We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and fancy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    438
    123
    46
    13
See reviews for
105
513
56
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Story is perfectly-located in central Stockholm in a tony neighbourhood that is close to museums, transit and great cafes and shopping. Breakfast buffet never varies from day-to-day but is copious. Sourdough bread is to die for. (Minor quibble:bathroom that is so minimalist there's nowhere to put your stuff: if you appropriate the one tiny shelf where the staff leave shampoo, cream bottles etc., you don't get refills--but the darn bottles are so badly designed that you can't get anything to come out of them in the first place. Weird oversight in a place that otherwise is almost intimidatingly hip.) Great bar/patio scene that's popular with locals. Could vaguely hear the DJ on Friday and Saturday four floors up in our room--it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Higher is better if you are staying over a weekend--to reduce chances of hearing the DJ spinning on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

So much love for the Story Hotel! We arrived in Stockholm on a Friday night, spending the weekend at Story. It was our first time in Stockholm and could not have been happier with the location, the atmosphere, the rooms, everything!
We stayed in a bath-room, a king bed and a bath separated by a glass panel. It had lovely windows looking on to the street below, and was a very comfortable room to spend a few nights in, and take advantage of a few soaks in the tub!
The location is great, close to Östermalm T station (just 50 metres or so down the corner) and also had a 7-eleven nearby for anything you may need. We ended up walking everywhere however, even from Central station to the hotel when we arrived.
An easy 20 minutes walk to Gamla Stan, and onwards to Södermalm, there are plenty of great things to see as you're walking past. We also walked to Djurgården to visit Skansen etc.
Being in Östermalm meant a lot of the high end stores are just around the corner too.
The Story breakfast was delicious each day, and had a lovely Swedish touch. Lots of different cereals (granola and muesli) fresh juices, pastries and kanelbullar, as well as salmon, cold meats and salad.
Would highly recommend the Story hotel to anyone visiting Stockholm for a fun holiday, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgnmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Arrived early/mid afternoon and took a while to find someone to check me in - no reception desk to speak of. I had booked through work and not picked a specific room - was given a disabled access room which was lovely and spacious - and the bathroom was the same size as the bedroom!

Bed was comfy and I liked all the different lighting options.

I really wasn't in this hotel that long so can't comment on noise at night etc, but it seemed quiet enough to me.

Breakfast in the morning was a cold selection, but good quality items and a huge variety of tasty bread - way too many!

Would definitely return here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morgie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

After reading all reviews on trip advisor we decided to give this modern hotel a go and were not disappointed but I can see why people have mixed opinions. It is a modern hip hotel with decoration that you either love or hate. We though it was artistically cool and minimalistic and for our needs it was enough as we in fact only stayed one night. You get to choose the room you want exactly as their website describes the rooms thoroughly with room plans and sizes so you get what you choose. We got one of the larger sized rooms although not the more expensive ones. Although the room was on the smallish side it was ok and it did not feel crowded. The bed was large and comfortable with a door as a headboard! We liked the funky decor but it is different! There was a small table with a cool couch type chair plus a small work desk and stool. There is no closet so you hang your clothes on a rail which could be a problem for long stays. There is not a great deal of room if you have a lot of luggage. There is a safe in the room and they offer free Internet and free water, beer and coke which is a nice touch. They could also offer free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast was also free and although not very varied the quality of the food offered is very good and was more than enough for our needs.
My complaints are:
-the small bathroom which is visually appealing but not very functional-the shower stall needs more protection as water gets out, the towels are very small and not enough and there is no space to place your personal items.
-no air conditioning-we did open the window during the day and as it was not very hot outside there was no problem however this could become a problem on hotter days
-we stayed on a Saturday night so the hip bar was very busy and noisy although it did not bother us too much as we kept our window closed and we are not really light sleepers
The location is great, 2 minutes away from the subway and within walking distance to lots of restaurants, a convenient 7-eleven and even some of the tourist sites.
Will consider staying here again for a one night stay and if the rate offered is appealing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I travel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We chose Story Hotel because we enjoy the boutique hotel experience. Unfortunately we were pretty disappointed with the Story Hotel experience. The hotel is extremely pretentious, which is ok if you do the simple things right as a hotel. In other words you can be 'too cool' if you visitors leave having been looked after and feeling valued but they failed.

We stayed in the super squeeze room and whilst we obviously can't complain about the size of the room as it doesn't pretend to be big, it isn't well designed and didn't make for a comfortable place to sleep. In the top bunk there was a large gap between the bed and the wall and no railing on the other side, making it hard to 'relax' without the fear of falling off. The biggest problem with the room and the hotel more generally was the lack of natural light and fresh air. I note that even on Level 5 you can hear the bar downstairs... so be prepared for the noise everyone talks about. There are lots of other irritations which I won't list that people raise in other posts.

Our biggest gripe was the staff / service. The lady who checked us in seemed pretty inconvenienced by our presence. She didn't tell us a thing about the hotel and didn't make us feel remotely welcome. This experience was carried through out, when we asked for a map at another time we got a 'oh ok' and then handed a dodgy ad covered map. Even in lesser hotels we've stayed at the reception when you ask for a map they enquire if they can help you and give you tips on things you might be interested in. And why not get a proper reception desk instead of awkwardly hovering in the lobby?

The location of the hotel is excellent, you really couldn't be in a better spot to explore Stockholm and that made the stay enjoyable.

The breakfast was good without being anything noteworthy and there is no hot food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jokkmokk, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Trendy, artsy and beautifully designed room. A great staying experience, even though it was a bit noisy at night. Perfect location near Stureplan and Östermalmstorg. Not for everyone, I'd guess, but for me (staying one night only during a business trip) it was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreasviklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,218 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
690 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
534 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing