We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very courteous staff and a great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very courteous staff and a great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I spent many nights per year in Marriott properties in the US when I am travelling for business. So, choosing the Courtyard in Stockholm on vacation was a natural decision. I was very pleased with my stay which included a great breakfast every day. The room was spacious, well appointed and a very nice view of the park below. The Hop-On, Hop-Off bus didn't come frequently enough, but that's not the fault of the hotel, so the nearby subway worked fine. And a special thank you to the staff for finding my lost GPS and sending it back to me in the States. I appreciate that.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front face a lovely park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for your stay with us. Happy that your GPS was found and could be sent back to you in the US.
Most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    596
    112
    25
    7
See reviews for
193
456
82
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

On the rare days that it is warm in Stockholm, the A/C barely cools the rooms on the upper floors until way past midnight. Unlike may hotels in Scandinavia, the windows don't open. The advertised room fridge is completely useless as it is preset to 12* C (about 54* F) and can't be changed by anybody on staff according to the front desk people. However, you an bypass this failing by using it as a cooler with bags of ice---an unnecessary hassle. Breakfast buffet is very good except for the coffee which is typical French roast and only palatable when very fresh-made. Restaurant is mediocre but at least it is a lot cheaper than an equivalent found anywhere in Norway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rickeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry that your experience with us has not been the best one, and that it has been some small and anoying things that has spoiled your stay.
I am sorry that you have not found the restaurant service up to standard. Please do accept our apologize for this. We strive to be if not the best in Sweden some of the friendliest and most accomodating in Stockholm.
I hope your will give us a new chance if returning to Stockholm so we can prove that we have are better than experienced.
Yours sincerely
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Modern, spacious hotel with quiet, well furnished and clean rooms. Excellent walk-in shower as opposed to dangerous, over bath shower.

Reception staff very courteous and extremely helpful, unfortunately the same could not be said for the restaurant duty managers who were off-hand and, despite modest number of customers, were “too busy” to bother with diners. Good food ruined by very poor service.

Location of hotel was conveniently very close to underground station and opposite a lovely park through which a pleasant 25 minutes walk leads into the city centre.

We would highly recommend the hotel but strongly advise guests to eat out at one of the many nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you so much for your stay and for your review. I am happy to hear that your hotelexperience was a pleasant one. Unfortunatelly the dining experience seems to have been the opposite. I will take action on this together with the restaurant team and management to see how we really can improve the service. And analys what has went wrong during your visit.
Thanks for your patience and please accept our apologize.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We choose this hotel because of its location away from the hordes. It's definitely a hike to get to the center of town, but the metro stop is about 2 blocks away. The hotel itself is wonderful though - it's hard to believe its a Courtyard as its nicer than many Marriotts. Big spacious rooms, quiet areas, free wifi, etc all for $120 per night= a real bargain for Stockholm. We are quite pleased with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahjarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for all your nice words and appreciation. Always nice to be compared to a full service Marriott and also reviewed as above that standard.
Welcome back!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

A modern hotel in a neighborhood just blocks from ethnic restaurants and public transportation. We walked the 20 minute stroll through park to main city.
Hotel was very clean up to date. Service was friendly especially the concierge Woo who was most helpful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chisoxdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had high expectations of this new Stockholm hotel but was slightly disappointed. After a nice and efficient welcome at the reception, and a delicious lunch at the Björk restaurant, we went up to our room. I don´t know if it was supposed to be slick, but to me the blond wooden furniture felt a bit anonymous and boring, After I found the Bible and the book of Mormon in the drawer beside the bed I realized it might be meant as a "we are all nice and decent - hands on the cover" look. Not my style obviously, and something was missing in the atmosphere. The fact that I don´t like to be told what to read in bed didn´t make it better. The rest of the hotel was a little more spicy though, with nice lounging areas and good parking. Extra plus to the staff who efficiently took care of my laptop that I forgot in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaPaqariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you seem to have had a nice stay with us in Stockholm. Just as an explanation to the litterature in the bedside table. This is a standard for all Marriott Hotels and not optional. I hope you brought some more intereting litterature with you for reading in bed.
I hope that you will be back with us anyhow.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My partner and I spent four nights in this hotel, and I would recommend it to other couples looking for a quiet getaway in the Swedish capital.

Our room was spacious and nice, with a big bathroom and comfortable furniture. The hotel's breakfast buffet was really nice, but rather pricey. However, there are several good cafés just around the corner from the hotel. The only downside to the hotel is the 20-minute walk to downtown Stockholm - but if you bring good walking shoes, you should be OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingeborgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#46 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Property: Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing