We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“petit by name”
Review of Rex Petit

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rex Petit
Ranked #6 of 35 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here earlier in the year travelling alone on business. The hotel's location was good for me as it was close to all the Ostermalm attractions being only 5-10 minutes walk for Stureplan. The breakfast was good and it is a tidy, clean building, but the rooms really are tiny and I would not recommend choosing this hotel if you intended to stay for longer than a couple of days. I don't particularly like to live out of my suitcase but you have no other choice here and my 4 night stay was difficult due to lack of storage space for clothes, toiletries, and luggage in general. Despite the bed being a double, it would certainly be uncomfortable to share the room for anything other than sleeping.

If you are on a tight budget and are visiting for just a couple of days, then it makes sense. Otherwise, I would avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C17YHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Nice little hotel. Staff were friendly & helpful. All spoke English.
We had a basement room with shared bathroom. Room was ok.. A little small and as stated when we booked had no windows-maybe not for those who are claustrophobic! At times little bits of brick from roof would fall on us-little worrying!
Shared bathroom - toilet had "running" issues, but it was clean. Shower fine.
Breakfast had great selection & nice area to enjoy.
Location isn't too bad. 20min walk to Old Town etc however hotel is located near metro.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubySlippersNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Rex petit is a small hotel in the basement of the larger Rex hotel, both share the same reception. Rooms are very small but have a good TV and bathroom inside. I would recommend this to anyone staying a few days in Stockholm on a budget. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ChrMogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have just recently returned from staying at this hotel for a 3 night break. Yes the cabin rooms are small but they have everything you might need for a short break. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom is compact and has a good shower with plenty of hot water. When we checked in we were walmy welcomed, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, they even loaned me an umberella as when i arrived it was a wet afternoon. In the reception you can help yourself to free tea and coffee. Breakfast was served in a nice light spacious room with great breads,hams.cheeses and cereals.The food was always fresh and tasted great. The location of the hotel is perfect very close to public transport or you can walk into town in about 15 mins. I would definatly use this hotel again when we return to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holsmanDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I spent one night in this hotel during my most recent business trip to Stockholm and was disappointed to find how small and uncomfortable the room is. Though the hotel is only a few minutes away from a T-Bana station and a mere 20 minutes walk from the center, the rooms are akin to those you will find in a hostel: in the basement, with bunk beds, no windows and a bathroom so tiny that it made me feel very claustrophobic. I traveled in the winter and needed a place to hang my winter coat, arrange my scarf and winter boots. With only one plastic hanger, the upper bunk bed ended up serving as the storage space. A winding staircase and a room key that wasn't functioning properly did not make access to the room any easier. I didn't get much sleep and throughout the night kept waking up at night, bumping my head. On the brighter side, the bed sheets were impeccably clean and breakfast with a view of the terrace made up for a sleepless night: a wonderful selection of breads, crackers, cheeses, jams, coffee and tea. A fresh copy of International Herald Tribune almost brought a smile on my face, if not for all the drawbacks. And although I am writing this review two months after the initial trip, I still wonder to this day why Rex Petit has a ranking of a two stars' hotel. A hostel ranking would be less misleading.

Room Tip: There is another hotel right across from Rex Petit, under the same family. Paying a bit extra will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dboyarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda S, Manager at Rex Petit, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear dboyarch,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and appreciate your kind words.

Rex Petit is classified by the Swedish Hotels Association with the standards following the European Union classification body, called EuroStar. The hotel is classified as a two star hotel, meaning that the rooms are considerably smaller, hence the price. Besides filling the criteria’s of a two star hotel, in Rex Petit we offer facilities of a 3 star hotel, including front desk service, breakfast, international newspapers and free coffee/the, etc. We always make sure to inform our guests of the size of the rooms as well as the fact that they do not have a window at the time of the reservation.

You are welcome back to our hotels at any time! Maybe during you next visit you can stay at our three star property, Rex Hotel, where the rooms are more spacious and all have windows.

Per Hellsten
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,302 reviews
Vasastan
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
656 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#63 of 154 in Stockholm
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
NOFO Loft
NOFO Loft
#2 of 35 in Stockholm
162 reviews
Mariatorget
Rygerfjord Hotel and Hostel
Mariatorget
Hotel Hornsgatan
Hotel Hornsgatan
#1 of 35 in Stockholm
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Petit

Address: 73 Luntmakargatan, Stockholm 113 51, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rex Petit 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex Petit is a small, two star, family owned budget hotel, with all conveniences the modern traveller requires at an economical price. There are 20 rooms at the Rex Petit all of which have telephone, free internet access and flat screen TV. 16 of the 20 rooms have their own bathroom with shower/WC. The remaining 4 rooms have shared facilities nearby in the corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rex Petit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing