We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect design hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect design hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hip but not too styled.It manages to still feel comfortable and homely.
I stayed in the super squeeze room, and although it has a single bed it still had a beautiful bathroom and plenty of space for luggage etc.
I knew about the automated check in but was pleased to find that there is always a friendly member of staff available at the door.
I was travelling alone for business and found the bar a great place to hang out and people watch, and the location is perfect, right in the heart of the fashion district.
Breakfast was good plenty of choice.
I have just booked this hotel again for my next trip and am looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    412
    115
    44
    12
See reviews for
91
488
51
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Story Hotel is one f the coolest places I have ever stayed in. İts located in a very chic and elegant neighborhood in Stockholm, minutes away from shops and bars. It has one of a kind rooms with posters hanging on the walls that you can buy, vintage doors as bedheads, very nice colors and even a bath tub looking over the street. It has all the cool elements of Scandinavian style in terms of colors and textures. There isnt any reception and you just check in by yourself thru a desktop Mac. There is a bar in the hotel that is a favorite hotspot between locals at the weekends, here you can see djs and bands playing. The breakfast room is all lit by candles in the early hours of the morning which gives you serenity. I recommend here for couples and group of frıends for a cıty break but people who are on vacation and yet want to run away from corporate environments can find their bohemian peace here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very quirky Swedish and very nicely located, got very much disappointed at the lack of a proper check-in counter through especially considering the price (it really gives the hotel a kind of a cheaper feel to it). Best lax at breakfast I've ever tried yet. It also introduced me a very nice Swedish cosmetics line called FACE which was the only hotel shampoo not to make my treated hair saggy or brittle (oh yes we tried that Bvlgari and ETRO hotel stuff which really sucks) since I traveled for a long weekend with a small bag on the shoulder.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_E_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family of four (2 adults, 2 children ages 9 and 12) spent two nights at the Story Hotel this past August. The experience was great. The hotel will especially appeal to those who like quirky, "non-cookie cutter" boutique hotels. The rooms are average size (we stayed in two rooms with king beds each). The decor is avant garde and actually reminded us of a haunted house (in a positive, fun way). The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful, and tended to our basic needs (calling a cab, recommending a great restaurant). The buffet breakfast offered fewer choices than other comparable hotels where we have stayed (e.g., no eggs, bacon, etc.) but it was certainly adequate and was very fresh and healthy (more typical Scandinavian fare with smoked fish, cheeses, etc.). Thus, no complaints there. Overall upside: great location walking distance to most attractions and plenty of nice restaurants; a ten minute cab ride from the main train station; friendly, helpful staff; nice, clean rooms; unique charm. Overall downside: if noise is a problem, then ask for rooms that do not overlook the street. Although certainly not unbearable and even though the hotel is not on a major thoroughfare, the street does get noisy, especially on the weekend when people pack the hotel's trendy bar. Other than that, no downside.

Room Tip: If possible, avoid rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w. j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

First: Bring earplugs. The trendy bar on the first floor has unbelievably loud music till 2am on the weekends and apparently till 10pm during the week. This is the ONLY dowturn, otherwise the stay was fabulous!

Rooms are nice and tidy, staff is friendly, and helpful. Breakfast was really nice. Location is excellent. Two stops to Gamla Stan.

Really enjoyed it and would go back... but as I said: don't forget the earplugs!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelingyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is a Boutique hotel in Stockholm. What is so great about it is that it is not the standard Choice, Scandic hotels but a hotel with an atmosphere and feeling. Friendly, personal staff (not just good staff), nice decorated rooms where you feel like home.

Add a great breakfast and a great location makes this a great hotel. I always try to stay here when I am in London because it is something new, a little different which gives the stay a lot more good feeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in "the balcony" room for 2 nights. The room is average sized by European hotel standards with a funky vibe. The bathroom was tiny, but nice toiletries and good water pressure in the rain shower made up for it. The breakfast was great and it's a nice perk to have the hotel bar downstairs serve food til fairly late by Stockholm standards.

It's located in the high end shopping district and a reasonable walk to everything. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing