We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay very much.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birka Hostel
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay very much.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent two nights at Best Hostel City in late May 2013 and enjoyed it very much. Hostel has all the amenities, including a decent free breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi on ground floor in kitchen and lounge area.

My single room on 2nd floor has a clean, small toilet and feels very cozy with hard wood floor, one side exposed red brick wall. Best of all, there are two tables and two chairs in the room and you still feel there are enough space to make the room feel uncluttered. The single bed has a typical IKEA looking, firm, clean and comfortable. Shower is only a few steps away from my room and is always clean and available whenever I need it.

The hostel location is great for exploring downtown area's numerous cafes and shops, all within easy walking distance.

I will definitely return to this place in the future!

Room Tip: Room 212 is great for single person. It comes with a small clean toilet, 2 tables, 2 chairs and a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123kwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    89
    77
    18
    11
See reviews for
15
29
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good Location, close to main station and easy walk to old town.I stayed in the 14 bed dorm, nowhere to really store valuables as the lockers were flimsy looking, the door to our room didn't shut properly wither so often times it was left unlocked. NEGATIVE was the bed bugs. After the first two nights I had bites all on my arms and face. Not very clean. Good place if you can avoid the bed bugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I slept there only for a couple of hours but the main advantage of hostel is LOCATION. It is very central, 10minutes from bus/railway station, ca 15 minutes from Gamla. Hostel is basic and has very helpful staff. Building is code-protected and rooms are secure. Rooms however are very small - I booked 6-peron share room but stayed in 14-person room due to stinks in the other room. they know about the problem so wonder why still they offer 6-person rooms... or why not solve the issue?
Rooms are too small for 14 persons, no place to leave your luggage in the room (there is luggage room however).

ABSOLUTE NEGATIVE are bedbugs. I was bitten there (staying only 7hours!!) so hostel is not clean. Bathroom was also dirty.

Big + for free Wifi (however after 10pm it was very slow). Breakfast is also included but I left the hostel at 4am so did not have chance to try it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxima20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Great location, 1 block from the Hortoget T line. Can take the T from Central Station directly to Hortoget. Very convenient. Hostel is basic, clean, and has very helpful staff. Building is code-protected and rooms are secure. No frills but a wonderful place stay at a reasonable rate. Breakfast included but it, too, is basic (beverages, cereal, jam, toast). Clean and friendly. Not necessarily easy to find because it is at the end of a dead end street but once found, it's location is appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DownEastWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macerata, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hostel is located near Stockolm Centralstation and is very convenient for visiting the city. The entrance to the subway is 50 meters away, providing fast connections everywhere.
The hostel is very efficient. The rooms are clean and there is a good Wifi can also be accessed from the room.
The district in which the hostel is located is very quiet even at night. Our room, one quadruple room had a private bathroom and 2 bunk beds. Only the shower was shared with the other rooms of the plan, but always clean. We would definitely go for the excellent value for money .... given that we are in Stockholm ... which is not exactly a cheap city!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is one of the best hostels you will every stay in. Pretty much a hotel. Very clean, modern, and comfortable. Excellent location right in the middle of Normalm, about 1/2 a block from the T-banna. Provides internet and a basic breakfast, as well as a host of cheap things you can buy if you forgot them.

Safe place with electronic door locks, and a very pleasant staff too

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

suddenly a lot of time spent in this place, since it was coldest weekend of June in Stockholm since immemorial time. We ordered private twin with shared bahroom, and it was really OK! Night club and few bars steps from this place. Walking disstance to central station. Very cool and beautiful girls working at the front desk! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vygintas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#42 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel With Urban Deli
Hotel With Urban Deli
#39 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birka Hostel

Property: Birka Hostel
Address: 14-16 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 111 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Birka Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hostel in the Capital of Scandinavia for those who seek a good rate and a comfortable stay. Vi offer private rooms and dormitories. Vi also offer a dormitory for only women. We offer free Wi-Fi in all rooms and common areas. We have a common and a fully equipped kitchen and a friendly social room were you can cook, meet new people or prepare for your adventures in the city. All of us att Birka Hostel value the security and safety of our guests and as such all the common areas are protected by cameras and also all rooms and common areas are equipped with the latest sprinkler systems which are connected to Stockholms emergency services. Coffe, tea and pasta is always free and available in the kitchen Laundry service is offered at a fee. Breakfast is served daily for an additional fee. Monday - Friday 7:30 - 10:00 Saturday - Sunday 8:00 - 10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing