We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a wonderful hotel with character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Story Hotel Riddargatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #22 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location, a wonderful hotel with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for the two nights I was in Stockholm and must say that this a delightful hotel. It's as funky as anything but in fashioning the interior design they've managed to deliver something that is definitely individual without trying too hard and entering the territory of the ironic pastiche.

My room was brilliant in all respects and the bed just so comfortable. Breakfast too was really good. It's such a laid back hotel with none of the formality or pretence that some establishments have.

The location can't be faulted just a few minutes from Stureplan and about a 10 minute walk to Gamla Stan, the old town. Everything is in easy reach.

I will undoubtedly stay here if I do go back to Stockholm. It's a gem of a place and one I'd recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    401
    111
    43
    12
See reviews for
90
478
49
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you feel cool and trendy, this amazing hotel is the one for you. Design- the nicest I ever seen, the vibe, the service- all top class. Room is beautiful, breakfast good, free wifi works ok. Location- amazing. Close to everything. Hotel bar is among the top in Stockholm. Simply the best!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotels located right beside the ostermalm subway stop really handy the area itself is great, lots of nice restaurants and places to see. Our room was like a sauna, there's no a/c in the rooms and we barely slept during the 3 days we stayed. We opened the window but were kept awake by numerous delivery vans and trucks collecting glass bottles at 4am!! Other than that the place is great, hard to enjoy it when you're exhausted though!! There was also a dodgy short and curly hair on the bedsheets when we arrived!! Could have been better really!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElCoburnoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Story Hotel is right next to a subway stop in a great part of Stockholm. It was so easy to walk everywhere from the hotel or hop on the subway if it was further away. The "hip" aspect of this hotel could be a good or bad thing depending on your interest in hanging out at the bar downstairs. We weren't interested in the nightlife at Story, so it took away from our experience because we had to sleep with the windows opened, and there was a lot of street noise from bar goers. We had to sleep with earplugs every night, and although we were told we were first on the waiting list for a fan, we never got one in our five nights there. It was way too hot and the rooms too stuffy to not have air moving, so we had to have the windows opened. The free breakfast was great! I loved the granola that they make in-house and the fresh squeezed juice was very tasty. Overall, the hotel is cute, clean, with good service, and a good breakfast, but the rooms are very hot and stuffy, and the location can make the experience too noisy, depending on your sensitivity to that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room possible (higher floors are better). If you're traveling during the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Bed: very comfortable! Space: limited. Water: super-high water pressure and great shower. Decor: gorgeous bathroom, fun wallpaper. TV: nice big flatscreen. Location: top notch! Free breakfast: the best sourdough bread in the world (yes, better than Paris' Poilane) every morning. We rented a "Friggebod" room for 8 days. No air conditioning which shouldn't be an issue in Stockholm except we visited during a freak heat wave! The window opens very wide and while there is no screen, there are no bugs. The restaurant in the courtyard was a little noisy in the early evening but it was a nice, joyous sound and I rather enjoyed the "company".

Room Tip: Courtyard quieter than street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToasterStrudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very well presented with all the current trends - exposed plaster, vintage lifts etc. The rooms are very comfortable but with a few minor negatives: no dressing table mirror, no draws or shelves, no air con. If you're a light sleeper request to have a room over the "backyard" as opposed to the street which is very loud if you have the windows open - which was the case for us as there was no air con and 28 degrees outside.
The bar and restaurant are again very trendy. Tasty cocktails (The Brucer was excellent) but very expensive - £15 a cocktail which is a few more £'s than most places.
The location is fantastic - close to everything that you need.
Top tips for Stockholm: get yourself registered with the city bikes as soon as you get there (get a 3 day card from 7Eleven for 165kr which gives you unlimited use). Head on a day trip to the archipelago - we went to Finnhamn which was gorgeous - only one restaurant so plan your day.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper request a room over the backyard rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars but it didn't quite make it. From the moment we walked in we loved its quirky vibe. The staff were great and using the keyless code worked well. We were 3 adults and had a double room with attached sitting room with sofa bed. It was a great space, really attractively decorated with great bathrooms. However it was very HOT and when we opened the windows it was very NOISY, so I asked for a fan and was told they had run out! Now, I know it's not normal for Stockholm to have such hot weather but I think the least a good hotel, that is not air-conditiomed, can do is have a fan per room in case of such weather. I had friends that were in the city a month before us and it was hot then too, so the hotel would have been in this position before I think. Apart from this the continental breakfasts were good and substantial and the location was brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing