We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diplomat(Stockholm)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveller rating
609
498
140
52
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
498
140
52
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsling longgreat locationcool hotelbalcony roomboutique hotelgreat barunderfloor heatinghotel barthe ground floorcentral stockholmperfect hotelmini barboiled eggscomfy bedlong weekendunderground stationvisit stockholm
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I really enjoyed it: cool an young atmosphere, amazing breakfast (can't help to eat salmon in the morning in the Nordics... And this was soo fresh!), original design for the rooms. Plus a lot of cool pubs around. But best of all, the elevator: get a room on the second floor, and it will tell you the lyrics of my name is luka! U can't help doing up and down a couple of times ;)

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Firstly, the Story Hotel is in a very good location. Secondly, the breakfast is good.

However, the hotel is very self consciously 'cool', a bit like a teenager wearing a baseball cap sideways.

The rooms are tiny, we were in a standard room, which might have been bearable for a one night stay, but which became very irritating after a couple of days, and infuriating by the end of a six night stay.

The bar is very expensive, even by central Stockholm standards, and is subjected to booming club music, which is quite inappropriate for a hotel bar. We are not against music in bars, but it is nice to be able to talk, rather than have to shout, as if in a club, or a student disco.

The are better hotels nearby at similar prices, perhaps less 'cool', but rather more practical.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room you can get. Do not take one of the rooms above the bar.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyLittleTownBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Story Hotel in a trendy areas of Stockholm. It is a visually interesting hotel with artistic and cool design elements employed in the rooms and throughout the hotel- we particularly enjoyed the voice over that greets you each day in the elevator- very funny. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice including our favourite a Swedish delight= smoked salmon, gravalax. It is well located within walking distance to most interesting sights throughout the city. We recommend doing a day island cruise and definitely visiting the VASA Museum. The bar attached to the hotel is very popular with the after work crowd and a fun and energetic place to stop by for a drink. We highly recommend the local restaurant on the same street up the hill (sorry forgot the name of it) it looks dull on the outside- the food is beautiful however. We indulged on our trip for my partner's 40th birthday and went out of the city centre to an amazing restaurant "Restaurant Lux" -a special treat that requires advance booking. Gamla Stan the historic quarter is absolutely gorgeous and we spent a couple of days meandering through out this area, eating, window shopping and of course drinking our way through the winding cobblestone paths. Stockholm is pretty and the Story Hotel was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember072520171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Story Hotel has everything: cool & chic design, friendly staff, wonderful food - breakfast, lunch, and dinner (this is the first time I dare say I'd rather eat hotel food!), fast working wifi, affordability, location, etc. etc. you name it! I will definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Stockholm. Thank you everyone at Story Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janjarang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 5 days in the Lily Dam Suite. The hotel looks lovely, and has the novelty (and cost cutting exercise) of asking guests to check themselves in. This is all very easy, but as the hotel has a popular bar and restaurant, there is no way of telling who is a guest and who is a customer. You do encounter staff, but there is no sense that they recognise you as a guest. It all feels a bit lacking somehow.

The Lily Dam Suite (room 511) isn't as big as the pictures on the website suggest. There was just a standard clothes rail with a few hangers for storage. There were 3 TVs, but one wasn't tuned in and another didn't work at all. The balconies were grimy and dirty and felt more like you had just crawled out onto the roof. One had a drain pipe that actually fed water into the middle of the balcony. The water then just collected and eventually seeped away. Both balconies are in desperate need of painting.

The mini bar was an empty fridge with a note saying that we could buy stuff to put in it.

The bed was king size, but with two child size, thin, single duvets, and the flattest pillows I've ever seen.

In the 5 days we were there, the room was made up twice, but the complimentary Face toiletries were never replenished. It would be best to bring your own.

When we checked out, we left our bags and had a last 6 hours in Stockholm. During this time we got caught in the most torrential rain storm. We limped back to the hotel literally soaked to the skin. We found a member of staff. She looked at us and said 'Oh. You want your bags?'. With water running down our faces, we asked if we could possibly use a room to change in and dry our hair. She said no but that we could use the public toilet in the restaurant. Having spent £320 a night for 5 nights, I had hoped for a little better service.

When we finally left, the girl was still there. She looked at us but said nothing.

We won't be returning to Story. The hotel is more like a fancy hostel. There are no amenities. No gym. Extremely weak WiFi that cuts out every 20 minutes. Indifferent staff. There is no wow factor.

Room Tip: Don't get flash and fork out for the most expensive rooms. Just use it as a place to sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews