We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pro, classy and still very relax, with an original touch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pro, classy and still very relax, with an original touch.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The concepts and design are quite original and make this hotel a special one. The location is very nice. The room is very well equiped, the fridge is filled for free and the bathroom is awesome. The breakfast is served in the restaurant room, with an arty touch. Every thing is fresh, even the flowers. Foods and drinks are continuously refilled.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolatomix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    450
    126
    46
    14
See reviews for
110
522
57
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip in March 2014. The hotel was only about 6 months old at that time, so everything was still new and clean. The atmosphere at the hotel was very hip and modern. The room that I stayed in was a bit small, but that is in comparison to what I would typically see in the United States. Although the room was small ,it really did not have a small feel to it, and I was quite comfortable in it. The furnishings were very modern, the artwork on the walls was very cool, and the bathroom was beautiful. I also found the pass-code locks on the doors to be very convenient.

The food in the hotel was very good. I had breakfast each morning and dinner each night, and I did not have a bad meal while I was there. The only complaint I have is just how expensive everything was with regards to the food. It could just be that everything in Sweden is more expensive than I am used to, or that the exchange rate versus the US dollar was unfavorable. But $40+ for a burger, fries, and a beer seemed a bit too expensive.

Aside from the cost, I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was very pleasant, and they were more than willing to talk with me about the area and the Swedish customs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

In terms of quality of hotels, this is really wonderful. Great bathroom amenities, clean, super comfortable bed - and best of all, a fridge with complementary refreshments. However, keep in mind there is almost no staff on site, but this doesn't impede a great experience. So much in this place is automated.

The hotel bar is second to none, great bartenders and great drinks.

The location of the hotel is so central, you couldn't even get lost if you tried. Overall, one of the best, unique hotel experiences in Stockholm. I've got status with Radisson and Marriott, and still would stay here with no loyalty program because it's so great.

Room Tip: Don't get a music room if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It always feels good coming back to the Story hotel. The rooms are nice with an Industrial look. There is a great bar and the bar at the patio is a great place to spend a evening with friends. The breakfast is the icing on the cake. I alwayd say the Story Hotel is my second home

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a "just large" room which was a lovely size but it is looking a little worn - ie the grout in the bathroom is grubby, the chairs have stains on them etc...
The hotel is in a great location. However, the worst part was the bed. It was a base with the thinest mattress I have ever slept on. It was really more like a pillow top without the inner-sprung part of the mattress! I have had back pain ever since!!
As previous reviewers have said, it is also very noisy because of the bar.
The hotel was also very poorly staffed. For example, there were no plates at breakfast and there was nobody to ask for them. Our room was also not serviced and we had to call to ask for it to be done.
I know that Stockholm is expensive but for the price we paid, we expected a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren H, Owner at Story Hotel Riddargatan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sirs, thank you for commenting on your stay at Story Hotel Riddargatan. It's helpful and needed also to get negative comments. We shall certainly take action where possible and make sure that we walk that extra mile. Our ambition is that all guests recommends us to others. This time we failed. Thank you for letting us know.
Kind regards, Sören H. / GM /Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is very funky. The decor is very industrial. The staff are helpful. However, our room was very small, and we paid for an upgraded room. Going by other reviews I understand that they must have bigger rooms - but we didn't get one. The bed was comfy - if a bit too soft. Shower room (no bath) was minuscule. Also the room lacks anywhere to store underwear, t shirts, etc. It was a nice touch that water is provided free of charge together with some welcome drinks and a plate of sliced fruits. There is a keypad that is used to access your room with your own personal code but the corridors are so dark and gloomy it is hard to see the numbers on the pad. The room is also very noisy. When the bin men came early Monday morning they made an awful racket.
The location is perfect for sightseeing and close to the metro.
On balance I think when I return to Stockholm I'll try a different hotel with, hopefully, a bigger room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherub47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. From the warm welcome to the helpful advice, the price, location, food, music, cool decor, bar and drinks. Cecilia's cocktails were amazing. There was nothing she couldn't make.

I will be staying here again without doubt.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
705 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
318 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing