We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lydmar Hotel - Went Beyond My Expectations”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I agree with all the previous comments. I won't repeat anything new here. We are from the United States. We went on a Royal Caribbean cruise to Scandanavia and Russia. Our departure port was Stockholm. I researched hotels in Stockholm (through Trip Advisor) to stay on the front end of the cruise. The Lydmar Hotel was our first choice because of the high ratings and great comments by their guests. Before we arrived, I sent the hotel several emails asking them many questions about our stay and the city. They responded quickly and were super helpful!! I was a bit nervous to trust the taxi situation in Stockholm, so they arranged a taxi service to met us at the ARD (Arlanda) airport. After 24 hours of flying, the transporation to the hotel was very easy and stress free. Our room was beautiful (and big compared to European standards), the cafes/restaurants were very fun and had great food. The hotel is centrally located. Lastly, the man who helped us with our luggage and getting our taxi driver to the right port was priceless (on July 20 @ 10am). I am sorry I didn't catch his name.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LoveMile26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I love this hotel, definitely my favorite in central Stockholm (and I've tried about 30 different ones).
We stayed here in July, in the room category referred to as “medium” which turned out to be very large. The room was on the first floor, right on top of the bar/restaurant so I was a bit concerned about noise but that vanished when I entered the room since the soundproofing is the best I ever experienced in a hotel.

The interior design feels modern, yet personal and the bed was very comfortable. Everything non alcoholic in the minibar is complimentary, a very clever and appreciated move from the hotel.

The restaurants and bars are all excellent as well as the location of the hotel. All and all, it's expensive but well worth it and I look forward to staying here again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anamayha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

In town for business and pleasure, over two separate stays, we were looking for a nice hotel in a good location for the week. We certainly found it with the Hotel Lydmar. The reservation process online/email went smoothly. On arrival, the hotel staff were warm and welcoming, and of course, all speak perfect English. Having just arrived from our long, overnight flight from Chicago, we dragged into the hotel lobby about 9:45 AM. The young lady at the desk (Josephine?) took our bags to the storage area then, at our request, directed us to the restrooms to freshen up. Then she pointed the way to the sunny dining area where we enjoyed our first, wonderful Swedish breakfast of breads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, bacon and eggs, cheeses, sliced meats, and excellent coffee. That put us in good stead to head out and explore this gorgeous city. We found out later that we were not even charged for that breakfast. Every night stay does include breakfast, but this was the morning of arrival, so thank you, Hotel Lydmar!
The hotel is located right on one of the many Stockholm waterways across from the Royal Palace (currently not lived in.) We could easily walk across the bridge to scenic old town, Gamla Stan, which we enjoyed immensely. Sure, the main street is a little touristy, but there are many great little boutiques and restaurants all along there and on the side streets that we really enjoyed. The hotel is also an easy walk the other direction to the main shopping district where you will find all of the famous designer shops like Louis Vuitton, Hugo Boss, etc. as well as walking distance to the various museums and other popular tour spots.
We returned in the afternoon and checked into our modern, spacious king room with all of the best touches and amenities. All in all, we can't say enough about the Lydmar.
One additional note: the outdoor waterfront patio area (which allows smoking) and 3rd floor terrace restaurant definitely cater to the young, professional crowd. This is not a place for families or those who turn in early. Music played outside until about 11PM each evening and there was quite a bit of activity then. We also ran into a unique, one-day celebration on June 18 for the Summer Solstice where the sun more-or-less doesn't set, and the kids party till dawn. We were trying to get to sleep to catch a plane in the morning, and the music that night went on until 1AM. But that was just that one holiday night, I believe. "When in Rome....."

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel so ask if you are unhappy with your room. We were here to two different st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioSilverLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for three days over a weekend. The staff is outstanding in every way. They will do anything to improve your stay. Breakfast omlette were the best we ever had. Room was super quiet. Lively bar scene and great location. Loved our stay and loved Stockholm.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were here for one night at the end of a Baltic cruise, and loved everything about it.

We arrived early, at 9 am, and surprisingly, they had a room ready for us and allowed us to check in early. The lady at reception advised that they had us in a room overlooking the harbor, but it also overlooked the terrace where a band played at night, and she asked us if that was okay, or if we would prefer to switch. Since I am noise sensitive, we went with the move, and they put us in a room on the top floor at the back, and it was very quiet indeed.

The room was well decorated and comfortable, and was actually quite large (we went with a 'medium' sized one). There were big windows which made it light and airy, and there was also a cool port hole with a window ledge to sit on, and a view over the harbor.

Here are a few things that made the experience exceptional, and showed how the staff here go above and beyond:
- my husband wanted to get a coffee and pastry and sit out on the terrace in front of the hotel just after we had checked in, however, they advised that they didn't have the licence to eat out there, so they invited us in to have a full breakfast inside instead - even though we were really only supposed to be checking in that afternoon!
- I had sent an email asking if I could arrange for a treat in the room (chocolate covered strawberries) since it was a trip for my husband's "big 60" birthday and the last day of our trip, but there was a communication problem (my fault likely), and we didn't get them. However, they insisted on not charging us for a half bottle of wine that we'd had instead, as a way to make up for it. I thought this was a very kind gesture on their part.
- the hotel is affiliated with the Grand hotel next door, and customers can use the Grand's spa facilities - please, take advantage of this! Someone had strongly recommended it to us, and although I didn't really want to spend time in Stockholm in a pool when there was so much to see, we decided to go for a short visit in the late afternoon after a long day of sightseeing.....it was beyond fantastic and we ended up staying an hour and a half! The ambiance is wonderful - it seems to be styled after a roman bath - and there is a gas fireplace beside the pool, and amazing smelling aromatherapy. There is soft music playing, lovely little sitting areas, a steam room, a thalassotherapy pool, and an amazing multi-headed shower. The service there was also outstanding.

The location of the hotel is just about as good as it gets....right on the water front, and walking distance to the palace, the museums, the old town, and the other islands.

When we were checking out, it turned out that the lady at reception was Finnish, as is my husband, and they ended up having a great conversation in their native language, and we ended up meeting her parents as well who were visiting, and had friends in the same town where my husband was born. All of this added to the very special experience of staying at this hotel.

I thought it was a little expensive when I was booking it, but hoped that it would be worth it, and it truly was.....we would stay here again in a heart beat when we come back to Stockholm one day.
It was just wonderful!

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are awesome. Ask for a quiet room at the back if you think the terrace nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fantastic location, excellent service and great restaurant. The decor is cool but not too much. Rooms are modern take on traditional. Rooms are generally on the small side but well designed and with great facilities. Hard pushed by Hotel Rival, but edges it on cool and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a great experience at the Lydmar. Service was excellent and the rooms are really fantastic. The only minor criticism I have is that they have a band that plays until about 10pm. They put is in a room that was close to the band and we could hear it pretty intensely from our room. We asked to move rooms and they were very accommodating. The new room was quiet and even more lavish than the one before. Overall, we had a really excellent stay. For people who are sensitive to noise, I would just suggest that they put you in a quiet area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
382 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £259 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing