We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crafoord Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crafoord Place
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste, Italy
1 review
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hostel is very clean and well organized. The kitchen is pretty and it offers a wonderful sightseeing on the beautiful skyline of Stockholm. The owners are so kind and nice, we had a pleasant barbecue with them and the other guests. The hostel is also in a good position because it is both quite close to the center and to a metro stop.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Not too hard to find if you can read a map properly. Very lovely receptionist and the rooms and hallways are very clean. The kitchen is also good, with a list of vegetarian restaurants in the area and other stuff to do around Stockholm. Can't complain!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I liked Crawfoord Place.

The place is very clean and tidy. Good value for money. The people who run it are lovely. There is a kitchen with basic facilities too. The location is central and the city center is walking distance. You can walk it from the central bus/train station in about 20 mins.

The location is not on the main road so use the map which the hostel send you, otherwise you may get lost. It is on the 8th floor so it is a pain if the lift is broken - it was broken when i was there the whole time. There are two external wash basins, two showers and three toilets between the dorms, but the occupancy was low when i was there so it was no issue.

I stayed for a week and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas,CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My daughter spent a week here in April 2012. The staff was excellent. Especially David. He was very accommodating and answered any questions we had. The owner dropped by occasionally with her adorable dogs too! This was my first time in a hostel and I found the experience to be a great way to meet fellow travelers from around the world.
This hostel is also located near the Ice Bar which is really worth checking out. We were also only a short walk to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My friend and I were on our way to a house party on Åland and decided to stay in Stockholm for a few days - we booked rooms here without really doing much planning and were very pleasantly surprised!

We too arrived late and found it easily, and the codes and information worked fine. It's lovely and clean, and surprisingly quiet; the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and there's lots of information stuck up on the walls. Free internet was great, though for some reason it doesn't work in the bedrooms. Fine in the kitchen (and even the bathroom!) though. There are two showers, but we didn't find one of them until our third day, it's well hidden on the way into the kitchen! There's also the shower in the basement which I personally found quite nice, it was good to get away from the bustle of the kitchen to the peace and cool of the basement (which actually is the first floor). The bedding was immaculate and cosy and the beds were comfortable. There was occasionally a bit of a wait for the kitchen/cooker but that is to be expected, and it never got too annoying.

It is a bit of a walk into town but not unpleasantly so - we enjoyed the walk to and from the attractions and it gave us the chance to explore a bit more. There is also a pleasant park and a nice supermarket close by; it isn't exactly isolated.

It was great, I'm sure I'll be back in Stockholm many more times and I'll definitely be back here if I need somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlannyBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zilina, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The hostel is only 20-25 mins by walk from central station up the hill. We were following instructions which we recieved from the hostel and had absolutely no problem to find it. As we arrived late at night we recieved a code (by email) with which we could open the door and than we recieved our code information at the reception in closed envelope for us. Instructions were clear and we opened our room without any problem.

You must bring your indoors shoes and also this helped, that the place was very clean.
There is nice kitchen with some food for "free" which the travellers left there in a special boxes. We did the same what we didn't used all, like spaghetti pastas. There is also sugar, salt, tea etc for free.

The same way is with cosmetics. If you want you can leave there some shower gel or shampoo.

Room was small without any table or place where you can leave your stuff. We were there during october and the place was warm, so you don't have to be aware, that you will feel cold. There was also fantastic view from the window. Free internet was a great bonus.
There is only one shower on the main floor (and one in a basement) but during our stay we never waited for it. Somehow it worked there everything perfect and the hostel was full.

If I ever travel to Stockholm again I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Apart from feeling like your were in a chapter of Hansel and Gretal trying to find the clues and signage to Crafoord Place - once found, a gem of a hostel. Despite feeling I am way past hostel rooms and bunk beds, the spick and span tidiness and cleanliness of the hostel, coupled with incredibly quiet and interesting hostellers and a beautiful Swedish designed community kitchen made our 4 night stay very pleasant. The benefit of a free computer and internet access, lovely shower recess, and a cheery helpful hostess added that extra touch. It is a wee bit off the beaten track, but by walking all those kilometres, the delicious swedish meatballs, breads, cakes and coffees are a reward at the end. Hey, Hey Stockholm!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyapokis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#5 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#7 of 62 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Stockholm
Generator Stockholm
#8 of 62 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crafoord Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crafoord Place

Property: Crafoord Place
Address: Halsobrunnsgatan 10, Stockholm, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crafoord Place 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel in Stockholm with Great views! 1st choice hostel in Stockholm for the independent traveller. Located in the City Centre of Stockholm. Lot's of restaurants and nice coffe places in the neighbourhood. Only ten minutes walk to the main shopping and sightseeing area in Stockholm. We are a small, friendly hostel with only 10 rooms and 40 beds. Arriving by car? This is the Place to stay. Welcome to Crafoord Place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crafoord Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing