We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, different, convenient for ferries, good waterfront location good rather than very good”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As many have already stated this is a former barracks and as such there is not much any one could do to change the layout. Our room was of a decent size and very clean. The bed was of a reasonable size (king) but too soft for my preference and the quilt was for a double bed which was interesting. Towels and robes were of good quality and there were plenty of toiletries. The floor is of striped floorboards and the furniture boutique modern. There is no bath just a rain fall shower head and a hand held spray in a two door cubicle. The dining room is to the right of reception and very open plan but with the tables close to each other. The hotel indicates that is for social dining. I presume so guests can chat to each other. Not my preference. Honestly there is nothing wrong with the the hotel but I consider that it has an upmarket hostel feel to it. Also I do consider that some staff on reception could improve their customer service skills and were not that helpful on arrival. However those on duty when we checked out were very gracious. We dined at the hotel twice and the food, service and wine was very good. Breakfast which was included was also very good with plenty of choice and of excellent quality. What was annoying was the strong stale smells of cooking on the second floor in the corridor. This was off putting. The hotel location is very quiet with absolutely no traffic noise of a modern city. If boutique small hotels in quiet locations within walking distance to the centre are your thing then you should consider this very seriously.

Room Tip: A double with a sea garden view is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from our location, our Swedish interior, our food and service in the restaurant to our popular complimentary breakfast buffet.
I am sorry to read that the service upon check in wasn't up to our normal standards, be assure I will speak to my team about this. Glad to read that the service at checkout was gracious.

As great I think some upmarket hostels are I don't agree on your comparison with us being one.
We know we are not a typical first class hotel, our " luxury" is our location on this green lush island in the city centre, our historical and listed buildings from 1699, our Swedish concept in everything we do to that we are a Eco labeled hotel.

I hope you enjoyed our stunning capital and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tough to beat the location, right in the heart of Stockholm. Very clean, comfortable, very modern hotel. The reception desk might be the only area where a tiny bit of Southern European hospitality might burnish the considerable charm of the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank JeremiahFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

As glad I am that you enjoyed our location to the interior of our hotel I am deeply concerned we didn't deliver good service at the Front Desk, be assure I will speak to my team about this.

I hope you enjoyed our capital and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent three days here before departing on our Baltic Cruise. It was a great experience and perfect hotel. The breakfast was included with our room and was outstanding. The staff was very available and always helpful. Whenever they called a taxi for us, it came immediately which was appreciated. The hotel location is good and yet quiet and peaceful. Our room was comfortable and roomy. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it to others! Great choice!!!.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeG1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from a location, the service from my team to our popular complimentary breakfast buffet.

I hope you had a great Baltic cruise and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back if you will visit Stockholm in the future.

Best,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Loved this hotel. It was quite different from my previous stay in Stockholm in Old Town. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a former naval barracks transformed into a top class boutique hotel. It is on the water front, really kind of a hideaway, just next to some of the cities best museums! About 10 minute walk to the city center. Rooms were modern a and quiet. The breakfast buffet is included with your room and offers an array of morning cakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, cheese, pate, croissant, breads, teas, coffees, and fresh juices. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwconvdc1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a great one to receive.

My team and I are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and O am very pleased that you enjoyed our popular complimentary breakfast buffet.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled hotel.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is located on an island about a short mile walk across a bridge to the Grand Hotel and the Old City, Gamla Stan. Completely modernized rooms in a former Naval barracks. Beautiful bathrooms and a fantastic shower. A staff that is completely focused on customer service and a location that is a little bit of paradise. Great outdoor dining location for breakfast through to a evening night cap! I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Third Floor rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and extra glad to read your comments about my team!
Be assure they have read your review.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit Stockholm.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed several times on business in Stockholm, and have come to prefer this lovely, peaceful hotel on Skeppsholmen (Ship's Isle) next to the Old Town. It is not like any other hotel you will stay in. It's only three stories for a start - a long low building that is a recently restored navy dormitory. The rooms are all different sizes, and its worth trying to get a larger one. I managed to get a room in the attic on the third floor, and its was exceptional. The beds was very comfortable, the furniture and fittings were modern (in a Swedish style) and of good quality. The bathroom was extremely modern, but (like most of the hotel) somewhat eccentric. I had a superb and tranquil breakfast in the rambling restaurant, which also extends outside in good weather. The best thing about the hotel, though, is its location on an island in the harbour. It is a quiet and relaxing spot, away from busy roads, but still very central.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea, preferably on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky that the Swedish government who are the owners of our historical buildings from 1699 let us open up this Swedish lifestyle Eco labeled hotel 4 1/2 years ago.
I agree our stunning location is quite magical.

Best from Stockholm who celebrates Midsummers eve.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel Skeppsholmen is in a very pleasant location and is also convenient to the rest of the city. A bus stop 2 minutes from the hotel arrives at Central Station in 10 to 15 minutes. My wife and I stayed here for five nights in June of 2014. We had a large, second floor room facing the water which was peaceful and completely free of any city sounds, allowing us to sleep with the windows open. The room itself was quite comfortable, with a good shower, and the sink, designed like water from the faucet pouring on a stone, was an interesting design touch and not problematic. We had a couple minor issues- only one towel was left one morning by a distracted housekeeper, the room phone was not functioning when I expected a business call from the U.S.- but the staff were very pleasant and helpful and responded quickly. I am not an enthusiast of buffet breakfasts, but the selection at the hotel was fine and better than many. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Skeppsholmen and can recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A room facing the water would be highly preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalif08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely review to receive.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from our rooms, the service from my team to our popular complimentary breakfast buffet.
I hope you tried the salmon which is my favourite.

I hope you enjoyed our capital and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,699 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,152 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £155 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing