We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, breakfast and dinner and chocolate dessert”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent room, breakfast and dinner and chocolate dessert”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Skeppsholmen is one of Stockholm's beautiful islands and quiet. We would certainly recommend the Skeppsholmen, but have to say it really upholds Stockholm's reputation for expensive. As a consequence, if/when we return, we will probably find someplace less expensive. The rooms her are designer rooms, very upscale...indirect lighting; the sink, for example, has a big stone in the middle of the sink off of which the water drains. Not really our cup of tea but, nonetheless, beautiful if it's yours

Try to stay as close to reception as possible. The building is a former barracks; it is very long and only three floors high so if you are at one end or the other, it is quite a hike to the reception and dining area and, as I tend to do, if you forget something in your room, it's another long hike back. In fact, we got this advice before going, booked a specific room above reception and they did not have it available when we arrived. I never understood why. The second day we asked to be changed to a room with a bath (and a shower). That change resulted in a move closer in. I was a little dismayed when they did not have our room but happy to say they pleasantly try to accommodate requests

Breakfast is abundant and good. We had dinner here one night and it was very good. The other two nights we came back for a glass of wine and a wonderful chocolate dessert with raspberries.

In some ways, I probably should give it an overall three rating since, in my mind, $400+ per night should be a little closer to perfection in my estimation, I am giving it a four rating since the setting is pleasant, the staff is helpful, the rooms are very upscale and, it just "feels" like a four. A three would make it seem more ordinary than it is.

Room Tip: Insist on a room as close to the reception and dining area as is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our rates are on the higher scale but please bear in mind that our rates are inclusive of VAT, service charges, wireless Internet and we have also our popular breakfast buffet inclusive in our rates.

Yes the hotel consist of 2 buildings and some guest prefer to stay in house 1 ( some house as reception and restaurant) and some in house 2 for more privacy.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant Långa Raden, we are very proud over our Head Chef Magnus Johansson and the Swedish cuisine he serves.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back next time you visit our capital.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    313
    67
    13
    10
See reviews for
212
682
71
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've been to Stockholm many times and stayed in a number of 5 star hotels including the famous Grand Hotel. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a completely different experience. First, it is located on an island in central Stockholm which means it's quiet and has a great deal of outdoor space. In summer you can have breakfast on the terrace which is beautiful and your transportation options are bus or ferry (which we took) which takes you across to the museums or to old town Stockholm.

The surroundings are quiet and peaceful and, because it used to be an army barracks and prison in years past, the rooms are completely soundproof! What a bonus. In most hotels you're always hearing doors closing and opening or the people above and below you but not here.

The food is excellent (pricey like everything in Stockholm) but well prepared with excellent service in the restaurant. My only criticism is the gym which was the size of my bathroom. They need to invest in a decent gym but I went jogging around the island which was a great alternative.

We had our four kids with us and they had plenty of room to run around. The staff were very friendly, helpful and patient with all of us. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and what a lovely one to receive.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and very glad that you liked our concept. It's correct that we are not a traditional 5 star hotel, our " luxury" is our historical buildings from 1699, our stunning location on this lush green island but still in the city centre to that we are a Eco labeled hotel.

Very happy to read your comments about our restaurant and the service from my team.
I agree, our mini gym is small and we are looking in to make a bigger one.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family group of five adults spent a week at the Hotel Skeppsholmen in July. We had three rooms: two deluxe and one standard. Overall we are glad we chose the Skeppsholmen. I think most of the TA reviews taken together provide a pretty accurate picture of the hotel. Rather than repeat what is well said in those reviews I’ll focus on a few aspect of the property that were highs and lows (preview: the bathroom) for us. Since we were there a week there are some aspects of the hotel that might not bother those staying a night of two but became a nuisance for us.

Location: It is a tranquil island oasis and a beautiful setting with water views. Fab location for our group as we love to walk, use bikes and bus transit. The location could be a problem for those who don’t as you’d need to use taxi’s which are not waiting nearby and weren’t always reliable in arriving when called.

Rooms: The standard room is small and tight. The deluxe rooms are nicely sized and allow you to really appreciate the design elements that together present a bright, airy and welcoming room with bleached wooden floors and flowing white curtains. The rooms lack sufficient storage space for two people so we had to keep some clothing in our suitcases and pile things on the floor. There is a mini bar in one of the bed side tables generating heat which might be nice in the winter but not so much in the summer. I unplugged it. The air conditioning works well and is very quiet. We all liked the bed comfort.

Bathrooms: The sinks have an aesthetically pleasing but barely functional design: water from the faucet runs over a stone like structure and then under to the drain. This is a folly of design trumping function resulting in one frequently getting wet with spray from the sink. As there is no traditional bowl you cannot put water in a sink to shave or wash your face or rinse some clothing.
The bathrooms have dark tiles and inadequate lighting. The resulted in my wife and I using the mirror in the bright bedroom for most any function involving seeing your face clearly: shaving, makeup, etc.
The showers are open with a glass partition near the shower head. Our son in the standard room said he couldn’t keep water from the shower in the shower unless he created a dam with two towels as the glass partition is too short. The shower in the deluxe rooms was fine – no water in the rest of the bathroom.
Final complaint (I know, I'm piling on): there are no hooks to hang clothing when showering.

Restaurant: We loved the restaurant -- great food and service. Our stay included excellent summer weather allowing us to enjoy breakfast on the delightful terrace every morning. We enjoyed dinner two nights and drinks/snacks a couple of times as well.

Ask and you shall receive: If you stay at Skeppsholmen and find something lacking, just ask. We asked for an extra luggage rack, more hangers and a kettle to make tea – all were quickly provided. At the breakfast buffet we asked if bananas were available – quickly delivered . Same for espresso. I started to joke that we should see if there was anything they would not provide.

Errata: The Stockholm Card is an excellent value for tourists. We got a five day card that got us into almost every museum and cultural site, a bike tour, bus and subway, and ferries. It saves money and is very convenient. The hotel sells three day passes for the bike share program which is terrific with two stations very near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!
Feedback is always important to us.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We know we are not the most practical hotel in some aspects like our stylish bathrooms and the storage in the rooms, some due to that we are in historical buildings which are listed and owned by the Swedish government so it's has been a challenge to convert these buildings from 1699 and some is due to design flaws, design over function..

Very glad to read your comments about our stunning location, our restaurant and the service from my team, be assure they have read your review.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled hotel.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel Skeppsholmen is on a picturesque, quite island 500 meters from the heart of Stockholm. The highlight of our days in Stockholm was returning to the patio of Hotel Skeppsholmen with its 270 degree view of the waterfront for a glass of wine in the evenings. The buildings are historic, but the rooms are spacious and very modern. We did enjoy the Superior XL room, which was really like a one bedroom suite. A lovely breakfast is included with the room rate. When we return to Stockholm, we will definitely stay at Hotel Skeppsholmen again!

Room Tip: We chose a Superior XL room for the extra space and were delighted with the accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the " Resort feeling but still in the city centre"

I agree! It's quite stunning to sit in one of our sun chairs in our garden with its 270 degree of the waterfront and city of Stockholm.

Glad to read that you would like to return to us and we hope it will be soon!

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel has the feeling of a design hotel in the country side, but in the city centre.

While the building itself looks old, the design and interior are all nicely designed (minimalistic though), good quality facilities, and good breakfast buffet.

THe location is on a small island directly at the city centre and harbor in walking distance of all key sites in the city. The island itself makes this a laid back and quiet place, with great views and trees.

The service is efficient and thoughtful with a jung crew, however.

It is not really a business hotel. I could see that as a business travel a more chain like accommodation would be preferred. Yet the wind down opportunities here make even that great. 10 minutes drive from the central station.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AxelWinter952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review and what a great one to receive.

My team and I are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and be assure they have read your kind comments about them.

We are very lucky that we were able to open up our hotel 4 1/2 years ago in these historical buildings on this lush green island but still in the city centre.

We hope to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled hotel.

Best from a sunny Stockholm,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Skeppsholmen Island is an amazing location in central Stockholm - a lovely park like setting just a short walk to Old Town and all the other touristy things you want to see. The hotel is wonderfully remodeled from a historic navel barracks. The rooms are smallish, but, as you would expect with Swedish design, amazingly well put together. No wasted space at all !!! And the windows open wide to the lovely park and harbor views outside. The restaurant is perfect for dinner. We ate 2 evenings on the patio (smaller and cheaper menu than the main restaurant) and we thought it was very good. And the breakfast that's included with the room price is outstanding. Tons of delicious options. Front desk service is efficient, but aloof.....which we found normal in Sweden. This place is reasonably priced in July and Aug. and I would pay the few extra dollars or euros for the superior park view rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time timo write this lovely review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed everything from our location, our historical buildings from 1699, our Swedish interior to our Restaurant Långa Raden and our terrace.
Also very pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet.

It's correct that us Swedes are known for being a little bit reserved but I am glad that you didn't mistake it for not being service minded.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled.

Best,

Joachim
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The position on the island is great, a ten minute walk into the main town. The staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly. Our room was a superior, comfortable, simple and efficient but not luxurious or particularly large. We were woken by deliveries early in the morning which was boring. Breakfast was excellent, fresh, locally sourced and interesting, take note large hotels. In the evening the dining room was charming to sit in and food excellent and good value. The bus/ water taxi stop is 100 metres away. Overall we enjoyed and would recommend it

Room Tip: Our room at the back was next to the early morning delivery door !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim08, General Manager at Hotel Skeppsholmen, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our complimentary popular breakfast buffet.
Extra glad to read your kind words about my team, be assure they have read your review.

I am really sorry that you were waken by the delivery, we certainly look in to that.

Best and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again to our Eco labeled hotel.

Joachim Olausson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,648 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,050 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
577 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing