We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Lydmar”
Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved the Lydmar”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Had a wonderful three day weekend here. The staff are extremely service-oriented and helped us with suggestions and arranged various different things for us. The room was lovely and the location perfect. I couldn't recommend it more highly. I have stayed at the Grand Hotel before, but I preferred the Lydmar, as it had fantastic service and a well-deserved reputation for a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_gettman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlert, Hotelldirektör at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Karen

We work very hard to give every single guest the same attention and the very best service. We are very glad that noticed this and gave us such good feedback. We hope to see you at the Lydmar very soon.

Kind Regards

Sebastian Anlert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    90
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
85
283
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Very relaxed atmosphere, front rooms have perfect views..if you don't mind a little music in the outside bar during summer months...otherwise choose rooms at rear of hotel. Lovely staff, outstanding food & fantastic location.Thanks Everyone!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags1RochesterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlert, Hotelldirektör at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Mags

We loved having you here at Lydmar and are truly grateful for your kind words. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Sebastian Anlert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff was friendly, the location great, and the hotel has an urban hip vibe (although I can't say I love the grungy pictures in our room of some tramp removing her panties). However, we paid over US$500 for our top floor room, Stockholm was in the middle of a heat wave, and while there was supposed to be air conditioning, it was completely inadequate for the job. Everyone was complaining in every room. Our room was a constant 28C, and we had to sleep with the windows open. This was no treat as the Lydmar, being as trendy as it is, has either live music or a DJ playing loudly until at least midnight, right under the windows. There was no attempt to make good on anything from the staff. A discount on the room rate maybe? Free drinks? NOT recommended, at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlert, Hotelldirektör at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your highly valued feedback! Stockhom did indeed suffer a bit from a heat wave this summer and all rooms are equipped with air cooling systems and not air condition systems as they are not needed in sweden on overall and is not enviromental friendly as air cooling. However the air cooling struggles if there is a heat wave of course. We should of course have informed you of this and of course also offered up some solution for both the room temp and the music. We are of course sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Kind Regards

Sebastian Anlert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Lydmar is very well located: at the waterfront, 50 meters from the island of Skeppsholmen. Quiet, but very central, with a fantastic view. The room was fantastic: you could hardly call it a 'room': it was more like an apartment (room 212, a double room, about 60 sq mtrs). The hotel is very well decorated with modern art, the breakfast/dining room feels like a living room, with books and games like Risk and Trivial Pursuit.
The staff is very friendly, breakfast great. Can't find bad things to say!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anlert, Hotelldirektör at Lydmar Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for those amazing words. We are very blessed to have had you as our guest. I hope you will return to Lydmar soon and that next time I get to challange you to a game of Trivial Pursuit.

Kind Regards
Sebastian Anlert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful just from the photos on trip advisor but neither the professional or family photos could do this magnificent hotel justice until you've had the pleasure of staying there. The rooms are more than spacious and every floor has its own variety of parlor, library, sitting area, etc. The hallways are spacious and the entire is immaculate.

The service is extremely prompt and the staff goes out of their way to make sure that all guests have everything they need and are looking for both in and outside of the hotel. Three people I must mention are Julie, Daniel and Nicholas who went out of their way for me on a frantic occasion and resolved the matter within an hour.

The hotel is close to both old and new town and they only reason to take any type of transportation was to the airport. My husband did not like the music that was played but in all fairness he chooses to go to bed early so my only suggestion is if you are an early to bed type of person or have small children--stay at the other end of the hotel--you'll still have beautiful views!

What said a lot about this establishment was that most of the staff had been there a number of years--which is difficult to find in the hospitality industry.

Do yourself a favor and visit this amazing city filled with great atmosphere, warm people and delicious food. I absolutely did not want to leave!!

Room Tip: Read above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

3-nights stay in July 2013. Lydmar Hotel is perfectly located on the waterfront and offers easy access by foot or rental bikes to the Old Town, the Royal Palace, Skeppsholmen island and the beautiful Strandvägen boulevard as well as some of the ferry boats out to the archipelago.

The lobby, as well as the rest of the hotel, is decorated with very interesting pieces of art and furniture. There is a very edgy feeling to this place and it's fantastic. We loved loitering in the hallways and have even tried to incorporate elements of the "Lydmar feel" to our apartment back home. Our room was very quiet and had a partial view of the harbor and the Royal Palace. Very comfortable bed and seating area with plenty of space for a couple. Great design and modern bathroom. The beautiful restaurant area for the breakfast buffet and dinner delivers outstanding food and I highly recommend it. There is an old elevator in the middle of the building that will take you back in time. My girlfiend and I only used that one during our stay. The staff was extremely friendly, very attentive and professional.

Regarding some comments about noise/music. To be clear, there is no nightclub in front of the hotel as some reviewers seem to imply but there is an outdoor space with a bar and lounging areas where the hip crowd from stockholm comes to enjoy cocktails and live music. If I have a chance to mingle with the local crowd whenever I travel, I will jump on the occasion and this was the perfect place to do it. Plus, the live music was actually very good.

This is the best luxury room and hotel my girlfriend and I have stayed at in the past 2 years. I will most definitely stay at Lydmar Hotel when back to Stockholm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobaye27E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our stay was booked by friends through a travel agency, and so we had no expectations, but WOW -what a superb experience. Friendly and exceptionally helpful staff, lovely accommodations, unparalleled location, very fine restaurant. Could not have been a better stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,010 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,296 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,626 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,523 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Property: Lydmar Hotel
Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing