We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lydmar Stockholm, my home away from home but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Göteborg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lydmar Stockholm, my home away from home but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just love Lydmar. The rooms, the restaurant, the location facing the water and the city and the friendly staff. iit's quite small, boutiique feeling, warm, classic with a very contemporary athmosphere. In the summertime you can enjoy the patio with a mediterrenian touch. If you like the feeling of luxury with subtile approach this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLenaSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    82
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
259
26
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This the low-key next door neighbor of the better-known Grand Hotel. If you have a choice, opt for the Lydmar. Its decor is stunning in its absence of opulence, but wealth of interest. Striking photographs grace every wall and eclectic "collectibles", ranging from possible flea-market finds to unique ojets d'art, populate shelves, while managing not to feel cluttered. Love the bookshelf-lined dining room with a subtle bar at one end.
Our room was wonderful. Surprisingly large: king bed with crisp linens and fluffy duvet; large bathroom (toilet in separate "closet"); large clothes closet.
Personnel extremely helpful and pleasant.
Good location right on canal, with royal palace and Old Town on other side. Decent walk to Vasa, zoo and historical museum.
We were there only one night, sadly. Would have happily stayed longer, though the price is a bit prohibitive for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very loud live music and/or DJ in outdoor area in front of the hotel and on the terrace (until 1 am on Fridays and Saturdays). Music is so loud that no amount of insulation will make your room quiet over the weekend.

After the first night in a large room on the first floor we asked to change to a medium room on the other side of the hotel. This was done with minimal fuss but certainly no apologies for the incovenience of moving and a sleepless first evening after a long day of travel.

One morning there was an absolute nazi of a man running the breakfast room who asked us to move very rudely without explaining why. The prior days were all 'seat yourself wherever' and suddenly this guy was a complete control queen. In general the other staff at the breakfast room were extremely kind but it was a hassle to get more coffee and you felt like you were bugging them. Service at the terrace was very mixed bag including a couple of chilly women servers who can't be bothered.

On the positive side the decor is very lovely and the location good right next to the Grand Hotel. The bathrooms are spacious and the mini-bars include complimentary snacks.

For the price this hotel is not worth it. The service is way too relaxed and there is no fitness center, and hotel is short staffed for its size.

We wandered into the Nobis Hotel more in the center of town and if we had it to do over again we would have stayed there or at the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel. Both seemed like better run properties.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the terrace are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

To start, I am flabbergasted at all these positive reviews. How anyone could find this hotel luxurious is ludicrous. I am very let down by trip advisor. When you arrive there is no bellman, apparently that is way too old fashioned. It also makes sense they don't have one since the rooms are so small I assume anyone who gave a good review must have only packed a backpack. My husband and my luggage (one piece each) barely fits in the room.

As you enter the hotel you are immediately assaulted with war images of children missing limbs, starving, and dying in hospitals. I don't know about you but there is a time and a place for edginess and coming with your family or husband to a hotel for a nice vacation is not one of them. It is horrible every time I walk in the hotel and basically ruins your stay. Maybe it's meant to insult the guests spending money on a holiday when there are other more important things in the world to be aware of? I don't know but it's offensive and this is coming from a 20 something year old art student from NYC, not a "stodgy/unhip" person who "doesn't get it" and shouldn't stay at such a "cool hotel."

After you get over the dying children and tortured war torn areas you get to see bad artsy soft core porn in the elevator. Something you would have seen at a passing exhibit at nyc's whitney museum maybe 10 years ago. Really uncomfortable if you have kids or are traveling with your parents and a pathetic attempt at being trendy or edgy.

After you manage to deal with the above you are taken to your room which is small, dusty, awkwardly shaped, and has an uncomfortable bed. The tv is at the side of the room so you can't watch it in bed. The floor is so un-level in each room that my grandmother tripped in her room because of that. The closet is so small that it does not fit a clothes rack horizontally and instead has to be vertical so you can't see your clothes. The view consists of a wall.

The bathroom has no fan and no bathtub. The shower is in the middle of the floor and floods everywhere after you have used it. There is not even a shelf for your toiletries or razor. You put them on the floor like a savage.

I wish we could have stayed in the grand hotel but it was already booked for the royal wedding when we made our travel plans. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel is the location and helpful staff. Since there is no dedicated concierge the front desk people do a great job filling that role and are always pleasant to talk to. They are helpful and have smiles on their faces almost always.

So overall, for the money this hotel is not worth it unless you like being ripped off to appear trendy.

Pros:
Great location
Helpful staff (they regain a star for this)
Free wifi
Free water and candy

Cons:
SMALL ROOMS
Bathroom that floods and you have just a shower on the floor
Slanted floors - completely not level
No turn down service
Offensive imagery - completely not suitable for a hotel
Small, cramped, dark, dusty, rooms
Lumpy hard bed
No closet
Limited toiletries
Bad placement of all electric outlets
Odd hotel phone- a cell phone? That no one explained how to use

Room Tip: all rooms are vastly different so ask for a bigger room on a higher up floor with a view but not flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank luxurylover86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We heard about this hotel from friends as being fabulous. We were not disappointed. Sitting across the water by the Grand Hotel, is this modern luxurious gem. We were greeted by smiling faces and were escorted to our large deluxe room with a huge bathroom. The decor was so tastefully thought out with photograph exhibit that change every three months. The elevator is all glass which as a view of each floor private sitting area as you whisk by each floor with its own unique decor. The mini bar is complimentary with the exception of alcohol which is a first. We had moved from a hotel that charged $8 for a bottle of water. Internet is free with no irritating code each time you close top. The room included breakfast in this beautiful library like as if you were home (a very nice one) with book shelves and music. We had lunch and enjoyed fresh white asparagus and the most delicious foie gras we have ever tasted. We thought we couldn't top the duck foie gras in Budapest but this was a rival. The location is great as you can walk anywhere, the old town, shopping, Vasa Museum etc. We are always looking for fine hotels like this but unfortunately they are rare. The beds and linens were top of the line. If you like the very best and wish a more charming friendly atmosphere than the chain hotels, stay here!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 411 with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The warmest, friendliest and most attentive reception by the front-desk team on a -22 degree Celcius visit to Stockholm. We really enjoyed the decor and the magnificent views from our room. Although we only stayed for one night as we were travelling to Are/Ostersund to ski, it was a really memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I sometimes have a tendency to get my dates wrong and once again, we arrived the day before our actual reservation. The team at the hotel could not have been more gracious and accommodating. They were full from the last evening, but ensured that we had a room - the room itself was BEAUTIFUL - much larger than most European hotels. The breakfast, which is included, was great. Internet connection was speedy as well. I would DEFINITELY stay there again - one of my favorite hotel experiences in a long while.

Room Tip: We were allowed to see several rooms before making our final selection and we chose a room that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Property: Lydmar Hotel
Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing