We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top!”
Review of Hotel Skeppsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Skeppsholmen
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Top!”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Beautiful design hotel in the very middle of Stockholm. The location on the Skeppsholmen island is brilliant.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bartholomeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    307
    66
    13
    9
See reviews for
202
656
70
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed at the Skeppsholmen for 9 days over Mid Summer. We have stayed at the Berns and the Diplomat in the past and were anxious to try something different. Skeppsholmen is a fairly new hotel and seems to be still developing it's personality. It's location forced us to walk more than normal which was actually kind of nice. The walk from the island to the city is really beautiful. The island that Skeppsholmen is located on is very pretty.
The room we stayed in was of adequate size facing the water and the breakfast/dinner area. In front of that there is a very old building that may have been a stable. This building is being renovated by Benny from ABBA fame and will become a recording studio. Our room had an ultra modern sink and shower. The shower tended to flood the whole bathroom and was not very functional although it looked nice. The sink was interesting but not very useable. One very important thing I keep forgetting to remember is that many hotels in Stockholm use goose down blankets and pillows. I'm allergic to this and it always takes me a couple days to remember that I need to change all of this out. If you start getting a scratchy throat...it might not be a cold.
The breakfast was very good. The outside eating area is very nice and the staff are helpful. The wifi went down for 4 days over the mid summer holiday and it did not get fixed until the internet company came back to work that monday. The Grand Hotel's was working the entire time and may be a better hotel to stay at if you are there for business.
I think my preference of hotel is more for the urban kind instead of the country style. This hotel has much more of a country feel. If you like that then you will probably enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampdenLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I will admit it - I am a sucker for a beautiful, unique hotel experience. And so our Swedish adventure began at the Skeppsholmen in Stockholm. The website was interesting with intriguing but incomplete room photos - enough to draw you in, without revealing all. A renovated barracks building dating from 1699, with minimalist modern furnishings and possibly the coolest sink ever. I was hooked.

The hotel exemplifies the adage: location, location, location. Set on a tiny island near Stockholm's center, it is adjacent to, but removed from, the bustle of the city. The modern art museum is across the small road.

Room 166, extra large with sea view, did not disappoint. But from my perspective - there are a few points where design was allowed to overrule practicality. Given the transitory nature of the hotel experience, hotel designers have freedom to incorporate fun and fashionable elements that might not translate well into the everyday residential environment.

My entire review and photos are at:http://exuberanthome.com/hotelskeppsholmen-modernswedishstyle

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindySanti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This hotel is on a tiny island easy walking distance from Stockholm City Centre. It feels as if you are in the country. Rooms are very modern with almost eccentric bathroom fittings. Breakfast an excellent buffet, but finding English "cups of tea" is tricky here!
Location - surrounded by water, flowering chestnuts and lilac is what would bring me back. Wine is very expensive in Scandinavia!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed here for a few days in mid-June 2010 in the days leading up to the Royal Wedding. I would mainly echo what everyone else says. Very attractive modern renovation of an old military building. Great layout to the rooms, great bathrooms. The location on park-like Skeppsholmen is a manageable walk to transit and some of the top sites of Stockholm.

Breakfast was great, Internet was free and convenient, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location in a beautiful city. Stayed here for Midsommar weekend, everything about this hotel is idyllic. Large, very comfortable room facing the sea on the First Floor. Clean, fresh and light with 3 windows (All with shutters, so sleeping not a problem). Brilliant shower. Excellent breakfast, superbly presented. All the staff we talked to - front desk, waiters, bar staff etc were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate on the restaurant terrace one evening and enjoyed fantastic service and tasty food (swedish meatballs / wheatberries with asparagus and fennel). All in all probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, and the best thing about it is the location - very quiet, and it's really not as far away from the centre as some people here seem to think. It's a 10 minute walk to the Waxholmsbolaget ferries to the islands and a 15 minute walk into Gamla Stan, and a very lovely walk it is too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This hotel left me with somehow mixed feelings.

Rooms were not that large, however they were adequate. Since the hotel is open for less than a year everything in the room was brand new. In addition the rooms were clean. On the other hand rooms on the ground floor are a bit problematic as passers-by can easily see inside the room (if you have the window shutters open). Also certain spots in the rooms or the hotel corridors show that the rennovation (initially the building was some old army barracks) was a bit poorly done.

Breakfast was good. Given the fact that the city center is at least a 15min walk be prepared to have your luch/dinner at the hotel too. The food is nice but the selection limited. The thing that was really not good was the service. Orders were a bit late and served by 4-5 different waiters. One afternoon we were not allowed to sit inside despite the fact that outside was cold. Finally as we were told table cloths are rarely changed in order to comply with some green policy or something. I wonder what other cleaning compromises are made so that the hotel can collect 'green points'.

The hotel's pricing policy was a bit strange. I had some difficulty booking through the hotel's web page. So the booking was made through e-mail contact. However the price offered for the room that way was around 175eu while the internet price was 105eu. In addition as they said they can only accept credit cards with engraved numbers because of some issue with their system. They will also accept euros but charge a 10% extra, something they failed to inform us about on time. So they had us running for a bank.

Would I stay there again? Probably not...there have to be better hotels at that cost.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmniDomni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skeppsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skeppsholmen

Property: Hotel Skeppsholmen
Address: Grona gangen 1 | Box 1616, Stockholm 111 86, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Skeppsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a green/Eco labeled boutique hotel, an oasis with a genuine feeling and charming, warm and caring personality. Hotel Skeppsholmen offers an inspirational mix of a unique 1700's historical building with stylish and modern Stockholm boutique hotel design by Claesson Koivisto Rune. A placid and beautiful location in the middle of vibrant Stockholm city, in its stimulating artistic centre with celebrated neighbours such as the Modern Museum and the Architect and Design Centre. Our restaurant Långa Raden with our Head Chef Magnus Johansson serves a Swedish cuisine. During spring and summer you can sit on our terrace and in our garden and enjoy your food and drinks. We offer free wireless Internet and a complimentary breakfast buffet. Hotel Skeppsholmen is a member of Design Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Skeppsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing