We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stockholm overnight before cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Ranked #19 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stockholm overnight before cruise”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having never been to that region of the world, I elected to use a familiar hotel name, Marriott. It turned out to be an excellent choice with great service, basic quality amenities and great location for the price. We didn't need to spend a fortune to be near the tourist "old city" area. Instead, we arrived at 5 p.m., and rather than rest after our transatlantic flight, we walked to the old city and had a nice dinner on the pier. We took a taxi back because we ended up walking a wonderful route along the harbor through a beautiful park, which was a pretty good distance. Loved it though. I recommend this hotel for the short stay we had.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abzAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    608
    114
    25
    8
See reviews for
196
461
82
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had the opportunity to stay for 4 nights at the Courtyard in Stockholm this past July 2012. Overall had a fantastic stay in this modern, sleek and exceptionally clean hotel. The location is a bit debateable (see below), but overall this is a great choice for (most) visitors to the awesome city of Stockholm

Price/booking – Ended up booking this hotel directly on Marriott’s website (well in advance) as a non-refundable advanced booking; this allowed me to save quite a bit (ended up paying about $350 CDN for 4 nights for the standard queen room)

Location – Location was the only (slightly) negative aspect of the hotel. Overall it’s not TOO far from the city center, via metro, however it is quite the walk from the main part of Stockholm. Although it may not seem like a big deal when looking on a map, after a long and tiring day of sightseeing, it was a tad bit annoying to have to then spend an additional 20-30 mins walking to the hotel and/or getting on the metro to the hotel. On the bright side, there are two metro stops which are within reasonable walking distance from the hotel and a couple of bus stops which take you to various parts of Stockholm central/old town.

Another slightly negative aspect of this hotel was the fact there was not much in the immediate surrounding area – literally just a gas station and maybe one small cafe. Getting to any sort of restaurant (apart from the one in the hotel) or store required a fair bit of walking. Personally, I think if you are traveling with small kids or don’t have a high tolerance for excessive walking, this may not be the most ideal hotel to pick only due to the somewhat isolated location of this hotel.

Staff – The staff of this hotel is exceptional. Very pleasant check-in and check-out staff members at the front desk (and they let me check in at 11am...thanks!!), and it seemed like they were willing to bend over backwards to help you with any request/issue you might have had. No complaints at all.

Room – I booked the standard queen room, which was very spacious (by European OR even North American standards) and nearly spotless. The room also had a nice fridge which was a plus, and the internet service was quite good as well. Although my floor had a lot of families staying during the days I was there, my room was extremely quiet and I couldn’t hear a thing through the walls...high-quality sleep for sure! The washroom was extremely clean and open, plus very well stocked with various soaps and shampoos. Lots of pillow choices, and the blankets/covers were also nice and comfy...absolutely nothing to complain about here. The only slight downside was the fact that the AC was either not working, or very weak (but luckily it was relatively cool when I was in Stockholm, so I wasn’t too bothered). For those who are interested, the room also had a decent coffee maker (with cups/coffee/stir sticks/etc), and a full iron and ironing board as well.

Overall pros:
+Fairly good value overall (taking into account the distance from Stockholm central)
+Extremely clean, spacious and fresh looking hotel/rooms
+Nice staff members working at the hotel
+Room well appointed with all the basics you would need during your stay

Overall cons:
-Location may not be suitable for everyone (a bit far)

Overall a fantastic hotel for a fantastic city...the hotel staff should be proud of their great hotel! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your stay with us. I am hppay and proud about all the nice words from you about our associates. I do share your opinion and agree that my staff is really exceptional.
Thank you so much and hope to see you again.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you're a box-ticker this hotel isn't for you. Then again, if you travel solely to tick off attractions and experiences, Stockholm isn't for you. This is easily the nicest city in Europe to explore in slow time, on foot, and while the Courtyard's situated a fair walk from Gamla Stan and Ridderholmen that's no disadvantage because the walk in takes you through a park, along the water's edge, past a fine selection of preserved old boats and the Stadshus, with a view across to Södermalm all the way.
Taxi to/from the main bus station came to 1290SEK each way. Tipping isn't expected, but rounding up to the nearest krona is the norm. It's a walkable distance through a pleasant neighbourhood if you're feeling energetic and the weather's fair, or you can take the subway. The nearest station is Fridhelmsplan, which is still a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The hotel is on the edge of the Rålambshovsparken, near the traffic intersection at the end of the Västerbron bridge. It's set well back from the traffic, though, and noise shouldn't be an issue unless you're a ridiculously light sleeper. There's little in the way of shops in the immediate vicinity, bar a 7-11 on the corner behind the hotel and a few convenience stores in the streets behind, but prices aren't much better than in the Courtyard's little market area beside reception. Your room will have an empty minibar and a small label telling you that the tap water's safe to drink. It is. I filled water bottles every morning and drank nothing else when I was out on the move.
As for the services, check-in and check-out were very quick and easy and the front of house staff are excellent. Asked for a high floor room, got one on the ninth floor. Good size, empty minibar, stingy on the storage though and English language television channels are just the expected news/business majors. If you've seen mention of free wifi, true up to a point. The first megs per day are free, then you pay. More generous than any other Marriott I've visited yet, but still an annoyance. There's a surprisingly spacious gym on the third floor, with two free Internet terminals set up rather incongruously at a table in the foyer near the elevators. Speeds were fine and the public areas are kept as spotless as the rooms.
Didn't bother with breakfast or lunch because I ate on the move, but had dinner in the hotel restaurant most nights. Always a warm welcome and pleasant service, decent portions, prices about what you can expect to pay elsewhere. If I have a criticism it's that it was sometimes difficult to catch a server's eye late on when they were tidying up and laying out for the breakfast service. Plenty of choice nearby though. Cross the road in front of the hotel, into the park, turn left and the walk through the trees along the water's edge takes you past a couple of very nice restaurants into the centre of Stockholm. Depending on your energy levels it'll take you about 20-30 minutes to get to Gamla Stan, or longer if you're happy to just amble on a beautiful evening. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank voronUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarloaf shores fl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had read how helpful the staff was at this hotel. When checking in, I mentioned that some of our luggage had not made it, Victor@ (desk), then asked if I had the paperwork related to the luggage. After giving to him to photo copy, he said he would personally call and check on it for us. I also made dinner reservations with him for their very nice restaurant Bjork in the hotel. When walking pass the front desk on the way to dinner, Victor saw us and told us he had already checked on the luggage, that it was on the way, and would most likely arrive @ hotel after 9 pm. He also said that he would check again after 9 pm. to verify that it had arrived and would be scheduled for delivery. Leaving the restaurant after dinner, he called us over to tell us that it had arrived @ airport, was set up for delivery and they would hold for us to pick up the next morning.
It sure made sleeping the first night much more restful not having to worry about the luggage. Through out our stay, (five nights)--the staff was always most helpful and for this reason alone, would come back to this hotel again.

The Bjork restaurant also was as good as advertised, by other posters and no one should ever find fault with their excellent breakfasts, nor the evening meals.

This Courtyard was easily one of the nicest we have ever stayed!! I am a Platinum Marriott and easily say this from many past experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and also for all the nice words about the hotel. I am happy that we have succeeded in a guest service delivery beyond expectations. I will perosnally make sure that Victor is recognized for this contributions to your stay with us. Most welcome back in the future.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and absolutely enjoyed. Hotel is very modern, amazing Restaurant and very friendly service. The rooms are standard Courtyard and a good size. Location is good, few minutes walk to Underground station.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risto85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you so much for your stay and for your kind words about our hotel.
I hope to see you with us soon again.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wow, all Couryards should be this hip. The lobby was one of the coolest ever. Stylish, but not sterile like a W hotel. Rather, modern but warm and inviting.

The food was expensive, but excellent.

The stupid thing about this hotel, that ruins it all, is the “Regin” AC system. We awoke to 25 degrees when the temperature wasn’t that hot at noon the previous day! I suppose the idea is to be “green”, but it made us “red”. Remember, this room oven was generated in COOL weather! The hallways were perfectly comfortable (20 degrees), as were the lobby and the rest of the hotel; only the rooms were hot. Windows do not open in this building.

First we were told our particular AC unit was defective. Two guys came in and took the ceiling apart and “fixed” it; but it remained 5 degrees hotter than the hallway. Told later that our unit could not be “fixed”, we were then moved to a new room which seemed to be fine in terms of temperature. So we went to sleep and woke up later in a sweat. What is going on here?

The hotel has variously suggested that both AC units were broken, that a central AC “signal” command on “check in” was not set, and that there was/is a system wide failure of “problems with the control units of the valves for cooling.” Yet to be explained is how two rooms could have this same problem of getting hot on a cool day.

Apart from the waste of energy of heating up rooms on a summer day, there is the guest torture aspect. Rather ruins a stay, eh?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel until they figure out how to re-tool their spastic “Regin” AC system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your stay and for your review.
I am sorry about the inconvenience we caused during your stay as your room was to hot. Our maintenance department has been on the problems since we were told about it from you. There seems to be more than one component that is not working 100% in these cases. We surely hope that your next stay with us will be a much better one.
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I spent many nights per year in Marriott properties in the US when I am travelling for business. So, choosing the Courtyard in Stockholm on vacation was a natural decision. I was very pleased with my stay which included a great breakfast every day. The room was spacious, well appointed and a very nice view of the park below. The Hop-On, Hop-Off bus didn't come frequently enough, but that's not the fault of the hotel, so the nearby subway worked fine. And a special thank you to the staff for finding my lost GPS and sending it back to me in the States. I appreciate that.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front face a lovely park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelmanagerSTOCY, General Manager at Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for your stay with us. Happy that your GPS was found and could be sent back to you in the US.
Most welcome back!
Martin Åkesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#22 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen

Property: Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen
Address: Ralambshovsleden 50, Stockholm 112 19, Sweden (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#14 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen in Stockholm, Sweden, is a modern and inviting hotel in the heart of the city centre. Our location places you moments from the famed Old Town, the Skansen open-air museum and City Hall. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we have all of the amenities you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Stockholm Kungsholmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stockholm Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing