We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really pleasant stay here”
Review of Skanstulls Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skanstulls Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a really pleasant stay here”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This place was a really nice and comfortable place. I spent five nights in January 2014. The instructions on how to find the hostel, and use the night check-in were very clear and thorough. As other people mentioned, the bed was surprisingly very comfortable. This was a fantastic place to stay for the price. Staff were great, and everything was always clean. It wasn't a very social place, but still met other travelers to talk to in the kitchen. The free wifi also worked great throughout the hostel, and even just outside (if you stand near a window). I would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    203
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
78
150
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights in a double private room. We had received a confirmation email upon booking that advised that the reception was open until 8pm. Arriving well in time at 5pm, we were greeted with a locked door and no signs of life inside! There was an emergency number to call on the door, which I did, and received no response. We were quite alarmed at this point and spent a good 45 minutes outside the hostel hurriedly trying to research other hostels using costly data services on my mobile phone.

Not a great start to our stay to say the least. Luckily, another guest arrived and let us in the night-entrance door. When we got inside there was a phone which directly linked to a different emergency number. This time, someone answered and gave us directions to obtain our key. I was told I'd been sent an email to alert me to the fact that the reception would close early as the staff had 'gone to a conference'. Upon checking my email, I had received an email, but only a couple of hours prior to my arrival (at which point we were flying)

We were so happy to finally get to our room that we decided to put this aside and enjoy our stay. The room was small but clean and comfortable, with no locker or cupboard. It was nicely decorated but had no window (in fairness this was pointed out to us when we made the booking so we did expect it) The hostel walls seem thick enough to cancel out noise from other rooms. The kitchen was well equipped and nicely presented, providing a welcoming social area with free tea, coffee and pasta being a nice bonus.

In all we had a pleasant stay. Whilst the hostel is not right in the centre, it is near subway stations and is quite a nice walk towards the old town. Free wifi worked well in the bedroom and there was quite a lot of local information available. Toilet and shower facilities were good.

You wont be blown away here, and it does seem a little lacking in character, but you should get a good nights sleep at a good rate.

One thing to remember- if you use the hostel's bed linen, you will need to pay an additional 500SEK

Room Tip: Perhaps pick a room with a window if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice (private) rooms that make you smile, good service at the reception. If you are already familiar with Stockholm city centre, try staying at Södermalm instead! A hip neighbourhood with good selection of restaurants, cafes and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norriska_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

While the place is in a basement, it never feels stuffy. The beds were really good with big lockers built in to the wall next to the bed. There were enough bathrooms and the kitchen was really nice. It's a very open concept kitchen that shares the space with the common room so you can just cook there (free pasta-just need to get your own sauce) and have a few drinks with other travelers. I am glad now that the other hostel (city backpackers) I was staying at had space for only 2 nights so that I could experience another area of Stockholm at this hostel. Had a pretty good time here too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in September and we had a wonderful stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful in recommending places to eat etc. We were in an 8-bed shared room. The bed and pillows were surprisingly comfortable. (But you have to bring your own sheets and towels, or rent them! They do provide a thick comforter.) Each bed has a good-sized locker with a key. The beds are also made out of pretty solid wood so they don't squeak or anything, and each set of bunks is kind of separated by a wall. Luckily, our roommates were lovely and quiet! But we didn't hear much noise from the other rooms. There is a fairly large kitchen to use. And the bathrooms were clean. The hostel is in a good location; less than 5 minutes walk to the Metro, and there is a jogging path very close by as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganB1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This is definitely one of the better hostels I have stayed in. At 250- 300K per night (£25 - £30), it is definitely not the cheapest but these prices are consistint with other budget accommodation in Stockholm.

I had a 6 bed dorm complete with own locker and padlock (yes you don't have to bring a padlock!) the room was spacious enough with room to put items under bed a d a small table and chairs. The beds were comfortable and each berth had its own night lamp. The kitchen was clean, homely and kept clean by staff and patrons alike - it was nice to see other people keeping it tidy for everyone else (unlike the Brits and Irish travellers in Australian hostels)! Bathrooms were equally clean, plenty of toilets and showers - all clean.

Reception shuts at 8pm and there is a night door for access, reception staff are very friendly. There is free tea and coffee (you need to provide your own milk or do what I did and use milk on the free food shelf :P), free pasta as well.

One downside is you have to provide your own sheets (sleeping bags forbidden), if you don't, you need to pay 50K (£5) for bed sheets. This appears to be the norm among other hosts in Stockholm but a foreign one to me as usually sheets are included in the price and at almost £30 a night I rather think they should be, never the less I took my own.

This is not a party hostel and to be fair everyone was quiet around 10.30-11.30pm, slight noise from the street but I still slept well.

The location is good on Sodermalm and near to the SoFo area which has some nice and unique cafes, bars and boutique shops. Nearest subway is Skanstull and from here you can go to Gamla Stan, Slussen (for the boat to Djurgarden and Vasa) and Central area for the main shopping area.

All in all a good choice and if I have the chance to come back again I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The ensuite double room is better than some budget hotels in Scandinavia, albeit it has no window. The room is good size, and the bathroom is excellent. It is clean, but the bed is a bit soft and you have to rent bedsheets if you don't have your own. It has an excellent kitchen and cozy dining room with free coffee/tea/pasta so you can save some money by cooking your own or buying food from grocery store and eat here. It's about a block from the Skanstulls metro station, which you can take to the Central station and hop on the Arlanda express train to the airport. You can also walk about 2 miles to Central station and 1 mile to old town, or just hang around the not-so-upscale shopping street of Gogatan (the hostel is toward the far end of this street).

Room Tip: the ensuite double room is obviously the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samargatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#94 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 63 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 63 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#8 of 63 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skanstulls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanstulls Hostel

Property: Skanstulls Hostel
Address: 135 Ringvaegen, Stockholm 116 61, Sweden (Formerly Skanstulls Vandrarhem)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skanstulls Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skanstulls Hostel is centrally located in the heart of Stockholm, close to everything Sodermalm has to offer. At walking distance from the hostel you will find dozens of restaurants, bars and cafes. The surrounding area also offers long promenade along the water, swimming and plenty of small shops selling vintage clothing, music and decor. Here at City Backpackers sleep in a comfortable bed and has access to a modern and well-equipped kitchen just steps away from the subway, vibrant nightlife and numerous cultural attractions. A perfect place to start as a tourist in central Stockholm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Skanstulls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing