We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for brunch”
Review of Herr Julius

Herr Julius
Ranked #767 of 3,111 Restaurants in Stockholm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Herr Julius c/o Strand Hotel serves Swedish classics with international influences, all made from ingredients that are in season and always of the optimum finesse. In the early morning, the city's most glorious buffet breakfast is served. Then a la carte is served throughout the day, and at the bar you can order cocktails until late. From a cup of cappuccino on the terrace to a glass of champagne, you can always indulge here. Diners and Stockholm residents have eaten, drank and enjoyed life here since 1912, near Stureplan and the promenade. From the dining room, you can people-watch at Nybrokajen and watch river boats go by.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place for brunch”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We tried the brunch and enjoyed it a lot. It serves well for lunch and also has a lot for your sweet tooth. It is advisable to book a table, it seems that a lot of people share our view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    43
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Strand Restaurant”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Breakfasts are great and the Sunday brunches/lunch are legendary in Stockholm and usually over subscribed. Evening meals in January were okay with a very limited menu but tasted good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb dinner”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food, wine and service. Special thanks to Annika who served us flawlessly and graciously this evening. Highly recommend the Reindeer and the Risotto as well as the Zinfandel. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Helpful?
Thank HighPriority
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Elegant and cosy restaurant with water view”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Lovely and elegant place, very good service, nice food and reasonable prices. Optimal place for a romantic dinner or for a cosy family or friend dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretanska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We dined here for our last night (of 4) in Stockholm. Having got used to the much higher prices for evening dinner and gone to some of Lonely Planets tips for good value, we had a very enjoyable meal at the Strand. The menu is limited but the quality was first class and the portions generous. On the Saturday night it was particularly quiet so we were able to have a window seat overlooking some of the boats and the Grand Hotel. Prices were very similar to other 'cheaper' places - although we did not have them, traditional swedish meatballs, mashed potatoes, liganberries were SKr 20 cheaper than seen elsewhere. Staff were very attentive and we certainly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Q6495UIdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herr Julius also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm County, Sweden
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Herr Julius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing