We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing modern hotel!”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel has it all... the first item to note is the modern decor which is easily viewed from their website. Most websites make their hotel look more appealing than they are in reality, but this one is true to form! The modern design made us feel like we were in a Swedish design magazine. The bed was large and super soft (a luxury not always afforded in Europe). The staff was attentive and willing to assist in any way.
The restaurant served decent food for dinner (I say decent only because I don't have much of a Scandinavian palate). The prices were high, but that's expected in Stockholm in general. The breakfast was vast and presented in a royal like fashion.
Our only complaint was that the public bus stops coming to this island after 1830 or so and with other plans in mind for how our money was spent we did not care to use taxis. This made us decide to stay on the island that night, which turned out to be a beautiful evening of watching the ships in the water!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water, the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

My team and I are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad that you enjoyed our Scandinavian interior by award winning Swedish architect firm Claesson Koivisto Rune.

I agree! Our complimentary breakfast is a keeper!

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit our capital,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Hotel Skeppsholmen is just what we needed following our transit from the US. Its location is a short walk to the main tourist areas, but an alternative ferry stop is also available very near the hotel. Most important for us was the quiet environment and fresh air that accompanies this island in the middle of the harbor. Rooms were a bit small (we booked Superior XL) but comfortable, and because of the construction the rooms were quiet. BTW -- the restaurant is excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Be sure to book a dinner reservation early (even earlier than you think) because it is quite popular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Very pleased to read that you enjoyed our stunning location on this quiet island but still in the city centre.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our Restaurant Långa Raden, we are very proud over our Head Chef Magnus Johansson and our Swedish kitchen.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Stockholm.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel Skeppsholmen. Personnel friendly and helpful. Very nice room and super comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet is great with lots of choice and excellent bread. Location is nice and not too far from city center with easy access by bus 65. Only negative point, gym is tiny and no spa/sauna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiaPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.

My team and I are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I have been to Skeppsholmen several times, and keep coming back. The location is excellent, right in the centre of Stockholm and near a ferry stop. The rooms are quite nice in a very Swedish way. But the highlight has to be the great breakfast they put on every day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJMaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you have been staying with us several times.

I agree! Our complimentary breakfast is a keeper.

My team and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - wonderful place to linger over generous candle-lit breakfasts on dark December mornings. Even in the cold, we enjoyed the walk out here from the train station, but realize many would not. The room furnishings were stylish but a bit odd, including the sink that had no basin, only a type of splash stone -but we enjoyed the innovative eccentricity. Would have loved to bring the other minimalist bathroom fixtures home with us. The hotel building and entire island are steeped in centuries of colorful naval history, and many important tourist sites are only a short ferry ride away, or a somewhat longer but scenic walk. As some commented, the hotel can host parties with a deeply permeating Euro-pop beat, though this mercifully stopped at an early enough hour.

Room Tip: Water view preferable (south side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
My team and I are very glad to read that you had a nice stay with us.

Glad that you enjoyed our award winning interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune which is very Swedish / Scandinavian, I agree our famous basins are a conversation piece...

We are very lucky to be located on this calm island but still in the city centre with all the attractions within walking distance.

Regarding you comments about parties, I think you mean some of the traditional Christmas tables we have in December, other then these we are very lucky to be a very quite hotel due to our amazing location.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Skeppsholmen after a beautiful cruise of the Norwegian Fjords and the Baltic Sea back in June.

This hotel proved to be the perfect choice for our stay.

We had wanted to find a place which was charming and quiet,a little secluded, yet still within easy access to all of the places we wanted to visit, and this definitely ticked all of those boxes.

Set in beautiful garden surrounds on Skeppsholmen island, the hotel offers extremely comfortable, large rooms, stylishly decorated and spotlessly clean.

Several pretty windows ensured the room was bright and sunny and afforded views over the terrace and water. Just lovely.

Breakfast every day was delightful and could be taken indoors or out in the garden terrace. We also had dinner at the Restaurant twice and were impressed with both the menu and the service.

Exploring the city from this base was a breeze. The Hotel has access via foot or car over the bridge, or you could take one of the regular ferries. We walked from here to all of the tourist spots we wished to visit, very easily, each day. We also took several walks around the island enjoying its tranquillity and an evening walk back across the bridge after dinner in Gamla Stan - very pleasant.

This was our first trip to Stockholm and we loved the city very much. Our fond memories definitely include our stay at the Hotel Skeppsholmen.

Would love to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Sea and Garden Room and it was a good size with lovely windows onto the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oz_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

My team and I very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to be located on this calm island but still in the city centre and it is very special to be able to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner on our terrace and garden during spring and summer.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled Hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I can only second the highest marks given by the others. The place is quiet and beautiful, but still within a very short walk or a ferry ride from all the central Stockholm attractions. The island is ideal for lazy wandering around and taking pics. The rooms are smallish, designed in cold Scandinavian style. In the bathroom there is couple of comprimises between style and convenience, e.g. their famous sink with a stone will splash you and everything around so be aware. As many noted, the breakfast is easily one of the best you'd expect from a hotel, everything is so fresh and tasty. We were the first to come this year for their yearly Cristmas buffet and received a 15 minutes welcome guide from their chef on every dish, and there were many. Overall, very good place to relax and still remain close to everything you need to see on a short trip to the city.

p.s. when choosing a taxi from or to the airport make sure to pay attention to price sticker on the side window. The price is fixed for a particular company and the diffence can be as high as 40-50% for the same class car. From the airport it set us back something like 635 crowns and for the return trip we took a yellow car at 420 crowns. Yellows seem to be the cheapest among the big companies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkhachaturov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review.

My team and I are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and very glad that you had our famous Christmas Table in our Restaurant Långa Raden.

We are very lucky to be situated on this peaceful island but still in the city centre.

Best from a snowy Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,713 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
615 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,175 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £149 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing