We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A joke”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

So after reading reviews here about the hotel being noisy on the lower floors we requested a quiet room for 8 NIGHTS.
What we got was room 215. A room not only over the music system till after midnight.... But over THE LOADING BAY. Trucks backing up early and a door that when it slams shut shakes the room.
We asked to change and so far all we got was that we would have to keep moving rooms for the rest of our stay.

Do yourself a favour and avoid this 'business hipster' hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soren H, Owner at Story Hotel Riddargatan, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Higabove,
You are absolutely right. We should have organised a smooth and smart move to a higher floor once we were informed by you. My deepest apologies. I have no answer why we did not. But I will certainly make sure that we all have learnt our lesson. Thanks to your comments. Should you ever consider giving us a 2nd chance, to prove that we are not a joke, do let me know. Sincerely and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    431
    120
    46
    13
See reviews for
101
507
55
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Story is a great little hotel. Located on the southwestern edge of Ostermalm, it is within walking distance of most of Stockholm's sights. The rooms are quite comfortable and the decor is playful. The talking elevator is pretty amusing, one of my favorite features actually. The hotel bar is also pretty good. The staff was pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely return to the Story next time I visit Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rghunter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for the two nights I was in Stockholm and must say that this a delightful hotel. It's as funky as anything but in fashioning the interior design they've managed to deliver something that is definitely individual without trying too hard and entering the territory of the ironic pastiche.

My room was brilliant in all respects and the bed just so comfortable. Breakfast too was really good. It's such a laid back hotel with none of the formality or pretence that some establishments have.

The location can't be faulted just a few minutes from Stureplan and about a 10 minute walk to Gamla Stan, the old town. Everything is in easy reach.

I will undoubtedly stay here if I do go back to Stockholm. It's a gem of a place and one I'd recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you feel cool and trendy, this amazing hotel is the one for you. Design- the nicest I ever seen, the vibe, the service- all top class. Room is beautiful, breakfast good, free wifi works ok. Location- amazing. Close to everything. Hotel bar is among the top in Stockholm. Simply the best!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotels located right beside the ostermalm subway stop really handy the area itself is great, lots of nice restaurants and places to see. Our room was like a sauna, there's no a/c in the rooms and we barely slept during the 3 days we stayed. We opened the window but were kept awake by numerous delivery vans and trucks collecting glass bottles at 4am!! Other than that the place is great, hard to enjoy it when you're exhausted though!! There was also a dodgy short and curly hair on the bedsheets when we arrived!! Could have been better really!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElCoburnoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Story Hotel is right next to a subway stop in a great part of Stockholm. It was so easy to walk everywhere from the hotel or hop on the subway if it was further away. The "hip" aspect of this hotel could be a good or bad thing depending on your interest in hanging out at the bar downstairs. We weren't interested in the nightlife at Story, so it took away from our experience because we had to sleep with the windows opened, and there was a lot of street noise from bar goers. We had to sleep with earplugs every night, and although we were told we were first on the waiting list for a fan, we never got one in our five nights there. It was way too hot and the rooms too stuffy to not have air moving, so we had to have the windows opened. The free breakfast was great! I loved the granola that they make in-house and the fresh squeezed juice was very tasty. Overall, the hotel is cute, clean, with good service, and a good breakfast, but the rooms are very hot and stuffy, and the location can make the experience too noisy, depending on your sensitivity to that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room possible (higher floors are better). If you're traveling during the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Bed: very comfortable! Space: limited. Water: super-high water pressure and great shower. Decor: gorgeous bathroom, fun wallpaper. TV: nice big flatscreen. Location: top notch! Free breakfast: the best sourdough bread in the world (yes, better than Paris' Poilane) every morning. We rented a "Friggebod" room for 8 days. No air conditioning which shouldn't be an issue in Stockholm except we visited during a freak heat wave! The window opens very wide and while there is no screen, there are no bugs. The restaurant in the courtyard was a little noisy in the early evening but it was a nice, joyous sound and I rather enjoyed the "company".

Room Tip: Courtyard quieter than street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToasterStrudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,177 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#22 of 154 in Stockholm
350 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#14 of 154 in Stockholm
672 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing