We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm Kungsholmen
Nearby Hotels
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$403
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$598
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$482
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveller rating
630
676
133
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
676
133
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbjork restauranttypical courtyardcity centreblue linemetro stationnice hotelminute walkwalk in showerold townbeautiful parkt banahotel is locatedpublic transportationrooms are largebreakfast buffetgamla stanbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you're a box-ticker this hotel isn't for you. Then again, if you travel solely to tick off attractions and experiences, Stockholm isn't for you. This is easily the nicest city in Europe to explore in slow time, on foot, and while the Courtyard's situated a fair walk from Gamla Stan and Ridderholmen that's no disadvantage because the walk in takes you through a park, along the water's edge, past a fine selection of preserved old boats and the Stadshus, with a view across to Södermalm all the way.
Taxi to/from the main bus station came to 1290SEK each way. Tipping isn't expected, but rounding up to the nearest krona is the norm. It's a walkable distance through a pleasant neighbourhood if you're feeling energetic and the weather's fair, or you can take the subway. The nearest station is Fridhelmsplan, which is still a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The hotel is on the edge of the Rålambshovsparken, near the traffic intersection at the end of the Västerbron bridge. It's set well back from the traffic, though, and noise shouldn't be an issue unless you're a ridiculously light sleeper. There's little in the way of shops in the immediate vicinity, bar a 7-11 on the corner behind the hotel and a few convenience stores in the streets behind, but prices aren't much better than in the Courtyard's little market area beside reception. Your room will have an empty minibar and a small label telling you that the tap water's safe to drink. It is. I filled water bottles every morning and drank nothing else when I was out on the move.
As for the services, check-in and check-out were very quick and easy and the front of house staff are excellent. Asked for a high floor room, got one on the ninth floor. Good size, empty minibar, stingy on the storage though and English language television channels are just the expected news/business majors. If you've seen mention of free wifi, true up to a point. The first megs per day are free, then you pay. More generous than any other Marriott I've visited yet, but still an annoyance. There's a surprisingly spacious gym on the third floor, with two free Internet terminals set up rather incongruously at a table in the foyer near the elevators. Speeds were fine and the public areas are kept as spotless as the rooms.
Didn't bother with breakfast or lunch because I ate on the move, but had dinner in the hotel restaurant most nights. Always a warm welcome and pleasant service, decent portions, prices about what you can expect to pay elsewhere. If I have a criticism it's that it was sometimes difficult to catch a server's eye late on when they were tidying up and laying out for the breakfast service. Plenty of choice nearby though. Cross the road in front of the hotel, into the park, turn left and the walk through the trees along the water's edge takes you past a couple of very nice restaurants into the centre of Stockholm. Depending on your energy levels it'll take you about 20-30 minutes to get to Gamla Stan, or longer if you're happy to just amble on a beautiful evening. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had read how helpful the staff was at this hotel. When checking in, I mentioned that some of our luggage had not made it, Victor@ (desk), then asked if I had the paperwork related to the luggage. After giving to him to photo copy, he said he would personally call and check on it for us. I also made dinner reservations with him for their very nice restaurant Bjork in the hotel. When walking pass the front desk on the way to dinner, Victor saw us and told us he had already checked on the luggage, that it was on the way, and would most likely arrive @ hotel after 9 pm. He also said that he would check again after 9 pm. to verify that it had arrived and would be scheduled for delivery. Leaving the restaurant after dinner, he called us over to tell us that it had arrived @ airport, was set up for delivery and they would hold for us to pick up the next morning.
It sure made sleeping the first night much more restful not having to worry about the luggage. Through out our stay, (five nights)--the staff was always most helpful and for this reason alone, would come back to this hotel again.

The Bjork restaurant also was as good as advertised, by other posters and no one should ever find fault with their excellent breakfasts, nor the evening meals.

This Courtyard was easily one of the nicest we have ever stayed!! I am a Platinum Marriott and easily say this from many past experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for all the nice words about the hotel. I am happy that we have succeeded in a guest service delivery beyond expectations. I will perosnally make sure that Victor is recognized for this contributions to your stay with us. Most welcome back in the future.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and absolutely enjoyed. Hotel is very modern, amazing Restaurant and very friendly service. The rooms are standard Courtyard and a good size. Location is good, few minutes walk to Underground station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risto85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you so much for your stay and for your kind words about our hotel.
I hope to see you with us soon again.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wow, all Couryards should be this hip. The lobby was one of the coolest ever. Stylish, but not sterile like a W hotel. Rather, modern but warm and inviting.

The food was expensive, but excellent.

The stupid thing about this hotel, that ruins it all, is the “Regin” AC system. We awoke to 25 degrees when the temperature wasn’t that hot at noon the previous day! I suppose the idea is to be “green”, but it made us “red”. Remember, this room oven was generated in COOL weather! The hallways were perfectly comfortable (20 degrees), as were the lobby and the rest of the hotel; only the rooms were hot. Windows do not open in this building.

First we were told our particular AC unit was defective. Two guys came in and took the ceiling apart and “fixed” it; but it remained 5 degrees hotter than the hallway. Told later that our unit could not be “fixed”, we were then moved to a new room which seemed to be fine in terms of temperature. So we went to sleep and woke up later in a sweat. What is going on here?

The hotel has variously suggested that both AC units were broken, that a central AC “signal” command on “check in” was not set, and that there was/is a system wide failure of “problems with the control units of the valves for cooling.” Yet to be explained is how two rooms could have this same problem of getting hot on a cool day.

Apart from the waste of energy of heating up rooms on a summer day, there is the guest torture aspect. Rather ruins a stay, eh?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel until they figure out how to re-tool their spastic “Regin” AC system.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your stay and for your review.
I am sorry about the inconvenience we caused during your stay as your room was to hot. Our maintenance department has been on the problems since we were told about it from you. There seems to be more than one component that is not working 100% in these cases. We surely hope that your next stay with us will be a much better one.
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I spent many nights per year in Marriott properties in the US when I am travelling for business. So, choosing the Courtyard in Stockholm on vacation was a natural decision. I was very pleased with my stay which included a great breakfast every day. The room was spacious, well appointed and a very nice view of the park below. The Hop-On, Hop-Off bus didn't come frequently enough, but that's not the fault of the hotel, so the nearby subway worked fine. And a special thank you to the staff for finding my lost GPS and sending it back to me in the States. I appreciate that.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front face a lovely park.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you so much for your stay with us. Happy that your GPS was found and could be sent back to you in the US.
Most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews