We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #30 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel was perfect from start to finish. The staff were very nice when welcoming me into the hotel and they got me checked in and gave me my key in 5 minutes. I went straight to my room (a standard bedroom) which was very big. Perfect bathroom with a great powerful standing shower. The bed was very comfortable, a King size. The Hotel is small and Boutique but the standard of hotel and service is great. I would defiantly come back.

Also great location to walk everywhere..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have to echo the praise of others. The Story Hotel is a lovely, artsy, modern, yet cozy hotel in a great hotel. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor and had minimal noise issues (except early one morning when the garbage truck came by and picked up the recycling bottles in the alley.) The decor is minimal and artsy. The bathroom is HUGE. Importantly, our room was very clean and we were very impressed that four bottles of bottled water was replaced daily. It was a really great touch. We walked to the nearby grocery store (go down to the T station on the corner- take the escalator down and the store is located within) and filled the mini fridge with lunch meat, cheese, breads and fruit. Between a very generous complimentary breakfast (with lots of healthy options and really delicious tea) and our makeshift lunch, we were able to keep our food expenses down quite a bit. We ate at the restaurant for dinner at the hotel one night and really enjoyed it. We weren't starving so just had a starter each. I mentioned a gluten allergy and was even brought gluten-free bread! The bar was also lovely and we enjoyed unwinding there nightly with a glass of champagne.

As for the location, it was really quite perfect, especially for the price. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted even in the cold winter temperatures. Most of all, every staff member we encountered was so kind and helpful. Nicole who helped check us in was so lovely and smiled every time she saw us. The floor manager for breakfast/lunch (I'm unsure of her name) was so helpful! She gave some off the beaten path ideas of things to do. Overall, the Story Hotel was a great value for the money. We would definitely stay here again if ever back in Stockholm.

The only thing that can be approved on is a better understanding of down feather allergies. If you're allergic to down, be aware that the pillows are down. I requested different pillows but they didn't have any. Luckily they had small children's blankets that they filled a pillowcase with. It worked fine but it's the first hotel I've ever been with that didn't have down alternative pillows/blankets to accommodate my allergy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulzyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We knew what to expect when we booked this hotel and it lived up to its expectations. Young, fresh and slightly unconventional the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast buffet generous and the bar a fun place to hang out for a night cap.
We would definitely go back again if we return to Stockholm in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Story Hotel over new year 2013/14. It is in a good location to walk to a lot of what Stockholm has to offer, friendly staff and a nice cocktail bar. Bedrooms are pretty individual, I could see how the decor wouldn't be to everyone's taste but I think it is much preferrable to the usual bland same old, same old of so many hotels today. The lift plays you a fanfare and has a little announcement when you reach your floor too. Friendly staff and a good breakfast, overall a good stay in what i could best describe a quirky place. Avoid if you like the traditional, otherwise you'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: The bar is noisy so avoid the first floor, unless you've been in the bar then you won't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The story hotel is a cosy, modern, trendy hotel. Very nice rooms, clean, and all the necessary amenities are present. Very good beds, quiet rooms. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is straight in the city center of Stockholm, near the important landmarks, and in the middle of the shopping district. The hotel staff is marvelous friendly and service oriented. They do everything for you, to satisfy your requests. If I go back to Stockholm I go back to the Story hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I don't do funky hotels but this one works. Its a cool place: crowded in the evenings with the city night crowd: but in the rooms upstairs you don't hear it. Actually the rooms are really quiet and you can't say that about too many central city hotel rooms.

They serve breakfast at weekends until noon which is also a plus and the service is very friendly (but then you're in Sweden).

The rooms maximize space: your wardrobe is a coat rack and there are few drawers to store stuff so its not for a long stay. Bathroom has a good rain shower. Bed is large and comfy.

The location is very central to the Stockholm shopping area so its great for xmas shopping. You are also about a 15 min walk to the old town: we always got a taxi in the eve to the restaurants in that area. 15 mins in minus 10 degrees is a long time!

if you like traditional hotels with a reception and the usual rooms this may not be for you; but id you fancy a change for a couple of nights I'd recommend it

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are better and on the upper floors: that said the standrard rooms are a good size a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed in a 'Standard' room on the 4th floor facing onto the street. Room was a good size, clean and with good facilities. No noise issues, as the street is a side street away from the main road. The decoration is quirky with the exposed concrete and artwork but its nice to be different rather than the same old generic interiors of the usual chains. Location is great for walking everywhere from the Vasa Museum, all the way to City Hall and everything in between. The Breakfast was fresh, tasty with plenty of variation. Overall would definitely go back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
607 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#33 of 155 in Stockholm
426 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#23 of 155 in Stockholm
385 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £94 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing