We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel restaurant”
Review of Eken

Eken
Reserve with
Eken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #363 of 3,082 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: US$14 - US$39
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Slussen
Description: Eken restaurant in Stockholm is an international restaurant with a focus on Scandinavian cuisine. The kitchen cooks with seasonal ingredients of excellent quality. This restaurant is housed in the Hilton Stockholm Slussen on Södermalm. Comfortable design meets stunning views of Mälaren and the Old Town. The kitchen always works primarily with Swedish produce and locally-caught fish during the season, all are 100% free of genetically modified ingredients. Eken is a great venue for those who appreciate a good atmosphere and want to relax with a beer, a glass of wine or an exciting cocktail.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed many nights in Feb and ate in the restaurant a couple of times. Had the beef and duck both cooked well to my taste. Beef especially was sweet and tasty. Service very good too. Had one pudding which was of a similar standard. Overall a good meal in a hotel restaurant which is to always the case.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bancroftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    66
    21
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really good service”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

With my wife we´ve just finished half marathon and were not able to eat just any meal. I mean, the stomach is still a bit sensitive after the effort. After looking at the menu we told the waitress our wishes, most of which we could not find on the list. She said no problem, we can do this for you. It was nothing complicated, yet it is rare to get at the hotel restaurant exactly the meal you want. The service was perfect, the waitress positive and interested "Is this what you had in mind?" and we spent a lovely relaxing evening there. And the food was good. Compliments!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice place near the river”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great view, good location, tasty food, friendly stuff. We stayed in Hilton hotel which is just a few steps away and had breakfast and dinner in Eken a couple of times. It is very well located between Sodermalm and Gamla stan, just near the river. If you sit outside for dinner be ready for a slow service. The traditional Swedish dish - meatballs with mashed potato was the best of those we tried during our stay. And try the coctails - I heard that the barmen won some prizes with them - they are really something.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tttte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great quality for a hilton hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

after a long day we didn't want to walk or cab again so it was lovely to have this restaurant in our hotel . Sat in the window and the service was excellent . Recommend the goat cheese starter , the salmon 4 ways and the grilled salmon with baby vegetables. All very simple and fresh , lovely to have fish that is just allowed to express its self without a fancy over powering sauce . we ate again on the sunday night and were not quite so excited ; I think maybe the more average hotel fare ; cesar salad and grilled chicken were more dull . \\\the bar outside is very buzzy and great to people watch , plus there is a great cocktail menu . Nothing is cheap here , but then Stockholm isn't cheap .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great dinner spot in Hilton Slussen”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Had a great dinner this very modern space in the Hilton. They have wonderful local cuisine. On my first night here, I had to have the Swedish meatballs, and I was not disappointed. The meatballs were very light and came with a very light sauce. The meatballs were accompanied with very light whipped potatoes and ligonberries. The dinner was perfect. My husband got a salmon dish on the appetizer menu, but he requested a entree portion that came with small white potatoes. There were four different preparations of salmon on this perfectly prepared dish. The meatballs were more than I could eat, so he was able to almost finish the very generous portions of meatballs on my plate. We picked out a bottle of a very nice white wine that was similar to a Pinot Gris. Of course, being in Stockholm, I had to finish with a single chocolate truffle. This is the perfect restaurant for your first night in Stockholm after a long overseas flight. The view from this restaurant has to be the best in town since it looks directly over the bridge to the Gamla Stan. We were here on Midsummer's Eve which is a very special time of year in Sweden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneHopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eken also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Eken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing