We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lydmar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diplomat(Stockholm)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
524
109
24
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
109
24
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand hotelmedium roomsmall luxury hotelroyal palacenational museuminteresting artexceptional hotelliving roomlovely boutiqueold towninterior designlarge roomthe hotel is perfectly locatedcool placeview of the waterperfect locationsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2009

My wife and I stayed her for a 3 night, child free City Break. As a city, Stockholm seems to be full of beautiful people to the exclusion of all others. This seems to be the hotel where the most beautiful chose to work.

The hotel is VERY discretely positioned between the Grand Hotel and National Museum directly opposite the Royal Palace - so discrete that out taxi driver had to tell us where the front door was. Entering the hotel is like entering another world. The trendiest person is likely to be a member of staff. We checked in and were quickly taken up to our room - we had chosen a "large room." This meant that we had a very nicely designed sitting area with a view over to the Palace and windows onto the museum and a separate bedroom with a view onto a small park and more water at the back. Small toilet in the vestibule and a fabulous, large bathroom off the bedroom. The bedroom was perhaps on the small side with no space for bedside tables, but the overall space of the room made up for this. Note the very discrete, but very raunchy design on the throw over the bed! Oh - and the room also had a display cabinet filled with trendy, artsy little items that are scattered around the hotel.

We ate in the hotel on our fist night and the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was great. This is obviously a place where people come to eat and drink even if not staying. The room has been carefully designed so that it feels you are eating in someone's front room - albeit someone with gorgeous looking friends, a great stereo, fabulous CD collection and loads of retro books about the 1980s. We loved it. Breakfast is also taken in this room and was superb.

The hotel is not cheap - nothing in Stockholm is - but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Visiting Stockholm is always great.

Visiting Lydmars Hotel is even better. Having searched the city for years, Lydmars Hotel is undoubtedly my favourite, followed perhaps by Hotel Diplomat and Hotel Victory (although the latter one has worse service). The hotel rooms, I know a few of them, is each different by design, but stays within the same style. Try to stay away from floor five, where the rooms are a tiny bit smaller. The bar and restaurant is always crowded with the rather cool-looking Stockholm jet-set. Havng said that, Lydmars would also be my choice when traveling with family and small children. If you're into design, fashion, like to stay in the heart of the city, like personal service and enjoy a decent home made breakfast in the morning, Lydmars is your place. If you like dirty carpets and production lines, try somewhere else.

Apart from the bed-side telephone (which is impossible to understand; you can therefore forget to call the reception), the only negative thing about the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast, as already mentioned, is magnificent. However, the dinner is a disaster. Last time I was there, I waited 45 (that's right: fourty five) minutes to get in touch with the waiter and order a drink. He, a young, anaemic Prada-wearing dude, recommended 'Lydmars steak' as main course. Sounds good I thought, not knowing I had just ordered a chewy and cold piece of meat, accompanied only by a plate of salad and - please note - half an orange! What I was supposed to do with the orange is yet unknown.

Conclusion: Heaven and hell.

My recommendation for dinner would therefore be the neighbouring Matbaren, a small restaurant run by the famous Mathias Dahlgren. In this one star restaurant, you will get decent and honest Scandinavian food. The service is excellent, particularly if served by Johan, and the chefs really know what they're doing. There are not many courses to choose between, but you will surely find your alternative. Local sea food, French duck, Italian sausages, Sill from Haugesund, Salmon from Norway, you name it. The wine is not too expensive, for a gourmet restaurant to be. The atmosphere is rather informal, even though most people dress properly. I only observed one person wearing a T-shirt this night, and it was not the ManU one. I spent 995 SEK for a three course meal, including three glasses of wine. As a nice gesture, you will also receive half full glasses if you would like a tiny taste and still remain sober. Matbaren is like a very fancy gastro pub, and, coupled with Palace Grill and Oscars gate in Oslo, one of Scandinavias best alternatives, if you are into good food within the one Michelin star sphere.

Conclusion: Heaven.

Combined, Lydmars and Matbaren is amongst the best things the Nordic countries can provide in terms of accomodation and food.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Lydmar hotel in Stockholm was a positive surprise. the taxi driver had difficulties in finding the palce since there isn't a huge sign outside. And when you enter, it is cosy and confortable and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The rooms were small but modern and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was really excellent! The location is good and I will definitely go back there for a vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We visited Stockhol for a week in August and were recomended Lydmar as the place to be if we wanted a combination of trendy style and great ambience. The room we stayed in was rather large and very comfortable, great minibar and when we checked out we were told that we dont need to pay for whatever we had from the bar, it was a great and very much appreciate gesture.
The location is great and if you are lucky you will get a room with a view over the Stockholm royal palace.
The restaurant was full every day, the interior is like a livingroom and with a cozy outdoor terrace on the second floor, the crowd are from all walks of life and it seems like Lydmar bar and restaurant is a hidden treasure and very hard to find. There is no sign on the building and if you dont know your way around you will never be able to find the restaurant or the Hotel.
The hotel was great fun and good value for money and with immaculate service, I look forward to my next visit to Stockholm.

Mr Lars

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The Lydmar is a really beautiful hotel. We booked a Medium room and requested one with high ceilings (rather than a loft conversion) and it did not disappoint. We had 3 massive windows in the room with a lovely view, and thought the room (and bathroom) was really stylishly put together.

We spent quite a lot of time in the terrace bar - it's very pretty, and really happening, and the bartenders mixed a mean drink. We had both food and drinks there at various times. It's better for drinks than food we felt; service is very pleasant but kind of slow (I think the food comes up from the kitchen servicing the restaurant downstairs). Also, my partner felt a little queasy after one dinnertime steak tartare.

The restaurant downstairs is really funkily put together - it looks stylishly inviting rather than overly self-conscious as some hip design hotels can do. The staff generally are really pleasant and were really very helpful in sourcing a restaurant booking at a time when a lot of restaurants in Stockholm are closed for the summer.

Overall, next visit to Stockholm, we would definitely choose to stay in the Lydmar again. It's a really stylish hotel, great location, stylish and comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and bartenders who know what they're doing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews