We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved, loved, loved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved, loved, loved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had the pleasure of staying for three nights. Great, gorgeous staff wherever you turned. Breakfast small but interesting selection, rooms sensational with quirky sinks, great art works and a nice hot shower with good water pressure. The backyard bar and restaurant was covered by the world's second largest umbrella with inbuilt levels of seating around half the edges, great concept and it worked. Headed to the front bar next where the dj was spinning a really good mix of tunes and the place was really abuzz with a cross section of people. Highly recommend it. A stones throw from fabulous shopping and also the waterfront. You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously have less street noise and bar noise if you are like me and sleep with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbournePatsy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    411
    115
    44
    12
See reviews for
91
488
51
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the 4th floor, fun from the start in the boudoir themed lift! So good to be in a hotel where someone has such imagination and style, fabulous art painted on the actual walls and loved the antique door as a bed head. The bar was lively, noisy and fun - who wants to be in a quiet boring bar anyway? Had a great hamburger in the funky Back Yard and you've got to love a place where Veuve Clicquot is the house champas. Stayed 2 nights only, wish it had been longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond,VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and thought the rooms were small but adequate. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, but seemed a little disinterested. It was an unusually warm few days, so we had to sleep with our windows open. This presented the significant problem of street noise (mostly pedestrians) until the early AM even though these were weeknights. Although the trendiness of the hotel might appeal to many, I would probably stay elsewhere on another trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejl804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I just returned from Stockholm, where I stayed at the Story Hotel for three nights. The hotel staff members were great, very helpful and pleasant to work with. My room was small, but very comfortable. I travel alone, so small rooms work fine for me. The nights that I left my window open, there was noise from the "back yard," but after a day of seeing the sights, I wasn't bothered at all. The breakfast was very good, and the food from the bar menu was good, too. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The street side might be quieter late at night, because of the noise from the bar outside on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotels very well located in the centre of the city and very peculiar in the decorations and room style, really nice and original.
It features also a restaurant and breakfast is included in the room price. They serve great bread, smoked salmon, fresh jams and cheeses, cereals and of course orange juice and coffee (only filtered, Swedish style).
I also had lunch there and had a chicken salad - very nice as well.

I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbitrary_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I chose this hotel because of its good ranking on Trip Advisor and what I felt was a decently affordable price in this very expensive city. The bar and the restaurant of the hotel are nice : the food is good (if you book via their web site you get a voucher which pays for 90% of your habmurger bill !) and there is a nice crowd. The BIG disappointments are the room and the noise. I have never seen such a small room : the wall if 20 cms from the end of the bed. I was on the 2nd floor and the noise coming from the bar / club at night woke me up and gave me a hard time to go back to sleep. The French staff member I spoke to in the morning was friendly but he could do nothing about it. I left very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaneTreppoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Story Hotel is a very chic boutique hotel at a good location in central Stockholm. Everything looks very good on the surface, but when you start scratching it's far from perfect.

Biggest problem? Don't expect to get any sleep before their bar closes at 2am (at least on Friday-Saturday). Even though we stayed on fourth floor the bass easily passed through walls and ear plugs making it real hard to relax.

The breakfast buffet was also a feast for the eyes, but a big disappointment for the stomach. The only "warm" food offered was boiled eggs, I expect much more from a hotel breakfast in Sweden. But the juice was delicious.

The wifi was malfunctioning a lot.

The interior in the room was very nice, but quite impractical, limited space for your clothes.

If you're in Stocholm for partying, Story Hotel is a good choice, if you want a relaxing stay you better choose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatten313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing