We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #24 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Funky hotel, great location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through ebookers.com which gave us a 20% promo code discount on top of a 10% hotel discount that was already being offered. Booking direct with the hotel gives you a 150 SKR voucher to use for food and drink; we were much better off taking the discount off the room (discount came to 725 SKR and we paid £300 for two nights)! Hotel is really easy to find with a T station about 200m away (take the Stureplan exit). Check in was easy, friendly and efficient and our room was ready early so we were able to check in with no hassle. We were in room 507 which is a balcony room. Size wise the room was compact; a king sized bed took up a fair amount of space but you could still comfortably move around the room, just not have a party in it! This room is described as 'medium' on the hotels website. Bathroom was a decent size with a great shower (no bath). Breakfast is included in the room rate so there's no faffing around in the restaurant with room numbers etc. which was really nice. Great buffet selection. Lots of fresh salads, fruits, yogurt, eggs, pastries, 4 different teas, coffee, breads etc. For the lovers of a 'full English' you won't find that here. Wi-Fi is available free throughout the hotel and rooms; this was great for us as it avoided huge roaming charges and let us do some research on attractions, travel etc. however the wifi itself can be a bit sketchy, dropping out completely sometimes. One downside to the room itself was that it was hot at times. There was a control in the bathroom which looked like a thermostat however we couldn't work out how to cool the room. To be fair, we also didn't ask! The hotel common areas and rooms are all quite funky with distressed concrete walls, exposed brick and art. It also has a heated 'backyard' if you fancy a drink outside.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarksboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    424
    118
    44
    12
See reviews for
95
499
53
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Story Hotel for 3 nights. We chose the hotel mainly because of the location. Getting there was easy, just one metro stop from T-Centralen and the hotel is just a few steps away from the Östermalmstorg metro exits.

The self-check-in did not work for us for some reason, but fortunately there was a helpful staff member who checked us in. You don't get a room key but instead a keycode that opens the hotel door during night, the lift and your room door. Cool idea, but the keyboards were often in dimly lit areas and placed quite low which made using them a bit uncomfortable.

Our Standard King room was on the 4th floor and facing the inner courtyard with quirky art on the walls. Most importantly, the room and the bathroom were a decent size and clean. The free, daily restocked minibar was a nice touch. The soundproofing could be better, there was a lot of noise coming from the bar and often you could recognise the song the DJ was playing, even though the bar was 3 floors down.

The breakfast was ok, with a lot of selection for a continental breakfast. After a few days, we'd preferred some more variety and cooked dishes, like bacon. The fruit juice was excellent, though. During the weekend the breakfast room was very busy with dishes running out but the staff kept restocking them after a short wait.

The self-checkout was a breeze, you just entered your keycode on the computer and that was it.

We'd book this hotel again, it seems that while all the better hotels in Stockholm are priced almost the same (meaning quite expensive), we felt like we got our money's worth at Story hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the upper floors. If you book from the hotel website, you can enter a code avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tervol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really comfy bed, late check-in, great staff but also amazing design qith quirky interiors and details. Late breakfast allows for no rush in the morning. Really good choice and quality of food. Definitely value for money. Would visit Stockholm again to stay here!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from bar downstairs, 3rd floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queen-of-speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Story for three nights at the end of April. We arrived early (approximately an hour before check in time) and although our room wasn't ready, they happily looked after our luggage. The staff were absolutely fantastic - from front of house to the cleaning staff - they couldn't be more helpful or friendly and we highly commend them.

My partner found the 'industrial chic' nature of this hotel a little hard to get used to, (I rather liked the quirkiness) although we both thought the corridors were too dark - I would recommend changing the lighting. We were part of a larger group staying here and some of the others also commented on the somewhat quirky design of the hotel! The room itself was on the slightly smaller side (we had a fifth floor room with a balcony) although it was light and the bathroom was lovely. We appreciated the free bar items in the fridge and bottled water was replaced daily. Again, my partner found the décor a little surprising (he didn't expect the stripped wallpaper and holes drilled in the wall) however the room was extremely clean and I thought it was a lovely space.

The continental breakfast was superb. A good range of fish, meats, breads, pastries, cheese and vegetables, juices etc. My partner and I thought it was far superior to continental breakfasts we have had at other European hotels - so top marks to the Story!

The reason I have given this less than 5/5 is due to the bar prices, which were in my opinion, somewhat extortionate (that said, we did find the prices were roughly comparable, or slightly higher compared to other venues around Stockholm). We did find that £8 for a beer, £9 for a glass of wine or £38 for a bottle of standard House Chardonnay very overpriced! We did explore the area for an off license, however there were none to be found that sold wine, (apparently this is par for the course in Stockholm), so we were tied to paying extortionate amounts for wine (or going teetotal!)

Overall, I liked this hotel very much - the room, the staff and the breakfast - all superb, just a very overpriced bar.

Room Tip: The bar can get very busy, buzzy (and noisy) in the evenings so if you are need of a peaceful, undis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The comfiest beds with organic bedlinen and snugly duvets perfect after a day of chilly sightseeing.
Delicious breakfast, the restaurant did first class Swedish food with friendly staff and the bar was great especially on gig nights.
It is a perfect location fro walking to all the main sights in Stockholm which we did and loved the bars and places nearby in the evening. Also we were inspired buy the decor and art work.

Only downside was the shower/ bath didn't get very hot at all !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent location. Walking distance to historic center of Stockholm/Ostermalm. No reception area, no lobby, concierge, porters as such unnecessary crowd. A nice young lady at the entrance will answer any questions you may have. Very polite, helpful, knowledgeable, always smiling. Check in check out simple, no waiting. The bar on the right may be one of the most popular bars in Stockholm. The breakfast room on the left hand side is just excellent. Sophisticated open buffet food. Rooms are bigger than standard 4* hotel anywhere in Europe. Art lover hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated and functional. We did not have a dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savasozcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved staying in this hotel. We chose it from Mr and Mrs Smith and think their recommendation was well deserved. It is in a great location, central to everything in Stockholm. The interiors are tres chic and the rooms are lovely. The bar is THE place to be seen and serves great cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere, DJ is there most nights. Breakfast is a buffet set up and the food is great catering for every style of breakfast you fancy. It runs late over the weekends to cater for late nights. The staff are really friendly and always happy to help.
Beds are super comfortable and you can even buy the duvets and pillows. Definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We opted for a deluxe room which on first appearance didn't seem overly deluxe but a had a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing