We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and modern, but without some normal hotel features.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Story Hotel Riddargatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #22 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Funky and modern, but without some normal hotel features.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

Very cool place, funky design and excellent location, but the rooms are very small and you do get a bit confused entering the 'lobby' as it doesnt really exist, its a thoroughfare for restaurant goers, bar goers on the weekend and the lift to the rooms is a bit confusing too but quite amusing when you get to your floor- will leave that as a surprise.

The people helping you in reception (if there's someone there) have excellent English and have a good attitude towards helping. Rooms were clean but they don't replace dirty towels if you don't put them on the floor (usually there's a little sign indicating this) and don't replace the shampoo.

No minibar- you order from downstairs.

The restaurant was jam-packed on weekends, definitely book if you want to eat there, but desolate on weekdays. The atmosphere on weekends is good but if you're not there for the atmosphere its expensive for what you get.

Breakfast food was pretty good, finishes bang on time and the breakfast service isn't particularly friendly.

I stayed again there for a night a week later because of the convenient location and the cheap single room called 'super squeeze' which was comfy enough for its purpose.

you dont get keys, you get a code to get into your room which i loved, nothing additional to carry!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    401
    111
    43
    12
See reviews for
90
478
49
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

An interesting place to stay, and very different from the usual city centre hotel experience. Wet room style bathroom very nice. Bed extremely comfortable. Decor in the room very different - refreshingly so. Liked the use of an old door as the bed headboard. Staff in the hotel/bar/restaurant very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well-located, being almost next door to a T station (one stop from Central Station). Four small gripes - the room was really very small; there are no amenities such as ironing boards; there is a problem with music noise from the bar and restaurant area (ask for a room on a higher floor), and the breakfast was a bit boring (very little fruit, no fish etc). But i don't think these shortcomings would put me off staying here again, Overall, the relaxed (but helpful) feel of the place very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

This review is for the restaurant only. We were recommended Story after having a great night at Riche down the street. The ambiance of the basement area with concrete and wood finishes was great and immediately inviting and the background music very hip and artwork as well.

The food was simply some of the best we had during our stay in Stockholm. The waiter suggested ordering tapas style and we were glad we did. We ordered the asparagus dish, the seared tuna, the rack of lamb, and the pork shank and it was perfect for two people. The presentation was suburb and the tastes and flavors so imaginative and excecuted. The portions were well timed and the waiter could not have been more helpful.

A great scene and the bar next door was a great stop after as well.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonnieLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Story Hotel has an excellent grungy interior design. It is totally different than the normal hotel chains and that is why I liked it so much. Location is perfect, only a few meters away fro the best shopping streets, bars and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is very good, but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

We stayed here for two nights. While wouldn't exactly tell people not to go, we would not stay at this hotel again. Here's a summary of our stay.

The hotel, including the rooms, is decorated in a quirky manner. We weren't fond of the eccentric artwork in our room, but it was in keeping with the tone of the hotel and wasn't a problem per se. The location left nothing to be desired and the few staff there were were friendly.

Our room was spacious and very clean. There was a otherwise empty minibar with two complimentary bottles of water and you are encouraged to fill the minibar with whatever you like (it can also be filled for you at your request). We have stayed at many upscale hotels and have never seen something like this. A very nice touch indeed. The bathroom had Kiehl's toiletries, which was also a positive first for us.

Here is why we would not choose this hotel again. We had a room on the second floor facing the street and there was extremely loud construction work going on close by through pretty much all of the day and night. This was not the hotel's fault, though. What was the hotel's fault, however, was the music from the hotel's bar. It was incredibly loud and lasted until the wee hours of morning. It seems the trendy bar runs at the expence of hotel guests' comfort, which is beyond inconsiderate. When what you're essentially paying for is a good night's sleep at a quality hotel, something like this is unforgivable.

The hotel breakfast consisted of bread with some toppings, boiled eggs, and some fruit (plus tea, coffee and juices). Everything was tasty and fresh, but we'd advise you against paying extra for this.

Again, we would not risk our sleep again, but if you enjoy a young, hip atmosphere and make sure your room is on a high floor facing the yard, you might quite like this place.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GildedTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

[This review is just for the restaurant]

My wife and I had the best food so far on our Scandinavian tour. This restaurant serves tapas-style servings, so be prepared to order 5-6 plates for two people.

We started with a luscious mushroom soup, full and rich. Then the sugar-cured trout melts in your mouth. A goat-cheese watermelon salad, sprinkled with fresh mint...wonderful. This was followed by a single, huge scallop, done to perfection, floating in a tasty cream froth. A small-but-good zucchini salad finished us off.

With 2 glasses of wine, this came to SEK 700, which is just fine with me for superb food in a downtown location.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PatBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

It has already made its mark on the city's bar/restaurant scene, (the owners are former nightclub entrepreneurs), and it's located less than a martini glass throw from the epicenter of the Stockholm nightlife.
More importantly, it's a pleasant hotel experience. Rooms are surprisingly large and comes with a less hefty pricetag. Read/see more about it here: http://www.guidebook.se/?p=579

:: h ::

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guidebook_dot_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#19 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing