We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Sunday roast”
Review of Brad Simpson

Brad Simpson
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Hockley
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent Sunday roast”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

visited here quite late on a Sunday and chose the roast beef, which was cooked to perfection. The beef was so tender, didn't have to chew it. the whole dinner was so nice, with good size portion. thoroughly enjoyed it. Would also like to say the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We popped in there by chance, late on a very rainy Sunday afternoon and we were totally blown away.
The welcome was very warm even though we were all dripping wet, the food was absolutely beautiful and the cost was very reasonable. We will definitely be returning there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2468pdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, Holland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every time a new surprise”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not your average hidden gem, because it's not to be missed along a curvy road.
A lot of parking space with nice hilly landscape.
The food is very good as Chris the cook will make it worth.
It's a really nice lay back atmosphere for all kind of people as well as young children.
Go there with a good appetite and spoil yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArieAlkmaar_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashingdon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've been to the Saltings this evening on the spur of the moment. We've been driving past for the last year or so; reading, with interest, the notice boards advertising their 'special' nights. We finally got around to visiting this evening and we weren't disappointed.
If you're looking for starched white linen and silver service, this probably isn't for you. However, if you want great food, fantastic atmosphere and terrific value for money, this is the place for you. We had mains and desserts, plus a bottle of Cava and our bill was under £50!!
Camilla (front of house), was charming and her service was attentive without being intrusive. Our only regret is that it's taken us a year to get around to going! We will be back, with friends, with family and just on our own again.
Unfortunately, the location seems to have a 'stigma' about it - it's on a residential Caravan Site - look past that and it's one of the (if not the) best local restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch Time”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Was passing and looking for somewhere to eat, so dropped in to eat
Service was was friendly
Food was good and quite a good choice
Surroundings pleasant
Good value and will be returning

Helpful?
4 Thank michaeljohnhewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brad Simpson also viewed

 
Hockley, Essex
 

Been to Brad Simpson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing