We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment”
Review of Harrisons Bistro - CLOSED

Harrisons Bistro
Price range: US$11 - US$32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: English and European Food Bistro open for Lunch Dinner and Good Times! We are family friendly, provide excellent service and are proud to prepare locally sourced produce. Harrisons has been in Hockley village for about 6 years in total and the new team started the Bistro in April 2014. Any reviews previous to this time are not relevant to the current business.
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We visited with friends and were very disappointed. The change from high class restaurant to 'Bistro' does not suit us. There was a very large party in which made it impossible for our party of four to relax and chat. We decided not to stay. Before we left, we saw the menu and, again, were disappointed comparing with the menu that used to be on offer. We won't be back.

3  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

I am sorry that you did not find us to your taste. I did ring the telephone number that your party left when booking meal and left an apology message. As I said in my message we certainly try and cater for everyone but that was a particularly noisy evening. I am a little disappointed that you chose to leave a review based on a comparison with the previous type of restaurant Harrisons was without actually eating here. I understood Tripadvisor to be a review site for people that had actually fully experienced the venues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The food was excellent and i loved the atmosphere. The food was marvelous and was the best meal i've had out in a long time. Thank you for a brilliant evening. Thank you too all the staff and especially Kerry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks so much for your positive review. (Kerry's head is swelling as I type!) We hope we will see you again soon, Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We could not be bothered to cook the other night so decided to go to Harrison's again,

I had the Hamburger my wife had the Chicken burger.

We both said it was in the top burgers we have eaten, big,fresh and tasty.

What we like about the new Bistro is the foods a high quality at good value prices therefore it does not have to be a special occasion to go there. As a bonus we can walk there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a second review and such a positive one!!! We hope we can welcome you again soon, Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had the best chicken burger ever. Freshly prepared and just simply delicious. If you're in the area you should definitely stop over for lunch or dinner. Lovely menu and amazing food. We've eaten here a few times and every meal was awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Indiandelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review for Harrison's. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Birthday meal at Harrison's last Saturday was a success!! Table for 13 of us already set up with balloons which was a nice touch, the staff were brilliant especially when we was getting a bit lively as the drinks were flowing.... they laughed and joked with us and made us feel very welcome. As we were the only table they allowed us to play our own music! Super!! Food was delicious! Could not fault it!! Will certainably be making a return visit very soon!!! Thank you all at Harrisons I had a wonderful birthdayl!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlotteT595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Owner at Harrisons Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Charlotte, we are so pleased we managed to help make your Birthday celebrations a success! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cheers Simon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrisons Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing