We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This hotel rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I'll admit that I thought this hotel would be a little to bohemian chic for me. I am usually one that favours the classical hotels, however, I had friends that found the Story Hotel in Wallpaper Magazine. I decided it looked cool, and I could at least give it a try. Little did we know how uber cool it would be! It's easy to find the street, but you will easily pass the hotel if you are in a car. Once you find it, you can't miss it. There are actually 3 entrances (bar, hotel, and restaurant). Each of them connect once you are inside, but it's just part of the industrial design. Once we got inside, we were all rapidly texting and calling each other saying....you have to come check out my room. All of our rooms were different, which made it even more interesting. A member of staff said that the building is actually part of an old auto repair shop, joined with an apartment building. There are 2 different elevators (modern, and the old style lift that's manual). They have a huge indoor bar, and an outside bar. You can see each of them thru clear panels in the ceiling/floor. The staff is awesome!! Very friendly , and helpful. I liked the fact that they keep it simple, since there isn't really any need for a concierge, bellhop, etc. Food is great - breakfast is included in your tab. They have different types of tea, coffee, and juice in the morning.
Yes, the rooms are small, but it's a totally different experience. Here's the thing....they make the small spaces work VERY WELL! I live in New York, and I am accustomed to small and organized. They created things in this hotel that I never would have thought about. It's been 5 days since we all left, and we can't stop talking about this place. I am for sure going back!! (I just hope they don't increase the prices too high). Overall, there's not a bad thing to be found with this hotel. It's a must!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkSouthernBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    411
    115
    44
    12
See reviews for
91
488
51
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Excellent hotel with the best location in town. Located right in the middle of where things happen. Friendly and helpful staff, great food and service in the restaurant and bar, superb rooms that didn't feel like a normal hotel room. Only minus was lack of furniture for all the cloths bought on shopping and some noise from the bars located just down the street.. But if you wanna stay where things happen in Stockholm and appreciate a fantastic hotel then Story is the place to go... .end of story...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBHRejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

The service was incredibly friendly: Although there is no reception desk and the check-in and check-out procedure are done in an automated "kiosk", the staff is always ready to help. The hotel itself is a perfect example of industrial design - the rooms are basically piece of art. Free fridge and a nice TV are also good especially due to many international programs.

The breakfast buffet is quite small in choice, compared to other hotels but the served food is delicious - home made bakery, prosciutto ham, honey with coffee - all you need for good breakfast. The only drawback is that soft boiled eggs are too soft.

Location is ok, 15 minutes walking from the central station and a good starting point for walks around Stockholm. There are few pubs and restaurants nearby where one can get some meal (e.g. Friday's). The hotel itself has a bar.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We got a really good price for this hotel so were amazed to get there and find it to be very nice indeed. Great location, friendly staff, classy decor, huge bed. The bar downstairs was very nice and the breakfast excellent. Highly recommened by me.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

Two couples in to Stockholm for the marathon weekend, we reserved the Lily Dam Suite for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted graciously at the front door and within minutes of, getting to our room, staff was there to turn the sofa in the living space into the bed. There was plenty of space and privacy for both couples - a balcony off of each room and 2 bathrooms (although only one with shower facilities...the other couple was my sister & husband, so no problems sharing space!). Loved the Kiehls products in the bathrooms, along with big, fluffy towels and robe. It was great to have the empty fridge that we could stock ourselves.

My husband an I have been living in Europe for a year, and the Story Hotel is - hands down - my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. It was clean and had a great, eclectic feel to it. When my brother in law and I woke up early and wanted to let the runners sleep, we grabbed the laptop and headed to the restaurant where we were given a hot cup of coffee (in a big cool mug) to go with our free wifi. Staff, all around, was attentive but not annoying.

The location of the Story is unbeatable. The best. Great shopping, half block from the T-bana, walk to all the major sights in the city. Worth paying a bit more to be in that spot, but we didn't feel like we were paying more! Breakfast was included in our booking, not sure if I would have paid for it otherwise. It was fine, but nothing special.

Drinks in the bar were great, excellent people watching! The only minor issue is that we did struggle to get wifi in our room. The staff worked hard to get us "wired" and it eventually worked. Likely a room location issue as much as anything.

I can't speak to the other rooms in the hotel, but the Lily Dam was top rate, along with all the public spaces. If you're thinking of staying here, my advice is to DO IT!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

When we were looking for accommodation in Stockholm, we noticed that most hotels were a bit pricey, if you wanted something comfortable. Then I came across this hotel: Story Hotel, checked their trendy website, and tried to find some reviews, but couldn't find them, because this hotel is new! Based upon the good price and their website, booked it and it turned out to be a good choice! The hotel is well-located, actually in the shopping district Ostermalm, you can get to all hot-spots on foot or by public transport easily, try e.g. the 'fika' at Sturekatten right next door. We booked the smallest room and therefore cheapest room they had, #412, and it was a wonderful bright room, trendy design, comfy beds and a very spacious, clean bathroom, big window, great shower and loved the Chinese sink! Also the luxury toiletries by Kiehl's were a plus. Liked the old-fashioned and probably original elevators. Liked the carpet in the hallway, the contemporary design on the walls. Breakfast was good, fresh products, nice 'muggen'. There was also a bar and a restaurant, always packed at night! Personnel was very nice, ready to assist. Pity the hotel didn't have a spa/sauna, so we ended up at Central Badet, steamy (and local) fun for a few hours. Loved Stockholm, its people and this hotel, I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudnr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing