We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base to explore Stockholm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore Stockholm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The experience starts when you arrive on the island. It is a very pleasant parkland dotted with museums, old buildings, lovely roads in a lovely parkland setting. The views from the hotel, from our rooms facing the water and from the dining/lounge area were magnificent. You are very central in the city, so close to everything. It suits therefore for business meetings in the city centre as well as for a pleasant visit to the cities best sites and attractions. A ferry is located right next to the the hotel that brings you to other islands and to one of the main public transport hubs. This might actually be better highlighted by the hotel upon arrival.
We did go for a larger room, which was very pleasant. The view out was great. The interior design is simple but homely at the same time without gimmicks. Simply great. We had breakfast, some lunches and a dinner in their restaurant. The food again is straight forward, simple but done to perfection. It looks and tastes effortless and what you expect it to be. But that takes a lot of work and care. The produce, presentation and taste is some of the best in class anywhere in Europe. It was our first trip to Sweden. They certainly contributed to a very good experience and we look forward to go back to Stockholm to explore the city in more detail. There will be no choice in hotel, we will base ourselves in skeppsholmen again.

Room Tip: If you prepay for the accommodation you can get a good discount. The standard rooms look small, so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a great one to receive.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from our location, our Swedish interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune to our Restaurant Långa Raden, we are very proud to have Magnus Johansson as our Head Ched and the Swedish cuisine he serves.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back during spring and summer and then you will enjoy our complimentary breakfast on our terrace with views over our garden and the sea.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    298
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
195
644
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

If only every hotel in the world could be like this one. Charming, modern, quirky, comfortable, friendly and in possession of the most lovely grounds. The expansive front lawn is dotted with outdoor lounge chairs that beckon you to sit down, stay awhile and watch the waterfront while you sip a glass of wine served from the outdoor bar. The breakfast is so good, and the restaurant is so lovely and filled with such cool art, that you have to force yourself to leave to get on with the day. We could have happily stayed inside the Hotel Skeppsholmen for our entire visit to Stockholm, without ever leaving the property!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikChicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive!

My team and I are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to be situated on this green island and still in the city centre.

I agree! Our terrace and gardens with stunning sea views are quite amazing.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel should be a benchmark for all hotels. The rooms are roomy, cosy, very stylish, reasonably priced, good breakfast and restaurant, good views, free and fast wifi, friendly staff and very well located. I booked this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor ratings and was not disappointed, In fact it was so pleasant I extended the stay by a few days.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icepick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and extra glad to read your kind words about my team.
Be assure I will inform them.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled hotel.

Best from Stockholm where spring has arrived.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubycheaks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This is such a fantastic hotel. We stayed in Stockholm for two nights in march and were delighted we chose this hotel. The room was simple and stylish, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the hotel was top quality. Only a short walk into the beautiful city of Stockholm. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rubycheaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from our stunning location on this green island and still in the city centre, the service from my team, our Scandinavian interior by Swedish interiors Claesson Koivisto Rune to our Restaurant Långa Raden and our Swedish kitchen.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Eco labeled hotel next time you visit our capital.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

... and I guess one of Stockholms best hotels. We stayed there for 3 nights after our ski vacation in Riksgränsen. Everything went out perfekt. A warm welcome with a little gift for our little boy (signed personally by Joachim - the hotel manager). Very friendly and helpful stuff! The restaurant is serves good food and the breakfast is great. Absolut recommendable for a central but quiet stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.
Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed our restaurant and our Swedish kitchen.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again and if you come during spring/summer you will have our complimentary breakfast on our terrace with stunning views over our garden and the sea.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was at the Skeppsholmen (located on the island of the same name) for 4 nights just a few days ago. If your looking for peace, quitness, cleanliness and a utterly professional staff, look no further! My experience there was amazing. Surroundings I can't begin to describe; nice and comfortable room (Scandinavian minimalist yet fonctionnal style); delicious all you can eat breakfasts (exquisite smoked salmon!!); located within a 2 min. walk from the Museet of Modern Art and within 10 minutes by car from the Central Station, this hotel was a true heaven every time I was back from a long day walk in the City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our stunning location, our Scandinavian interior by Claesson Koivisto Rune to our complimentary breakfast buffet.

Extra glad to read your kind words about my team.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco Labeled hotel.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staying at the Skeppsholmen is like taking a trip to your gramas country house. You will be welcomed with love, fed with the best food and sleep with ease. While minutes from the city center, the hotel is nestled in the middle of nature paradise. Even after a day of meetings, you can relax and feel at home here. The best part of my experience is the staff and the hotels Managing Director, Joachim. They are exceptionally warm consistent and will go out of their way to get you whatever you may need...(at whatever hour). Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I agree! We are very lucky to be situated on this green island and still in the city centre.

Extra glad to read your comments about our service and my team, be assure I will inform them.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing