We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the perfect hideaway and location for a Stockholm city escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Story Hotel Riddargatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“the perfect hideaway and location for a Stockholm city escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My Swedish partner surprised me with a weekend stay at The Story Hotel, splashing out on the spacious Lily Dam suite, which was more akin to a bohemian city bolthole. Tucked away on the 5th floor, the suite has been designed in the style of a very apartment, with several inter-connecting rooms that look out onto two private balconies. With its separate living room, dedicated working space with free WiFi, connecting through to the sleeping area, dressing room and a big comfy bed, I was loathe to leave and venture outside!

The Story is the perfect hideaway and location for a Stockholm city escape. Just footsteps from Strandvägen and close to Gamla stan, the city’s main attractions are close by and easily accessible...so we literally strolled to dinner at the fabulous Matbaren restaurant and back for a nightcap (or two!) in the buzzy Story bar.

This is not a traditional hotel set-up with communal reception area, however, the check-in via computer is surprisingly hassle-free and I quite liked the use of technology with your own personal pin code...providing you don’t forget it! That being said on occasions we needed assistance staff were around and available.

Even though it’s in the heart of the city, we found The Story reasonably quiet, and whilst it definitely hots up at the weekend, this is all part of the appeal. This not for those looking for a traditional tourist hotel, but if you want to experience the hip and happening side of this uber-cool city then The Story is for you. Less tourist and more local...my kind of place...can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    401
    111
    43
    12
See reviews for
90
478
49
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I've been in this hotel several times during the year for work purposes and I found it always good.
The rooms are very comfortable and really personal, the pictures on the walls are very strange and interesting, the bathrooms are very clean and warm and the shower is really nice!
The breakfast is really good and in typical swedish style and also having dinner int his hotel is nice.
This hotel is in the real centre of the city, close to the most important attractive places, so a place to return!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Fun quirky hotel located in walking distance to everything.
Smallish rooms but exactly as they are described on their website and have everything you need for a city break.
Really helpful friendly staff and a yummy breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Other than the size of the room, which is a little on the smallish side, everything else about this quirky boutique hotel is really fantastic! The location is really great - next to the train station, in the middle of the city's fashion area, u just have to walk a little and cross the bridge to get to the castle/muesuems, the scenic lake, and of course the simply fantastic marketplace with yummy small eateries and local food. Food wise, the breakfast's decent (greedy me had so much smoked salmon everyday i had to forego it for two months after my return). Best of all, the room rate for the hotel is really reasonable given its fantastic location. Great choice for couples!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

we had a very pelasant stay in this nice trendy hotel. our romm, the Bath room was great for a romantic stay. I especially recommend the bar and the backyard are for drinks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalene92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The good things about Story are that it's different from larger cookie cutter type of hotels. The standard room we had was nicely and tastefully decorated, clean (but a little dusty in places), and a decent size for 2 people (although the bathroom was tiny). Breakfast was simple but nice. It's also in a great location for a weekend in Stockholm, with all the main sights within easy walking distance of 20-30min at most.

The things that would make us not go back are:
1) Noise. Even though we were on the 5th floor (I think hotel has 6 in total) there was noise on Fri & Sat night. We could hear music and people from the bar/club. Saturday was worse. I dread to think what the lower floors were like
2) Mattress was way too soft, me and my wife left with bad backs after our 2 days there
3) No clear reception/front desk. As you walk in there is a bench on the left with a pc there and one receptionist (who is not always there) but its a bit of a weird setup. Also we found the "pin code" system (instead of a card key) a bit of a pointless gimmick

Overall it wasn't a bad experience as such, but for the reasons above would choose to try a different hotel if we were to visit Stockholm again

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a hip hotel. It's all about design, statements and more. It has a restaurant, a bar and smallish rooms.

The Story hotel is located next to Stureplan, the hip center of Stockholm where you need to go to have a beer and more starting Thursday nights. The restaurant is very into simple and basic meals, but there is a lot more places to eat to choose from, like the one on the corner next to it, which is one of the best of Stockholm.

The top shops are around the corner as is a subway. Some taxi drivers don't know where to find the place and it is hidden well. But it doesn't help that much ones your in the room. They are small compared to the other hotels. They all have the same designs and features (don't expect bath tubs (as far as I can tell)), but the beds are comfortable and the staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast is somewhat limited and very Swedish.

It's not a bad choice and the prices are okayish for Stockholm. But there are a lot of other great hotels surrounding it, so this a good choice, no more than that. On the other hand you won't regret it.

Room Tip: For quiet, get a room in the back, otherwise a room at the front in the middle, they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toekook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing