We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a Stockholm city break”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Lydmar for 4 nights just before Christmas 2013. I did quite a bit of research in advance to look for a modern, luxurious hotel in good location yet friendly to families. After reading the reviews I decided to book Lydmar and it turned out to be a great success! It completely ticks all the boxes, and the location and service is even beyond our expectation.

We had a Medium King room, which is a huge one-room suite, locating on corner of the building. It has amazing high ceiling and tall windows, decorated in elegant and modern classic style. We were a family with a 5 years old and a baby, after they set up a roll-away bed and a baby cot, the room still looked so spacious! All of us had a good sleeps there.

It is a boutique hotel, so it is not massive, but it provided everything we needed and gave a very warm and cozy feeling in the cold and short days in December. The staffs were very friendly and helpful, in a very relaxed cool way. The hotel restaurant also serves as breakfast room, bar, lounge and it is so lively and buzzy and serves wonderful modern pan-european food. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast as well as the dinner there. The hotel does not have space for its own gym but they could arrange the guest to use the fitness centre and spa in the Grand Hotel next door. We didn't have time to try it so couldn't comment.

The location is superb! It is near the waterfront, cross the water from the Royal Palace, only a bridge away from the charming old town, and it is also convenient to walk to museums, the shopping areas and nice restaurants. Absolutely classy spot.

Doing a city break in the winter with two young children sounded risky to us however we made it and thoroughly enjoyed it thanks to Hotel Lydmar, which made everything easy for us. We'd highly recommend it and would definitely like to go back again in the summer time.

Room Tip: We booked the room directly with the hotel, which gave us the same price as other hotel websites. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Home from home in Stockholm. Great hotel in a fantastic waterfront location, next door to the National Museum and easy walking distance to the old town. Wonderful staff and exceptional restaurant. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Bole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Lydmar for 2 nights. The location, ambiance and fittings is top notch and instantly likeable. However, we were given a room with a similar problem with a previous review of this hotel where hot water would merely be lukewarm. Not nice in a Swedish winter. However all the nice things about this place would outweigh the hot water issue. Breakfast was really, really good, and service is really relaxed but extremely professional. Recommende.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel reception about the hot water issue and ask for a change if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlert, Hotelldirektör at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words! All of our showers are installed with a safety pin that needs to be pushed in order to get really hot water. This should have been demonstrated for you on arrival and for that I can only apologise. I hope this doesnt keep you from returning to the Lydmar.

Kind Regards
Sebastian Anlert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I love the Lydmar Hotel. I celebrated my 50th birthday in a harbor view suite that was romantic, stylish and totally comfortable. The staff are relaxed, unpretentious, sincere, friendly and attentive while in no way overbearing or 'too much'. They have a good sense and feel for how to give a guest what they want. It's expensive, but a real treat. The restaurant, both for dinner and breakfast, is delicious and a cool atmosphere, though we got to breakfast quite late and the service was a little harried at that point.

I've stayed in many fine hotels around the world over twenty five years of business and leisure travel. Lydmar is one of the very best. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suites with harbor view are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The first impression of Lydmar Hotel can be really misleading. The building from the outside doesn’t really look like a hotel, while the entrance is from a small simple door with a very small indistinguishable sign that has the name of the hotel. When you enter the hotel, you see a small room with 2 armchairs and lots of photographs in the wall. However as you walk through the stairs and you arrive in the reception you realize that the entire concept of the hotel is based on the 'feels like home' attitude. And is pretty successful in this concept!

We had a medium king room which faced the port (not from the palace side but from the other side). The room was excellent both in amenities and design, was very warm in colors and had nice big windows which faced a park (which was never busy so it felt completely private). Everything from the mini bar (except anything alcoholic) was complimentary which was a very nice gesture , since they offered a quite nice and big variety of drinks and snacks. Big Props as well for the excellent and extremely fast internet all over the room and the entire hotel. They also offer a collection of free movies which however is quite poor in movie titles.

The service – with only one exception that I will bring up later – was really great. I have to say that my expectations in that department were quite low since most hotel reviewers in the Scandinavian countries cite the bad or cold service as the main problem of their stay (which could be attributed in a way in the ‘cold’ nature of some Scandinavian people). In any case this didn’t apply at all in Lydmar since most of the staff was very helpful and extremely friendly.

The restaurant of the hotel is actually one of the most popular and trendiest places of Stockholm. Some could also say that the restaurant is more famous than the hotel itself. The crowd that the restaurant attracts is really impressive and the place is actually stunning (full of big modern photographs in the walls, books everywhere and various other cool decorative items- Nordic style but with a warm touch). Nevertheless, it lacks big time in the food department. From breakfast to dinner, everything we tasted was mediocre and not really worth the very high price. It is a very expensive place and you would at least expect that the food would match the high price tag. Also the variety in the breakfast was really poor.

The big surprise of our stay was the spa. Since Lydmar doesn’t have any pool or spa facilities and is a sister property with the Grand hotel, it allows you to use free of charge the spa facilities of the latter. The spa of the Grand hotel is exactly next to Lydmar and is actually magnificent. It offers a variety of warm pools (there is also a small pool with water from a famous red lake in Sweden) and many other spa amenities. In general the service and the facilities that this spa provides were impeccable.

Location-wise you couldn’t find a better hotel than Lydmar. It is walking distance from everything and it is located in a relatively quiet street (so you won’t have any hassle from traffic or big crowds).

My only 3 problems during the stay were the following:

1) The heating of the room. Actually the hotel has set a maximum temperature of 24 degrees Celsius, so you cannot set it higher than this. For any other city that would be ok, but for a cold city like Stockholm I find this unacceptable. There were some days when we felt cold in our room. When I pay such an exorbitant price to stay in a hotel, I expect to be able to control the temperature room in the level I prefer and not to feel cold at all.
2) The water pressure in the shower was significantly low
3) One morning when we tried to open the room’s safe deposit where we had kept our valuable stuff , we couldn’t do it and it kept showing an ‘error’ message. We called the reception around 12.00 and they told us that they will bring somebody to fix this problem. An hour had passed and no-one had come up to our room. So I went down to the reception by myself to ask it again since we were getting late for a reservation we had for lunch. After 10 minutes the lady that was in the reception came and managed to opened the safe deposit but she couldn’t managed to close it again. She told me that she would send someone to fix it in a bit. Since it was really late for lunch and we couldn’t wait anymore, we had to take everything with us and we told her that we will return later in the evening (in order to have all the time to fix this issue). We returned in the evening and the safe deposit was in the same situation we left it in the morning, not working. For some this can be a minor issue but when you pay more than 350 Euros per night in a 5 star hotel these things should never happen.


All in all it was a perfect 5 days stay and even the minor problems didn’t ruin it even for a second. It really felt that we were staying in a very stylish house with some very cool people; we never felt proper hotel guests and that’s the key of success of Lydmar. I would certainly stay there again in the future. Stockholm is one of the most beautiful cities I’ve been and I can’t wait to return.

p.s. my review would be actually 4.5 stars

Room Tip: Actually every single room in this hotel is different from the other. Ask for a room with some nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NicolasGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I travel on business and pleasure around the world and this was one of the nicest hotel experiences I have had. The hotel is centrally located with lovely views but what made the most impression was the service. A DVD player was delivered for free and instantly to our room, the minibar is free for snacks and on alcoholic beverages and we found the staff always very helpful. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived dirty and sad looking from Kiruna. The staff at check in we're kind and professional and provided an upgrade when we asked.

The hotel was well designed and a joy to stay in. The breakfast and the bar, we're particularly memorable.

Would stay again!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,279 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,748 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
372 reviews
Östermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,665 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 103 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £229 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing