still parked will get fined and moved. Do you think the staff informed me of that? No.

The hotel is very centrally located in the town and it's near to all shopping. The hotel has its own restaurant which I never tried but it looked great. I had my dinners at the adjacent pub Bishop Arms. However, there are many restaurants in the area.

Wifi worked in the room but at a surcharge.

So if management can give the staff some customer care education and maybe a kick in the rear end, this could be a real four star hotel.

  • Liked — Location and adjacent Pub
  • Disliked — Shower facilities and lazy staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vaxjo hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
0.2 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 13 in Vaxjo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Hotel
Elite Park Hotel
#4 of 13 in Vaxjo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
1.9 mi away
Scandic Vaxjo
Scandic Vaxjo
#5 of 13 in Vaxjo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ojaby Herrgard Sweden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo

Property: Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Address: 6 Kungsgatan, Vaxjo 352 33, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Vaxjo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vaxjo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vaxjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo växjö
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo Hotel växjö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing