We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Birthday - Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harrisons Bistro - CLOSED

Harrisons Bistro
Price range: US$10 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: English and European Food Bistro open for Lunch Dinner and Good Times! We are family friendly, provide excellent service and are proud to prepare locally sourced produce. Harrisons has been in Hockley village for about 6 years in total and the new team started the Bistro in April 2014. Any reviews previous to this time are not relevant to the current business.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Birthday - Thank You”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Birthday meal at Harrison's last Saturday was a success!! Table for 13 of us already set up with balloons which was a nice touch, the staff were brilliant especially when we was getting a bit lively as the drinks were flowing.... they laughed and joked with us and made us feel very welcome. As we were the only table they allowed us to play our own music! Super!! Food was delicious! Could not fault it!! Will certainably be making a return visit very soon!!! Thank you all at Harrisons I had a wonderful birthdayl!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteT595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Charlotte, we are so pleased we managed to help make your Birthday celebrations a success! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cheers Simon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    33
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Like it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We used to be semi regulars at "old" Harrisons and had not had the chance to sample "new" Harrisons until this weekend, we were very pleased to discover that we now have a decent bistro on our doorstep at a cost that we can afford to visit much more often.

The food was delicious, the service excellent (slight mix up with the starters quickly resolved with no fuss and many apologies!) it was great to see the place with a great buzz of customers, something the previous incarnation often failed to achieve.

Had such a great time we booked on the spot for one of their upcoming theme nights.

Its fantastic to have an alternative to the lacklusture often below average Bull at last!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Paul, thank you so much for taking the time to review our Bistro. It was a pleasure to serve you and your family last Friday evening and we are delighted you all enjoyed it after our starter slip up!!! We look forward to seeing you on the Caribbean Night on the 9th July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

To be honest i don't normally write reviews but felt Harrisons Bistro deserved one. We had our first visit last week for a birthday celebration and was very impressed. The restaurant was quiet on the night we went but we were made to feel very welcome and the service was excellent. The food we ordered was very good and the wine with our meal equally so. It's great to have such a good restaurant within walking distance of home and we'll definitely be going back. Keep up the good work!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Keith, thank you so much for taking the time to not only compose this excellent review but also completing the review form on our website. It was a pleasure to be able serve you and your party and we are delighted that you chose our restaurant for your birthday celebration. I am sorry I was not there that evening to meet you personally but we all look forward to be able to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Harrisons”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Harrisons in Hockley is a gem. This is not our first trip to Harrisons and it certainly will not be our last. From our first visit we were made to feel very special and now we feel like old friends. The food is smashing and the welcome even better. Simon, Josh and Kerry are a constant at the restaurant and I cannot praise them highly enough. Thanks so much guys and see you very soon. Thanks for making my birthday even better than it already was. xxx

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanRayYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Jan, thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We look forward to seeing you and your lovely family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to the restaurants of Hockley”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our first visit to the newly owned Harrisons Restaurant. Although we enjoyed the previous set up it was a little on the high price. Now the new owners have got it just right. Good food, good quality great wines and excellent service at a very affordable price. So thanks to all the staff and we wish you continued success and look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JnJ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. You can be sure we will continue to strive to provide service and food that we feel you should expect when spending your hard earned cash on a meal out. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrisons Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing