We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skeppsholmen Hotel : the perfect place in Stockholm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skeppsholmen Hotel : the perfect place in Stockholm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was at the Skeppsholmen (located on the island of the same name) for 4 nights just a few days ago. If your looking for peace, quitness, cleanliness and a utterly professional staff, look no further! My experience there was amazing. Surroundings I can't begin to describe; nice and comfortable room (Scandinavian minimalist yet fonctionnal style); delicious all you can eat breakfasts (exquisite smoked salmon!!); located within a 2 min. walk from the Museet of Modern Art and within 10 minutes by car from the Central Station, this hotel was a true heaven every time I was back from a long day walk in the City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our stunning location, our Scandinavian interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune to our complimentary breakfast buffet.

Extra glad to read your kind words about my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    305
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
201
650
69
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staying at the Skeppsholmen is like taking a trip to your gramas country house. You will be welcomed with love, fed with the best food and sleep with ease. While minutes from the city center, the hotel is nestled in the middle of nature paradise. Even after a day of meetings, you can relax and feel at home here. The best part of my experience is the staff and the hotels Managing Director, Joachim. They are exceptionally warm consistent and will go out of their way to get you whatever you may need...(at whatever hour). Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree! We are very lucky to be situated on this green island and still in the city centre.

Extra glad to read your comments about our service and my team, be assure I will inform them.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent all round hotel at a good price. The sinks are a little weird/impractical in the bathroom, but generally speaking, a good choice in Stockholm. Great quality bed. Close to nearby museum and lots of nearby restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to amazing museums like the Modern Museum and the Vasa among others just around the corner.

I agree! Our famous sinks are stylish for the eye but not the most practical...

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We love this delightful hotel, 8 minutes walking from the center. Staff is friendly and very helpful and can be asked for great tips in the area. The building is gorgeous and completely modernized.
The bed is a bit small for two (140 cm). Dinner here is highly recommendable, requests for smaller portions or items not on the menu were not a problem.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our historical buildings from 1699, the service from my team and our Restaurant Långa Raden.

Our smallest room category have 1.40 bed and the middle and higher room category's have regular queen and king sizes beds.

My team and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Stockholm,

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel this is. Situated in an old naval barracks this hotel has been beautifully created from an historic past. We had a spacious room to share with two small children who had a whale of a time - though this could be something to do with the permanent bowl of boiled sweets at reception! Staff were delightful and went out of their way to help. Whilst our children were made to feel very welcome there is little specifically for kids on the menus and the overall ambience is that it is a hotel for grown ups. Having said that the ferry crossing makes Junibacken , Vasa and Skansen very amenable and I would have no hesitation bringing them back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Escoces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

Very glad to read you enjoyed our historical buildings from 1699, our location with amazing attractions just round the corner.
Extra glad to read your comments about my team, be assure I will inform them.

Everything on our menu can be order as half portions to kids, but your comments has been taken and we will certainly look in it and have some more "kids" friendly dishes on the menu.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon again.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was my second time staying at this place. I recently stayed there with my wife and this time I travelled alone. The front desk was very helpful and the Meatballs meal was amazing. Very full breakfast which is a plus for me as I travel a lot. Room was great as it was last time. Clean and comfy. Overall, I think this is a great place for family or solo. You feel very intimate there and honestly, a friendly staff is always what makes me want to return. Anyone who is looking for a home away from home, should definitely stay at Skeppsholmen Hotell.

Room Tip: Easy fairy access to town. Also a brief walk into town center. Go for a nice brisk walk around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shai d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
My team and I are very pleased to read that this was your second stay with us.

Very glad that you enjoyed our famous meatballs and if you are coming back during spring and summer you will enjoy our complimentary breakfast on our terrace with great sea and garden views.

Best and we are looking forward to welcome you back for a third visit soon again.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a lovely stay at Skeppsoholmen - breakfast was great, the room was nice and in general the service was very friendly and helpful. However, the reason I'm writing this review was our initial welcome at the Hotel. On arrival, we were told that as we were staying 3 days, we would find our "Standard room" very cramped. Not the nicest of starts - way to make you feel bad about what you could afford to pay at a nice hotel.

We were asked if we'd like to pay for an upgrade, which we turned down, as we had already stretched our budget to stay. We were then booked in, and the receptionist said that we had been upgraded anyway - all redeemed at this point!

The element that irked was when we then turned up to our room - which had a personal welcome card. Very nice. Except for the fact that we'd just been "upgraded". I would have been furious if we had in fact paid, as it was clear we were being asked to pay for an upgrade that we were going to be given regardless...

If you're going to play these games, at least be less obvious about it - or else you leave a slightly bitter taste to an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from the room, our complimentary breakfast to the service from my team.

If have have larger rooms available we offer guests sometimes free upgrades and sometimes we ask if the our guests
want to pay for an upgrade, all depends
how fully booked the hotel are, what kind of rooms the guests has booked, how many nights they are staying etc.

In your case we had the pleasure to offer a complimentary upgrade to a higher room category, the upgrade my colleague asked you about was to a Deluxe Sea and Garden room, I am sorry if it wasn't clear.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing