We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, friendly staff, decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, friendly staff, decent location”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for 2 nights. We landed at Arlanda airport and decided to catch a taxi to the hotel. We didn't realize but each taxi sets their own rates so you should check how much they charge from Arlanda to Stockholm before getting in. We ended up paying 595 SEK from the airport to hotel, and later found out rates can vary from 390 - 600 SEK. Another option would be to take the SuperShuttle and you can just book the shuttle online (we didn't find out about this until we arrived at the hotel).

The hotel itself is large and very clean. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There aren't many restaurants around the hotel so we ended up eating at Bjork (inside the hotel) for dinner one night. The food was great. The bread with cheese they give you as a starter was fantastic. We also tried the caesar salad with grilled cheese, which was delicious. The toast skagen (prawns on toast) was just okay so I probably could have skipped that. The salmon entree was okay, but the cod entree was excellent. A lot of people were also ordering the steak, which looked good but we didn't try it. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant (which was included with our room rate). The breakfast was very good with assorted pastries, sausages, bacon, fruit, juices, made-to-order omelettes, etc.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if the location was a bit better. We were able to walk to Gamla Stan (about 25-30 minutes), which was a nice walk along the water. However, there really wasn't much around the hotel (there is a park across the street with many joggers, cyclists, etc.).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PradaLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    615
    115
    25
    8
See reviews for
198
470
82
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel is slightly out of the way but I'd got a great deal through Priceline so was pretty happy anyway. I've always thought that the welcome you get when you check in at a hotel sets the tone for the rest of the stay. On this occasion, the guy who checked me in was incredibly friendly. The room was huge and ultra modern. Windows don't open here so bear that in mind if you prefer this. Excellent bathroom with a great walk-in shower. Don't think that there are baths here so again bear that in mind.
I dined in the hotel bar on a "club sandwich" which was a flat bread open sandwich and which was lovely. All in all, a good stay and will come back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front, there is construction at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

During my short stay I found nothing to complain about.

- The hotel itself (from the lobby to the rooms themselves) is clean and spacious.
- The reception staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful.
- The location is only a 10 minute ride from the city centre.

The only negatives I could imagine during a longer stay would be the lack of alternate restaurants to visit in the evening (as there isn't much within walking distance), and the complete lack of room service (which I have never encountered in a hotel before). However, I would be more than happy to return here on future visits.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is a really nice, new and clean business hotel. The room was spacious and design (as you would expect in Sweden!), bathroom was super clean and modern with a walk-in shower. Location is not central, but for the money we saved (Stockholm is incredibly expensive), taking the metro for 10 minutes isn't the end of the world. Nice tv as well with a lot of English speaking chanels.

The only downside was the long waiting time at check-in. I already mentioned that in the survey sent by the hotel itself and the manager actually contacted me to apologize about that! So great service as well with perfect English from the employees (well it's Sweden, everybody speaks English anyway).

I definitely recommend this hotel. Actually, after staying at this one, I now always look for a Courtyard by Marriott wherever I go for a week-end or a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I am not sure why they did this hotel as a Courtyard, since it is up to Marriott proper standard. From check in to check out, i had nothing but good experiences...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicdupreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel is excellent, especially compared with most hotels around the Central station. Rooms are comparatively spacious (for Stockholm), and new so in good repair. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast was delicious. Small but nice fitness room.
As for drawbacks, the room wasn't super clean - there were stains on the carpet and the curtains. Bathroom amenities were very scanty. These are very minor complaints however, I enjoyed my stay, and this will probably be my first choice on my next trip to Stockholm.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This was a great hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean. The bathroom was spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good, although a little crowded on weekends. It was in close proximity to a subway station. The park across the street was perfect for our traveling family. I wrote more details about our stay and some of the things we enjoyed close to this hotel on our blog: www.worldfamilytravellers.blogspot.com.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank utahfamilytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,920 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,442 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Property: Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing