We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hostel Ever!”
Review of Birka Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birka Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Hostel Ever!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I would definetely reccomend this hostel, it's very cozy, location is great, they provide free coffee, tea and pasta, plus you can have a bathroom in the bedroom, (not that usal in the hostels). Breakfast very tasty, we had a problem with the sink drain and they fixed it straight away. exellent experience, Miss it :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    97
    81
    18
    14
See reviews for
16
32
70
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend as a family we loved Stockholm. The hostel was ok I would stay again but maybe not as a family as the food selection was not great and the room we had was a family room about 5foot by 8foot including shower room just too small. Would be a fun lively place for alone travellers or a couple on a budget.
Good points the location was great for walking around, and views. We also found the hostel friendly, clean and fun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliestripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We were heree for two nights eith our teo boys (8 & 3). The location was perfect. The parking halls and the tunnelbana (underground) were close.

The closest tunnelbana station is Hötorget. One day ticket (for tunnelbana, trams, buses and local trains) cost 115 SEKfor adults. This is a good way to see the city. 72 h ticket costs 230 SEK. You can buy the tickets at SL station at T-centralen or for example Pressbyrån kiosks.

We has car and we parked the first night to Hötorget parking. That cost 395 e/24h. For the second eening and night we found one parking (Davic Bagare P-hus) that cost only 100 e for the night/next morning. 24 h price is 280 SEK.

The brealfast was a bit crappy (white bread, cheapest cereals, terrible coffee), but for a low budget it's Ok. There's also a fridge where you can have own stuff if you're not happy with what they are serving. A negative thing is that you have to do the dishes yourself.

I was a bit afraid about the bedbugs as I read here that there were such aåearlier this year. When I asked from reception, I got a message that the rooms had been saniticed (?) cleaned thorouglly with anticimex. We didn't see any of those nor did we have anything, so I guess that problem was solved.

Sound isolation wasn't too good. And especially now when there's a huge construction site just the opposite side of the road, I recommend to take ear plugs.

For low budget this is a good choise. I could even think about this if I was travelling without kids.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I will neve came back to this hostel. Dirty rooms, root staff, not soundproof. But the hostel was close to the centrum of Stockholm. And the hostel is not in a good area a lot of drug dealers just 200 meter from the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent two nights at Best Hostel City in late May 2013 and enjoyed it very much. Hostel has all the amenities, including a decent free breakfast every morning, free Wi-Fi on ground floor in kitchen and lounge area.

My single room on 2nd floor has a clean, small toilet and feels very cozy with hard wood floor, one side exposed red brick wall. Best of all, there are two tables and two chairs in the room and you still feel there are enough space to make the room feel uncluttered. The single bed has a typical IKEA looking, firm, clean and comfortable. Shower is only a few steps away from my room and is always clean and available whenever I need it.

The hostel location is great for exploring downtown area's numerous cafes and shops, all within easy walking distance.

I will definitely return to this place in the future!

Room Tip: Room 212 is great for single person. It comes with a small clean toilet, 2 tables, 2 chairs and a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123kwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Good Location, close to main station and easy walk to old town.I stayed in the 14 bed dorm, nowhere to really store valuables as the lockers were flimsy looking, the door to our room didn't shut properly wither so often times it was left unlocked. NEGATIVE was the bed bugs. After the first two nights I had bites all on my arms and face. Not very clean. Good place if you can avoid the bed bugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I slept there only for a couple of hours but the main advantage of hostel is LOCATION. It is very central, 10minutes from bus/railway station, ca 15 minutes from Gamla. Hostel is basic and has very helpful staff. Building is code-protected and rooms are secure. Rooms however are very small - I booked 6-peron share room but stayed in 14-person room due to stinks in the other room. they know about the problem so wonder why still they offer 6-person rooms... or why not solve the issue?
Rooms are too small for 14 persons, no place to leave your luggage in the room (there is luggage room however).

ABSOLUTE NEGATIVE are bedbugs. I was bitten there (staying only 7hours!!) so hostel is not clean. Bathroom was also dirty.

Big + for free Wifi (however after 10pm it was very slow). Breakfast is also included but I left the hostel at 4am so did not have chance to try it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxima20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#7 of 64 in Stockholm
433 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 64 in Stockholm
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 64 in Stockholm
1,127 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#9 of 64 in Stockholm
226 reviews
Norrmalm
Interhostel
Interhostel
#44 of 64 in Stockholm
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birka Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birka Hostel

Property: Birka Hostel
Address: 14-16 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 111 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Birka Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hostel in the Capital of Scandinavia for those who seek a good rate and a comfortable stay. Vi offer private rooms and dormitories. Vi also offer a dormitory for only women. We offer free Wi-Fi in all rooms and common areas. We have a common and a fully equipped kitchen and a friendly social room were you can cook, meet new people or prepare for your adventures in the city. All of us att Birka Hostel value the security and safety of our guests and as such all the common areas are protected by cameras and also all rooms and common areas are equipped with the latest sprinkler systems which are connected to Stockholms emergency services. Coffe, tea and pasta is always free and available in the kitchen Laundry service is offered at a fee. Breakfast is served daily for an additional fee. Monday - Friday 7:30 - 10:00 Saturday - Sunday 8:00 - 10:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birka Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing