We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uber Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lydmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydmar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uber Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

My wife and I stayed her for a 3 night, child free City Break. As a city, Stockholm seems to be full of beautiful people to the exclusion of all others. This seems to be the hotel where the most beautiful chose to work.

The hotel is VERY discretely positioned between the Grand Hotel and National Museum directly opposite the Royal Palace - so discrete that out taxi driver had to tell us where the front door was. Entering the hotel is like entering another world. The trendiest person is likely to be a member of staff. We checked in and were quickly taken up to our room - we had chosen a "large room." This meant that we had a very nicely designed sitting area with a view over to the Palace and windows onto the museum and a separate bedroom with a view onto a small park and more water at the back. Small toilet in the vestibule and a fabulous, large bathroom off the bedroom. The bedroom was perhaps on the small side with no space for bedside tables, but the overall space of the room made up for this. Note the very discrete, but very raunchy design on the throw over the bed! Oh - and the room also had a display cabinet filled with trendy, artsy little items that are scattered around the hotel.

We ate in the hotel on our fist night and the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was great. This is obviously a place where people come to eat and drink even if not staying. The room has been carefully designed so that it feels you are eating in someone's front room - albeit someone with gorgeous looking friends, a great stereo, fabulous CD collection and loads of retro books about the 1980s. We loved it. Breakfast is also taken in this room and was superb.

The hotel is not cheap - nothing in Stockholm is - but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    82
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
259
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Visiting Stockholm is always great.

Visiting Lydmars Hotel is even better. Having searched the city for years, Lydmars Hotel is undoubtedly my favourite, followed perhaps by Hotel Diplomat and Hotel Victory (although the latter one has worse service). The hotel rooms, I know a few of them, is each different by design, but stays within the same style. Try to stay away from floor five, where the rooms are a tiny bit smaller. The bar and restaurant is always crowded with the rather cool-looking Stockholm jet-set. Havng said that, Lydmars would also be my choice when traveling with family and small children. If you're into design, fashion, like to stay in the heart of the city, like personal service and enjoy a decent home made breakfast in the morning, Lydmars is your place. If you like dirty carpets and production lines, try somewhere else.

Apart from the bed-side telephone (which is impossible to understand; you can therefore forget to call the reception), the only negative thing about the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast, as already mentioned, is magnificent. However, the dinner is a disaster. Last time I was there, I waited 45 (that's right: fourty five) minutes to get in touch with the waiter and order a drink. He, a young, anaemic Prada-wearing dude, recommended 'Lydmars steak' as main course. Sounds good I thought, not knowing I had just ordered a chewy and cold piece of meat, accompanied only by a plate of salad and - please note - half an orange! What I was supposed to do with the orange is yet unknown.

Conclusion: Heaven and hell.

My recommendation for dinner would therefore be the neighbouring Matbaren, a small restaurant run by the famous Mathias Dahlgren. In this one star restaurant, you will get decent and honest Scandinavian food. The service is excellent, particularly if served by Johan, and the chefs really know what they're doing. There are not many courses to choose between, but you will surely find your alternative. Local sea food, French duck, Italian sausages, Sill from Haugesund, Salmon from Norway, you name it. The wine is not too expensive, for a gourmet restaurant to be. The atmosphere is rather informal, even though most people dress properly. I only observed one person wearing a T-shirt this night, and it was not the ManU one. I spent 995 SEK for a three course meal, including three glasses of wine. As a nice gesture, you will also receive half full glasses if you would like a tiny taste and still remain sober. Matbaren is like a very fancy gastro pub, and, coupled with Palace Grill and Oscars gate in Oslo, one of Scandinavias best alternatives, if you are into good food within the one Michelin star sphere.

Conclusion: Heaven.

Combined, Lydmars and Matbaren is amongst the best things the Nordic countries can provide in terms of accomodation and food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Lydmar hotel in Stockholm was a positive surprise. the taxi driver had difficulties in finding the palce since there isn't a huge sign outside. And when you enter, it is cosy and confortable and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The rooms were small but modern and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was really excellent! The location is good and I will definitely go back there for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bequia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We visited Stockhol for a week in August and were recomended Lydmar as the place to be if we wanted a combination of trendy style and great ambience. The room we stayed in was rather large and very comfortable, great minibar and when we checked out we were told that we dont need to pay for whatever we had from the bar, it was a great and very much appreciate gesture.
The location is great and if you are lucky you will get a room with a view over the Stockholm royal palace.
The restaurant was full every day, the interior is like a livingroom and with a cozy outdoor terrace on the second floor, the crowd are from all walks of life and it seems like Lydmar bar and restaurant is a hidden treasure and very hard to find. There is no sign on the building and if you dont know your way around you will never be able to find the restaurant or the Hotel.
The hotel was great fun and good value for money and with immaculate service, I look forward to my next visit to Stockholm.

Mr Lars

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

The Lydmar is a really beautiful hotel. We booked a Medium room and requested one with high ceilings (rather than a loft conversion) and it did not disappoint. We had 3 massive windows in the room with a lovely view, and thought the room (and bathroom) was really stylishly put together.

We spent quite a lot of time in the terrace bar - it's very pretty, and really happening, and the bartenders mixed a mean drink. We had both food and drinks there at various times. It's better for drinks than food we felt; service is very pleasant but kind of slow (I think the food comes up from the kitchen servicing the restaurant downstairs). Also, my partner felt a little queasy after one dinnertime steak tartare.

The restaurant downstairs is really funkily put together - it looks stylishly inviting rather than overly self-conscious as some hip design hotels can do. The staff generally are really pleasant and were really very helpful in sourcing a restaurant booking at a time when a lot of restaurants in Stockholm are closed for the summer.

Overall, next visit to Stockholm, we would definitely choose to stay in the Lydmar again. It's a really stylish hotel, great location, stylish and comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and bartenders who know what they're doing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We spent 4 nights in this hotel, with our 3 yrs-old daughter during a Congress trip to Stockholm. It's a gorgeous boutique hotel, service impeccable, nice atmosphere, but 'cause it's 1 of (if not) the trendiest , it's restaurant come bar/lounge gets full of (beautiful) people and the music (with rather good taste) goes on and on until late hours. On the Saturday (Sweden's national day) there was a rather wild party with live piano playing just outside my door, which lasted until 2 a.m.
So, if you're a trendy couple looking for glam accommodation this is the place to stay. If you have young children, you may consider more family-oriented hotels. The choice is great!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criromao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Lydmar for 2 nights during the course of our 6 day stay in Sweden, and we had an awesome time here. It's in a great location -- right on the waterfront and next to the Grand Hotel. It's also only about a 5 minute walk from the nearest subway stop so it was easy to get any part of the city.

Apparently, the hotel just opened about 6 months ago, so everything was new, modern, and clean. Even with the modern-ish decor, however, it has a nice, cozy, home-y feel to it. Our room was fairly large, and it had very high ceilings so it certainly seemed especially spacious. There was a flat screen TV in the room, and free wifi too. The bathroom was huge! There was a large tub and rain showerhead. The bed and pillows were also extremely comfortable. You do get a little bit of street noise at night if you're facing the front of the building, but it certainly wasn't enough to wake us up.

The staff was very polite and helpful. They frequently offered to make reservations to restaurants for us though we never really took them up on it. We mainly just wandered around the city, and stopped at places that looked interesting to us. We did eat at the hotel restaurant once, and the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydmar Hotel

Property: Lydmar Hotel
Address: 2 Soedra Blasieholmshamnen | PO Box 161 96, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#1 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#2 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lydmar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are individually furnished and no rooms are alike. On the 5th floor you can enjoy the feeling of a penthouse with wooden beams in the sloping ceiling. The furnishing is meant to give you that homey feeling, with furniture in different styles. The rooms have different views such as street, park and waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lydmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydmar Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing