We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but can be noisy”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I travelled with my family to Stockholm for a week of doing nothing. We chose the Lydmar because of its central location and its facilities and we were not disappointed. Everything is within reach of the hotel and you can easily walk into Gamla Stan, across to Skeppholmen or into the newer parts of the city. Boats for the archipeligo leave literally outside the hotel and the views to Sodermalm are breathtaking. Hotel service is as one would expect in a boutique hotel. Very good but sometimes a little haphazard at breakfast. A small critiscism though as in general the guys were excellent and Nina on the front desk is fantastically helpful. A few families were there also so the mix was nice. Even the ultra cool terrace was accessible to us and we were made to feel welcome. I would say that the only problem that is not properly dealt with is the noise level - we took connecting rooms on the 3rd floor 312 and 311 which were spacious and well decorated. The corner room however was noisy primarily because of laundry deliveries into the next door Grand Hotel at 6.45am. It didnt bother us too much as we were in bed early with the kids but I could imagine it being a problem if you are a night owl. The terrace is lively but we didnt get terrace noise that others have mentioned. If I was the hotel usage, I would switch the terrace use and open the downstairs restaurant and terrace as a bar/eatery in the evenings and use the terrace and large hall area on the 2nd floor as a breakfast, lunchtime hang out making the hotel a lot quieter if you are on the terrace side. A final point to make sure of is what artwork you are going to find on the wall of your room (we had a very odd reasonably titilating girl on girl scene which Dad enjoyed) as some of it isnt great for kids unless you are liberated which ours now are :) Just worth checking. Anyhow in summary a great hotel, in a great location, in a great city but expect a bit of noise and take it in your stride. Everything else is great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Lydmar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

The decor is very nice, the service suitably cool, however the noise level is unlike anything I have ever encountered in an upmarket hotel. There is a jazz band which sounds like it is playing in my room. We were told nothing about this when we reserved or checked in. They keep it as a surprise. This is simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: stay elswhere !
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
22  Thank Ursa387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Everything is perfect about Lydmar Hotel. The location the rooms the stuff !! The only problem was that the music in the bar , (open bar two floors below my room) was so loud that was impossible to sleep until one in the morning!!
If they solve this problem Lydmar will be one of the best hotels!

Room Tip: Large room overlooking the palace
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petrosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great rooms, great resturant
Warm hotel in a cold winter Stockholm
Friendly informal staff

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTonyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Lydmar for 4 nights in October 2010. I took a long time to decide whether or not to book there, because of all the complaints of noise of the bar and restaurant in other reviews.

However, staying at the Lydmar has made our visit to Stockholm a successful one. I have never stayed at a city hotel where one feels so much at home. The staff are a young bunch, but super friendly and helpful. The room was about the most tastefully decorated room I have been in with nice touches all around. The bathroom very cool and devoid of all the ugly clutter one never uses anyway. The dining area really looks and feels more like a living room lined with bookshelves and the breakfast was top quality.

OK, it is true that at night the restaurant transforms into a hotspot of what I assume is Stockholm nightlife with a trendy public, and hotel guests may feel somewhat lost or abandoned in the conundrum. However, even with a full house the front desk did everything they could to slot us in at the last minute for dinner and the experience was memorable. Definitely nicer than staying in a hotel with an empty coffee shop.

As we were staying on the first floor, noise could definitely be heard in the weekend until early in the morning from the restaurant/bar downstairs, but being jetlagged it didn’t bother us too much. I would therefore advise to ask for a room on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper or allergic to noise.

However, this shouldn’t stop you from staying at the Lydmar. The location is about as good as it can get. The whole look and atmosphere is one of chic, taste and understated elegance, while at the same time very friendly and welcoming.
I just hope it doesn’t become too popular !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baastje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed at the Lydmar for two nights in April 2011 and I have to say that we really enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly, the hotel itself is very funky but not in an overwhelming way and it is located in the middle of town. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, breakfast is included and available until 11:00 (so you can have a late lazy breakfast) and they use the lobby for some really amazing photography exhibitions (in general they have some really interesting photography on the walls definitely worth a stroll around to check it all out).

The rooms are not very big, but are very comfortable and quiet. We didn't notice anything in terms of noise from the bar in the evening or night but it has to be said that our room was on the 4th floor. The only downside is that it is not cheap.

I had previously stayed at Hotel Rival - which I thought was very good - but from now on I would only want to stay in the Lydmar. These Swedes certainly know how to do "funky chic". All in all an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the art in the hallways
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Riding up to the Lydmar, it's really unclear how to get in. There's a pretty patio facing the water with lots of people hanging out and enjoying the view and some coffee or wine. Really inconvenient and uncomfortable having to drag luggage through that area.

And, frankly, that's a theme at the Lydmar. It's very pretty and very well located, but the focus is *clearly* on the bar and restaurant guests that aren't staying at the hotel. In the evenings the place is overrun with late-twenties-ish partiers, which wouldn't be a huge deal if it wasn't so small. Everything sort of gets choked up with bar customers.

Let's be clear, though - the bar is good and the vibe very cool. That patio out front is one of the prettiest places in the world. There's just no way to escape the party once it cranks up. A better hotel would figure out how to handle this better.

Service is pretty good. Again, they get distracted by the bar and restaurant, but they seem smart and genuinely want to be helpful. Rooms are nice and have a ton of character, but they're all very different, and I think a lot depends on which particular room you've been given. The bathrooms are *stunning* for Europe. Location is great. Easy to get to everything, and the views in most directions are fantastic.

This is the Stockholm hotel to pick if you're looking for a fun, good quality place that's not at all stuffy. There are ways to improve it, but overall it delivers what it promises.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremyZNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,111 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,321 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
344 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £277 - £702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing