We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT but no complaints”
Review of Hotel Varend

Hotel Varend
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Varend
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Vaxjo
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“HOT but no complaints”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good value for money and a very nice breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately the day we checked in, Sweden was in the midst of a heat wave and the room facing to the west was like an oven. Air conditioning in this climate is not often found, especially in smaller hotels, but with the blinds pulled down and windows opened, the room did cool off enough to allow us to sleep.

The reception does NOT open until 4 p.m. so you can't even drop your bags, but that said, we had a car and just left things in the boot so not a problem.

Room was clean, beds comfortable, TV worked (World Cup semi-final) and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Växjö
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Value for money!! Nice rooms, good location and parkingplaces, professional services and breakfast. Easy to book!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Barbro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel one night, August 23rd. We walked in and they were able to accomodate us. We stayed in a room on the second floor. It was very clean; and as you would expect for the price, a bit small. The bathoom was small but adequate, though a bit worn (cracked sink and wall paper peeling a bit at the edges). There was a nice window overlooking a grassy area. The breakfast buffet was utilitarian, and in the lower level (ok, but you didn't want to linger!).
The only thing that I didn't care for was the "old building" smell that hit me when I lay down to go to sleep. I had to jam my face into my pillow just so I could sleep, it bothered me that much.
The hotel was about eight blocks from the train/bus station and just off the downtown area, so things were very walkable.
All in all, this was a great budget hotel as long as you are not as sensitive to the smell as I was.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Decent room size, the breakfast was sufficient. The hotel is situated in a quiet suburb but a few minutes walk away from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

“Staying at Hotel Varend in Vaxjo, Sweden was a lovely experience. We received top quality service and felt very welcome. Our room was large, immaculately clean, and quiet. A delicious breakfast bar was available each morning with meat, cheese, specialty breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice. Maps and tourist information were readily available. Ben was a wonderful host and was helpful in giving us recommendations for good restaurants and places to visit. We highly recommend Hotel Varend as an excellent place to stay in Vaxjo.”

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vaxjo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanad
Hotel Esplanad
#7 of 12 in Vaxjo
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Royal Corner
0.3 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vaxjo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Cardinal
0.3 mi away
PM & Vanner Hotel
PM & Vanner Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vaxjo
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Hotel
Elite Park Hotel
#4 of 12 in Vaxjo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varend

Property: Hotel Varend
Address: 27 Kungsgatan, Vaxjo 352 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Vaxjo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Vaxjo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varend 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Varend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing