We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's sleep, great room and excellent breakfast”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great night's sleep, great room and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Loved this hotel from the moment I got there. A fantastic location, extremely quiet but close to the very centre of Stockholm. The first thing I liked was the friendly welcome I received. The loft type room I had was very stylishly furnished but very welcoming. After a full day and evening of meetings I enjoyed a fantastic night's sleep - one of my key indicators of a decent hotel. The shower was excellent - also a big plus.
The breakfast room was very relaxed and full of Swedish style. I was able to enjoy a good breakfast meeting there in comfort with good coffee and choice of food before leaving for the airport. I know where I'll stay net time I'm in Stockholm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back next time you visit Stockholm.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    306
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
202
653
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had trouble getting a hotel for our 5 night stay and finally were successful with the Skeppsholmen. it has a great location being quiet, but still walking distance to the city centre, and historic associations as it had been a Marine Barracks. The first downside was the walk to our room with 2 large cases and 2 small carry on cases; our room was in the second building requiring a reasonable walk, up and down steps and across a short path, but no assistance was offered. We then asked for a table in the restaurant for dinner, but this was not available except at 6.00pm, not really what is needed on a relaxed holiday. Eventually, we never did have dinner there as it seemed to be full with functions and, possibly, non-residents.We finished going to the Hotel Lydmar for dinner, which was recommended by a young member of staff who wasn't around at our arrival, and it was fine.

The next disappointment was the room, clearly meant to be cutting edge design and certainly big enough for our stay. However, like the review of KabulGirl, the design consultants hadn't really considered the practicality of the design, particularly of the ensuite bathroom. Still fresh air, as there wasn't airconditioning, was a plus. Breakfast suited us, but it was chaotic as the food was set out on a bench and tables, that were so close to each other that it was difficult to get around them if other people were there.

Overall, I find it difficult to see how it gets to be number 2 in Stockholm (it was number 1 in June).

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are great for the view and I suggest the building closer to the city m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Your feedback is important to us.

As glad I am that you enjoyed our stunning location I am concerned that we didn't live up to your expectations.
We always ask if we can help with luggage and I am sorry that we failed to ask you, be assure I will speak to my team about this.
We are lucky to have a popular restaurant both for hotel guests and for local Stockholmers, I am sorry we couldn't accommodate your request the first evening.

It has has been a challenge to convert these historical buildings from 1699 to a modern Eco Labeled hotel, we know we are not the most practical hotel, some due to our listed buildings and some due to our Swedish interior design but we hope our amazing history and that we are the first hotel in Sweden to be Eco Labeled / Green Hotel from start makes up for this.
We are one of the few hotels in Stockholm that have air condition, I am sorry you missed this.

Glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet, the concept is " going in to our kitchen "

Once again I am sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations, if you will visit our capital again I hope you will give us another chance and then please mail me personally and I will take care of your reservation.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Joachim@hotelskeppsholmen.se
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was going to book the Rival Hotel but it was booked up and ended up booking Hotel Skeppsholmen, I'm very glad it happened that way, it was perfect. The hotel is located in a little peaceful island in the middle of Stockholm, we were very lucky with the sunny but cold crisp Autumn weather - the island looked beautiful.

There are only two reasons why I'm not giving it 5 stars. First, the standard rooms are very small (no bath) but it's a historical building so I guess it wasn't all up to the architects. Secondly, we got there at night and it can be confusing at first to be able to find your room - it would had been nice if someone had helped us with our bags and showed us the way.

We had dinner at the hotels restaurant and it was a great surprise - very cosy, great service and delicious food.

The modern art museum nearby is an interesting building and we really enjoyed the exhibitions (a stay at the hotel comes with free entrance tickets). The cake and coffee at the museum's cafe is recommended too.

Room Tip: Might be worth it booking one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review and what a nice one to receive.

My team and I are very glad that you choose us for your Stockholm stay and glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We are very proud over our Head Chef Magnus Johansson so I am very pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant Långa Raden.

It's correct it has been a challenge to convert these historical buildings from 1699 to a hotel and our standard rooms doesn't have bath tubs but some of our larger room categories like Superior XL or our Deluxe Sea and Garden rooms have bath tubs.

We normally offers help with the luggage, I am sorry we failed this time, be assure I will talk to my team about this.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Skeppsholmen island is one of the best place to be in Stockholm, especially for couples. We stayed 5 wonderfull days here. You can take the boat just near the hotel to go in the old town (Slussen) or visit museums on Djurgarden island. You have also a bus (65) which deserve the city center every 15 min. The hotel is very clean and design, the staff is helpfull and the breakfast is very diversified.
Negative points : the room service which has nothing else than meatballs and shrimp sandwichs. The design elements aren't really pratictable and easy to use : sink in the bathroom, quilt in the chamber (tiny for two people), light above the bed... But except that, no doubt the place is one of the nicest in Stockholm.

Helpful?
Thank Jb G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our stunning location and I agree! it is very charming to be able to take the ferry to the Old Town and Djurgården were the amazing Vasa Museum is situated for example.
Also glad to read you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast to the service from my team.

We are located in historical buildings from 1699 so to convert these listed buildings in to a hotel has been a challenge and we know we are not the most practical hotel design wise but hope our amazing history together with our Swedish interior makes up for this.

Once again very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about this hotel- it felt like a beautiful country house but in the harbour and on the city doorstep. We arrived exhausted after our 30 hour flight from Australia and this was heaven . Our beautiful contemporary room so well described by others - flooded with sunlight, white, spacious - the fresh air- the lovely walk through the garden to the most inviting breakfast room where we lingered for ages eating delicious bread and so much more. We walked around the island at sunrise, played tennis , napped, caught the ferry, visited the old city, felt restored and in love with Stockholm. Our 14 year old son loved it just as much. To say 'Highly recommended ' is an understatement. We stayed for three unforgettable days in late September.
RPM

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staerky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

My team and I are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very lucky to situated on this lush green island but still in the city centre.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Scandinavia and Sweden.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Hotel Skeppsholmen lived up to all the reviews on tripadvisor!! Pure bliss. It is situated on a small island connected by bridge to the 'mainland' of Stockholm City. Everything we wanted to see was in in walking distance and what beautiful scenery for walking. Also on the Island is the Museum of Modern amongst things to see.

We booked a deluxe room with sea and garden view - perfect. We stayed in the 2nd building on the 2nd floor with views across to the Stockholm Old Town. The hotel are former marine barracks designed by the same Architect who did the Royal Palace. The hotel has been renovated beautifully. The room had wooden floors with under floor heating, and the bathroom all tiled also under floor heating. Our room had three gorgeous sets of picture windows (with shutters) that can all be opened - a rare luxury to have this and have fresh air. And beautiful direct sunlight.

The breakfast suited me perfectly as I love bread and boy can the Hotel make amazing fresh breads. Sadly the breakfast wasn't really to the other half's liking - he's a poached egg man and it wasn't available.

Our bathroom had a great rain shower and the bathroom sink very feng shui with a large 'pebble' over the plug hole.

If you want the best of both worlds - peace and quiet for relaxing and sleeping AND only a stone's throw away from the bars, and restaurnts - then you MUST stay at Hotel Skeppsholmen!!!

Room Tip: If you are booking a deluxe room with sea and garden view then make sure you stay in the 2nd buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KabulGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's correct that our historical buildings from 1699 have the same architect who did the Royal Palace. At this time Sweden and Europe was going through tough times so the architect Mr. Tessin the younger one got permission from King Karl XII to take material from official buildings that was in a bad condition to build our buildings, so as proud we are that we were the first Eco labeled / Green hotel from start in Sweden when we opened 2009 we are also proud over the fact that the our listed and historical buildings was build by used material from year 1699.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Quiet, friendly staff, and superb location. Good restaurant in a very cosy atmosphere. Personal welcome note of managing director. Only the sink in the bathroom...Did not work it out yet. Will come again and will recommend my colleagues. Tak!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Also very pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant Långa Raden.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing