We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty great”
Review of Skanstulls Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skanstulls Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pretty great”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I needed litteratly just a place to sleep. But i found the place really nice, allthough I would have preferred a " womens-only" dorm room. I checked in really late so the reception was closed, but keys, Info etc was needly places in a little locker. Clean bedlinnen was placed on the bed for rent (could have been great to be able to rent towells aswell)
Bathrooms and girlshowers was really clean and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakealicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    205
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
78
150
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hostel is really amazing. I have absolutely no negative remarks to make. The staff were very nice and helpful, the place perfectly clean, a very large bathroom and an infinite amount of toilets! The kitchen is really incredible. It's the perfect place to hang out and the atmosphere was great. There's also free (good!) coffee and tea, as well as free pasta. My friends and I were in the 12 person dorm, and it still felt rather private. Would definitely recommend this place without hesitation. Also, excellent location, really close to the metro and in a nice area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have stayed in. We stayed in a double room with our own bathroom which was clean and the shower had amazing water pressure. The rooms are well sound proofed (better than some hotels I have stayed in!). The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The kitchen is well appointed and they provide you with free tea and coffee. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky001245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Myself & my Partner & 2 other couples stopped for 2 nights. We were all amazed when we got in there, we were a little worried what it would be like with it being a Hostel! It was easily a 3* Hotel. We had a room with a bathroom, the room wasn't massive but big enough. The bathroom was a good size, and everything was clean. The lighting wasn't great in the room, it was more like "mood" lighting. Could just do with somewhere else to put your clothes, as there was just a rail with 4 coat hangers. We took our own bedding as we didn't want to pay for it. The bed was very comfy!
I arrived at 1:10pm and my room wasn't ready, which was fine as check-in wasn't till 3pm - but my Friends room was ready so we were able to check in to that room. My room became clean about 15 mins later, asked the lady who was cleaning it if i'd be able to have it before 3pm with it being clean now. She was very rude and said "no check in is 3pm". Yet the girl on reception let me - she was so friendly & helpful!!
Would recommend this to anyone! Great value for money & very clean. 3 min walk from Skanstulls station. Plenty to do around!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellz_7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed in a 12-bed dorm for one night, travelling alone. Very nicely arranged with the walls that is built up around in the room where the beds are, so that you get some privacy. And that they were painted a dark brown was perfect for me who need quite dark surroundings to sleep.

What was missing in my opinion, was more hooks to hang clothes, in more accessible locations. If you sleep in the upper bed, you are left with nowhere to put your clothes and stuff other than the floor, because the hooks for clothing is mounted next to the pillow-end by the lower bed. To walk this close to a stranger (that either sleeps or tries to) feels very intrusive. Also, it would have felt safer to have separated men and women dorms.
I also discovered the need for having a nightstand or some form of shelf to keep my phone, glasses, book, etc. The upper bed is so high from the floor, phones falling from that height will surely fail to wake you up in the morning (ever again).

The showers had a layout that made me quite uneasy, as walking into the women's shower/dressing room was waay too easy, and connected to a hall where free to use computers were located. There was no sense of privacy or safety in the ladies shower room (I showered very fast...), but they were clean enough.

The kitchen was nice and stocked with all you can need. The free pasta/food/tea/coffee was very appreciated!
Nice and helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 453Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the twin room with no window. Good location, only 2 mins from the nearest Tunnelbanna (Tube/Metro) station. Right in the middle of Sodermalm.

We checked ourselves in after 8pm using our code already given to us to access the night entrance (after 8pm). The room is fairly small but really fine for two people for a few days.

Kitchen area is slightly small for the number of guests. However the free tea, coffee and dry pasta made up for that. There is free wi-fi and plenty of free computers to us dotted throughout. The showers and numerous toilets were all very clean, modern and there never seemed to be anyone in them!

Staff as polite and helpful with lots of free maps/museum guides available. There was a small library available also.

Overall a good value hostel. This is not a party hostel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was one of the more expensive hostels we have stayed in, but we had a private double room. Very safe and secure. Had to pass through a special locked area and then a well locked room. Room was very comfortable and clean. We had no windows in our room, but there was a nice wall covering the entire wall with a photo of the Stockholm City Center. This was the nicest, cleanest hostel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: The doubles were rather expensive, but so was everything else in Stockholm. I didn't see the dor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilimanjaro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,925 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#95 of 154 in Stockholm
259 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 64 in Stockholm
575 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 64 in Stockholm
1,127 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 64 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skanstulls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanstulls Hostel

Property: Skanstulls Hostel
Address: 135 Ringvaegen, Stockholm 116 61, Sweden (Formerly Skanstulls Vandrarhem)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skanstulls Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skanstulls Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Stockholm, close to everything Sodermalm has to offer. At walking distance from the hostel you will find dozens of restaurants, bars and cafes. The surrounding area also offers long promenade along the water, swimming and plenty of small shops selling vintage clothing, music and decor. Here at City Backpackers sleep in a comfortable bed and has access to a modern and well-equipped kitchen just steps away from the subway, vibrant nightlife and numerous cultural attractions. A perfect place to start as a tourist in central Stockholm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skanstulls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing