We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey and disappointing”
Review of ThaiBoat

ThaiBoat
Ranked #540 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Södermalm
Description: Pa Thaiboat kan du uppleva Thailand fast pa hemmaplan. Stoppa fotterna i sanden. Oppna en kall Singha eller njut av en drink gjord pa farska frukter. Titta upp mot palmerna och kann hur du mentalt forflyttas till en sandstrand pa Koh Samui igen. Passa sedan pa att njuta av akta thaimat tillgagade av vara kockar som flygs in till varje sasong. De haller igang grytorna och wokarna fran lunch till sen kvall 7 dagar i veckan under hogsasong.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey and disappointing”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This place is overrated. It's a cool concept, but the prices are way too high and the food isn't all that. The service is crappy, the waitress would rather chat with her colleagues than wait tables.

The night we went there they had a house DJ playing and they music were way too loud in the dining area, we couldn't hear each other. Some starters were good, but don't try the spring rolls. We ordered two of their recommended dishes for main course, but it was disappointing. The curry was at best mediocre, and the BBQ dish was served with overcooked broccoli instead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kekkakokkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

In a city full of water, it´s cool to hang out and eat on a boat with a fake beach platform and some plastic palm trees! the food is good, authentic (Thai chefs) but if you ask me overpriced. The highlight of the meal where the cocktail/ice cream sundaes for dessert.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becslawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor place”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The ThaiBoat looks very nice: it is a big boat, anchored to a quite harbor in Södermalm. It also has a platform with sand, in which you can enjoy sun during the day or just chill out at night. A part of the boat is devoted to a dancefloor.

I was there on a nice summer night for drinks. They were average, and on the expensive side. The place was crowded, and it was impossible to find seats. The music was ok, but not my favorite.

All in all, there are better places to spend the night in Stockholm.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank ettorepanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food but terrible service.”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have been to the thaiboat a couple of times and every time the food has been decent but the service has been awful. Very hard to get the attention of the staff and sometimes they have been rude. Our last visit resulting in us leaving without food. We were placed at a table by a very long toilet queue even though there were many other free tables, when asked if we could move there was some confusion from the waitress and the manager refused to talk to us. We were told that you needed to prebook specific tables via email and there was nothing they could do. If visiting this restaurant remember to email and request a table not near the toilets, VERY undesirable seating placement.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Skip the food, go for the drinks”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Honestly! I have never been to Thaiand but I eat a lot of That and this was not good enough! my plate (Chicken Peanang) was too spicy and just tasted hot spice, while my friend's course was tasteless.
a plus for the good presenttion though :)
The Drinks are awesome and the atmosphere is great!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrZangief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ThaiBoat also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to ThaiBoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing