We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central & clean vs small, expensive and hectic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very central & clean vs small, expensive and hectic”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On the good side, the place is really central, with a nice café underneath. 5 min walk from slussen and 5/10 min walk from the shop area. 15min walk from central station. Supermarkets close by. Loads of restaurant (of which most of them overpriced, like most everything in Stockholm). There is also a vapiano right above the closest metro station.
The place is really clean. No particular negative comments on the toilets and showers.
We had a twin room. Price was shocking for a 6m2 bedroom without breakfast. We should have gone for an hotel.
Finally the worst part: the noise. Basically in the evening there is no control at all. If you are unlucky, it can be a huge mess with incredible noise. This I will always remember.
So basically only a good place for 20yo students going to stockholm to go out and get drunk.
Oh I remember this is an hostel...but well I did other hostel in several cities which were a million time better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your stay at Castanea Hostel!
We are glad you liked our location, but we are also truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. You have booked a SMALL twin room, and yes it is small but most of our guests are aware of that when making the booking and find the room cosy and bright with a big window.
We are also sorry about the noise you were disturbed by. The common rooms are not supposed to be used after 23:00 so that there will be no broken sleep.
To keep the cost down many of our guests want to make their own breakfast. If you prefer there is a nice café on the ground floor of the building.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    64
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
42
69
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hostel is superb, ideally located in the beautiful old town. The staff were really friendly and the hotel was clean and pleasent. When I stayed (November 11) I think the hostel had been redeveloped to a very good standard.

Toilet, Shower and kitcehn facilities are all to a high standard.

When I go back to Stockholm I will stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your nice words! Glad you liked Castanea Hostel!
And yes we have developed :-) We try all the time to refreshes the rooms and the common areas, and also to find smart solutions on small things that will help our guests to have a comfy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First and foremost the staff are amazing! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left their friendliness and helpfulness was OUTSTANDING!

This hostel is located in beautiful old town and was close to everything we needed.

The hostel is clean and the rooms are well appointed with open able windows and plenty of natural light. Coat hangers, hooks, shelves, baskets and desks are all details that go a very long way. Common areas are a little lacking in natural light but spacious and clean.

Overall are very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs felt better connected and more secure. Shower: Suss out the shower rose before you go in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyGworx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Really glad you liked Castanea Hostel! Thank you for your kind review!
And I agree, our staff is outstanding :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
345 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

While we couldn't possibly beat the location of this hostel right on a pretty square in the old town, the room we got (a private 4-bed room) was so narrow that it was difficult to move around with our whole family inside. No one in my family is claustrophobic, but we still felt boxed in by the space (maybe 4 feet across at most). We ended up spending most of our time in the common area, a nice space with tables where we could talk or eat. The guest kitchen was a good convenience (albeit a little smelly from some guests' cooking), but an included breakfast would have been nice. We did get a discount at a cute coffee house next door, though, where we ate one morning. The bathrooms were occasionally smelly from people not peeing in the right place - gross - but thankfully it was cleaned up by the time we returned from sightseeing. This is generally a nice, clean hostel, but be aware of the small size of some of the rooms (I think the dorms were a better size than the private rooms).

Room Tip: Book a bed in the dorms - much less claustrophobic than the private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 274beckyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hostel was perfect for us, 2 over 30's who like to have a little more comfort in our dorm/hostel experience. This place has all the little things thought of. Hanging baskets at the end of the dorm beds to place your possession in while you sleep, bed lamps at every dorm bed so you can read when others want to sleep, new beds, lockers where you use your own lock, even a "things to do" file which also includes locations of supermarkets and banks. The wifi is great and works all over the hostel. Being new/renovated the showers and bathrooms are lovely, with hot water all times.

Smallish rooms, but well set out and enough space. The kitchen is also small but being so new and well equipped means it is still a positive feature. This is not a party hostel, but still has a sitting room to socialise.

Ensure that you are prepared if coming outside of the reception hours and obtain the door code, otherwise there is no one around. We arrived early, still got in had a quick shower, stored our luggage and then set out exploring for the day before checking in at 3pm. Location is spot on in the old town. There is a little public courtyard outside to sit in and enjoy a few glasses of wine.

My only negative is that you have to bring own sheets or incur an additional charge to hire some, what happened to linen being included in the price?

Room Tip: All rooms are modern and well set up. There are a few set up next to the bathroom and kitchen and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamBell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The best hostel I've ever been! I should start from the reception - you are welcomed by very polite and cheerful staff. Hostel is located in very good area, surrounded by beautiful tenements, close to the city center. Very comfortable beds, kitchen fully furnished, with all that you need to prepare your favourite food. Big advantage is heated floor under the shower, it makes you feel better after all day of sightseeing. Great atmosphere makes you feel like at home. I recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack9112094873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Pros;
+ Good speed wifi throughout.
+ Clean and modern bathroom facilities.
+ Spacious dorm room with nice basket storage at the end of each bed.

Cons;
-Lockers aren't big enough for rucksacks.
- Reception isn't manned all the time.
- Smokers smoke outside, beneath dorm room windows, and smoke drifts up into the room.

Breakfast: Not included but a 55kr special deal at cafe below.

Location: Really good. Just a few hundred metres from Gamla Stan Station and the Royal Palace and in quiet part of the old city (Except Monday morning when it's bin day and a number of noisy collections are made early doors!).

Would I Recommend To Friends?: Definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#28 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castanea Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castanea Old Town Hostel

Property: Castanea Old Town Hostel
Address: 1 Kindstugatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castanea is a small cosy hostel. Located in the Old Town - the very center of Stockholm. Here you stay in private room or dormitory. All rooms have big windows, some with the view of the chestnut three outside. Guest kitchen for your own cooking. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castanea Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing