We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the City”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the City”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Oh, if the walls could talk!

This is a gem of a hotel that has been converted from military barracks with charm and style. Avoid the cookie-cutter Hilton & Sheraton experience and stay surrounded by a little piece of Swedish history. There is nothing better than being in this refuge on a dark, blustery winter day in Stockholm.

I was welcomed with warm smiles by reception staff who offered to help when I explained the airline had lost my bag and I was, therefore, travelling very light. They carefully recommended nearby shops for necessities and diligently called the airline every day until the bag was located and delivered to my room.

My top floor room had a wonderful view of the water. Although a bit small because the dormer limited the ceiling height (remember, these are converted military quarters), the space was spotless. Bathroom was compact but functional. The flat stone in the sink is ingenious (and very cool!) The free wireless internet connection had a strong and reliable signal.

Three things about the HS are memorable and worthy of my recommendation:

1. Quiet Location
It's an easy stroll from the city center. The tranquility of the island is a huge draw. The #65 bus departs just outside Central Terminal every 20 minutes, weekdays. Get off at the last stop, which is at the entrance to the hotel. You must buy your ticket before boarding (strips of tickets are available at any Pressbyrån convenience store.) But if you have no luggage - walk.

2. Breakfast
All you could want. Great variety. Outstanding quality buffet-style hot and cold dishes - replenished frequently. Plenty of seating. Tables were cleared promptly by smiling staff. Complimentary English and Swedish newspapers make you want to linger over a second cup of coffee.

3. Staff
Reception staff were charming. Genuine smiles. Real caring attitude.

If you want a great "un-hotel" experience, then you'll love the Skeppsholmen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegasusMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much taking the time to write this wonderful review!
So glad to read you had a nice stay in Stockholm and with us! Yes we have a wonderful quiet location and at the same time we are in the city centre, glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
Extra glad to read your kind words about my team! Be assure I will inform them!

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best and Merry Christmas!
Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    309
    67
    13
    9
See reviews for
203
669
70
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful location. It is within walking distance of downtown but it feels quiet and secluded because it is on a small island (connected by bridge) with lots of trees. The service was friendly but not obtrusive. The breakfasts were excellent, as was dinner. The bathroom was a little too form over function: The glass partition for the shower was not long enough so water ended up all over the bathroom whenever one of us took a shower. But that's a minor quibble. All in all, we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskatravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.
Yes we are very fortunate that the government allowed us to open this hotel in these historical buildings and on this stunning Island in the city centre!
Yes the bathrooms are stylish but we have to work on the function. Glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and great to hear you also had dinner in our restaurant Långa Raden.

Best and I wish you a Merry Christmas!
Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel opened about two years ago, and until some six months ago I would have given it 5/5. It´s a wonderful design hotel, in a fantastic location, food and service used to be great. Now, it seems, some basic things have been forgotten: the staff is not very friendly, but grumpy, and you get the feeling to be bothering them. Food in the restaurant is only average, and the breakfast, which used to have ample choice, is below what you expect from a hotel of this class, both in terms of price and rating. There are better alternatives for the money in Stockholm!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time to write this review!
I am glad to hear you have been staying with us a couple of times.
I am really concerned about your last experience and that you felt that my team was not friendly.
We have as you say a fantastic location and a wonderful design in these historical buildings but what we really want to be best at is our service level and I am truly sorry we failed during your last visit.
Sorry to hear you felt our food is only average and same with the complimentary breakfast. We normally get amazing nice feedback about our kitchen so I hope you want to try us again and then please mail me on joachim@hotelskeppsholmen.se and I will personally book you in.

Best from Stockholm,
Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I would like to say thanks for all of your guys, gave us very great services & helpful when we stay in hotel during 1-7 July, 2011.
This is our first time to visit at Stockholm, it's a so beautiful city. And we had very great time in Stockholm.

Especially when we stay in hotelskeppsholmen, From reception, house keeping and waiter(and waiteress), all of them gave us very very good services & memory. The taste of food in hotel's restaurant is so delicious (The meat ball is my favorite)

Specifically thanks for one waitress , She have a very great smile (just like a sunshine, when u see her smile, u'll feel it;s so warm), pretty and so patient for waiting our order ^_^. .

We'll decide visit Stockholm again and also stay in hotel skeppsholmen again!

Room Tip: All the room are so good~~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.
So glad to read you had a nice stay in Stockholm and our hotel.
Be assure I will inform my team about your kind words about them!
I agree, our meatballs are tasty!
Best and I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almhult, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you go around christmas and it is snowing this destination is like a fairytale. Located on Skeppsholmen Island, you are away from the hustle and bustle enough for it to be romantic but so close, just a walk over the bridge to the centre of Stockholm for shopping, bars, museums etc. On the island there is the museum of modern art a few minutes walk from the hotel and some beautiful architecture and if you don't want to walk over the bridge you can take a boat to the city centre from the island. But, the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast. The most hedonistic breakfast I have ever had, a beautiful array of homemade breads, crispy bacon, eggs, different teas, homemade juices....and you can keep going for as much as you would like, surrounded by powdery snow, fairy lights and candles and a good selection of magazines and books. The only downfall is the dinner, extremely expensive, best to go out and eat. We got the hotel price as part of a deal, so better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmatait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great location on Skepsholmen island, made our stay feel like a real holiday. Very quiet and pretty spot, about 15 minutes walk to the city centre. Excellent service and very comfy beds. Decor edgy though not always practical. Best breakfasts ever, by candlelight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.
I and my team are glad we made your stay like a real holiday! We are very proud over our breakfast and it’s always nice with candles on the table at breakfast now when Stockholm is going in to a darker season.

Best,
Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This hotel was the last stop on our recent honeymoon and was ideal for a relaxing stay before returning to normal life. The hotel was wonderful and the food delicious, breakfast in particular was brilliant; I don't think I've started the day that well in a long time! The staff were so helpful and were obviously old hands at coping with people whose Swedish is sadly lacking, although we did try!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.
Glad to hear we were a stop on your honeymoon and I am pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us. Please be assure I will inform my team about your comments about them.

Best and next time you will visit us I will personally learn you some Swedish!
Joachim Olausson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,590 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
520 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
1,984 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing