We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty is the Best Policy”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

August 20, 2011. Stayed at Lydmar for 6 niights. Left hotel for cruise, and while enjoying relaxing massage, I suddenly realized that I had left cash in our room. One can imagine how relaxing the remainder of the massage was, as I bolted for my cell phone to call my son in Stockholm and ask him to go over to the Lydmar to try and recover the money. Less than enjoyable dealing simultaneously with my incredible stupidity and loss of cash. But within minutes received a text that all cash recovered and returned!!

So this review is biased by the hotel staff's honesty. The rooms are quirky, but charming. Our view of the harbor wasn't quite the same as the more lofty Grand, but grand enough. The restaurant was superb, and active, but never a slow down in subtle service. Drinks outside the entry, and a 2nd floor patio bar and restaurant, with pulsing entertainment in the evening. Concierge was extremely knowledgeable. Not historic, as Bern, but prettier, and very up dated. Interesing hallway art and library like setting for restaurant.

Highest marks - plus impeccable staff honesty.

Room Tip: 4th floor room had nice view of harbor. 1st floor room had nice windows, but view was not much. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed for three nights with our 2 year old son. We had the most amazing stay. Our room was huge and beautifully furnished. The service was friendly, polite and really helpful. Room service was fantastic and the quality of the food was first class. Breakfast was a glorious relaxed delight each morning.
It is an amazing vibrant hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulandzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

A fantastic location, slap bang next to the Grand Hotel, just across the bridge from the old town, Gamla Stan, and within spitting distance of all the nice shops – basically perfect whether you’re out on the town or doing touristy cultural things.

The common areas downstairs are mostly taken up with the restaurant although the concierge desk is always manned and very efficient and friendly. The restaurant is fab, and one of the loveliest rooms I've had breakfast in, lined with books and looking out onto a garden. Breakfast is a buffet (included in our room price) with a really nice selection of excellent pastries, various jams, greek yoghurt, cereals and lovely fresh fruit as well as some cold cuts and cheese. Cappuccino was very decent indeed and lunch, too, is highly recommended.

The rooms are really lovely – it’s an old building and they’ve really tried to preserve that charm but with a modern twist. The beautiful arched windows flooded our Medium room with light, but also have ultra-effective sound insulation. (This continues with isolating doors to the room and in the corridors, making this one of the quietest hotels I’ve slept in recently, notwithstanding the open-air bar below.) Freestanding wooden wardrobes, comfy sofas and bookshelves with eclectic nicknacks mix with over-sized anglepoise lamps and a very sleek and modern dark grey tiled bathroom. Really comfy bed and wi-fi included complete the deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumandreason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel is quite nice and the rooms are designed but simple with is the best thing to say about this hotel. The breakfast is included but disappointing and very simple. the hotel is clearly understaffed with is a shame for the price you pay!!! It is quite noisy and you don't feel like you are in the right place in Stockholm. The bar is on the street and always crowded of people from the city and you don't feel like using it as you are so close to the table next to you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeleconiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is a modern small luxury hotel hiding in a older historic building. It has been totally renovated and is decorated in a spare, elegant fashion with lots of luxurious touches. Breakfast is included in room rate and it is quite good if not extensive in selection. The dining room is beautiful- surrounded by bookcases artfully filled with books and unique objects. Everything is very pleasing in neutral colors and design..

The front desk staff are very pleasant and helpful. Javier the bellman was great, too. We arrived early as we had just disembarked from a cruise and they were apologetic that they did not have a room ready, even offered us breakfast in the dining room. Of course, check in isn't even until mid afternoon!

Our room, a "large double" was very spacious- must have been close to 400 square feet and featured a king size bed, a row of large windows that allowed great natural light (although the view was the side of another building- albeit a very old one so nice historical architectural details to look at...), dimmers on the lights, and a huge bathroom with an excellent rain shower/handheld shower combination. Very top quality bathroom fittings. Our room was also furnished with interesting objects/decorative items and large format black and white photography. There were blackout drapes on the windows ( necessary in the summer when it doesn't get dark until like 10 pm and the sun rises at 5 am!)

The hotel has a lovely terrace dining area at the front which looks out over the wide canal across to the Royal Palace and the Gamla Stan (the Old Town) It's a great view! Gamla Stan is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We picked this hotel based upon location, other reviewers recommendation, and what we could glean from the hotel's website. We were not disappointed and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask about view from your room if it is important to you. The rooms at the hotel's front have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoodOldWhiteKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I can highly recommend the Lydmar Hotel having stayed there for 3 nights in July. It is a fabulous hotel with some of the best rooms of any hotel we have stayed in. We had a medium category room on the 5th floor which was generously sized, airy and light. The interior design is brilliant and the very thoughtfully laid-out bathrooms are a highlight. All rooms are different but I suspect the bathrooms are the one thing all rooms have in common.

This hotel has obviously hand-picked some exceptionally good staff who were all just brilliant. The breakfast is great and the restaurant fantastic - we ate there twice! But best of all is the location - it is even better located than the Grand Hotel which is a few doors up but on a busy part of the street. The views of the palace etc across the bay are wonderful and everything seems to be in walking distance. The only complaint I would have is regarding the pumping loud DJ music on the 2nd floor terrace bar which is an oddity for a hotel of this calibre - even a designer one. It finishes at 1am so if you are a weary traveller, expect a few late nights. You cannot escape the noise - even our room on the other side of the hotel and up high got a heavy serving of pounding bass (along with a loudly clattering manhole cover that would startle most people out of sleep every time a car drove over it! Not the hotel's problem of course). It was odd given the bar seemed to be very under-populated but I guess that's the 'hip' image this hotel wants to give out. Personally I think they could lose the DJ, turn down the music slightly and still have a hip place for locals and out-of-towners to drink.

There was a good mix of people staying in the hotel, including some oldies, but this is really a hotel for monied 30-50 year olds looking for something comfortable, slightly off-beat, well positioned with an energetic staff. It would make a good romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Profrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The rooms are spacious, trendy and individually decorated - the bathrooms are decked out with dark grey luxury. Fantastic.
The terrace is hip and achingly cool people chat until 1am, the outside bar and inside library breakfast room so lovely and relaxing whilst being glam at the same time.
The staff are lovely and helpful, and I couldn't think of a better place to stay. Go for a night if you can, breakfast is an experience - a la carte offering is incredible, and the buffet is a dream to anyone with a palate and room in their tummies; cheese, meat, yoghurts, muesli, fresh fruit, pastries and breads. Yum.
If you only have time for a drink on the street terrace, so be it. But visit the Lydmar.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,203 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,722 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,638 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
357 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#10 of 155 in Stockholm
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 103 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £223 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing