We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Hotel Micro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Micro
Ranked #6 of 35 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The idea of sleeping in a room with no windows horrified me. But the idea of spending €300 a night on a room with windows horrified me even more - which was my alternative on such a busy weekend and at such short notice. It was surprisingly very OK. It's best to imagine you're sleeping on a boat and then you'll be fine. The rooms are tiny, but they are well ventilated and well sound- proofed and the beds are comfortable. The communal bathrooms were spotless. It's in a very convenient location. All things considered it was good value for money Stockholm standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was difficult to find this hotel, and a tough walk at midnight with luggage from the train station. I had booked 2 rooms for 5 people. One room was listed as a quad, and the other a double. I was a bit shocked when we got to the rooms, and both were identical: two bunk beds in each room. The good news was that the beds were fairly large and so my son and I were able to share one without too much difficulty, and it was comfortable. When I asked reception if there were larger rooms, she just laughed and said that they were all identical. The bathrooms are quite a distance but very clean. The doors to the rooms are extremely heavy, and my elderly aunt couldn't manage them very well. All in all, the price is reasonable, and it worked well for a short visit in a very expensive city.

Room Tip: They are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fuller0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Don't expect any luxury. The rooms are tiny and windowless (at least the one we had) with narrow bunk beds, and the bathrooms are communal.

But don't let that put you off. If you're just looking for a place to sleep in a city where hotels are very expensive, this is the perfect choice. It's modern, clean, and very quiet with not a sound from other guests disturbing us. I have absolutely no complaints and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two friends in march. Good central location and very reasonable price for expensive Stockholm! The rooms are small but perfect if you just want somewhere to sleep after a busy day. Didn't have breakfast as it seemed pricey for what you got. Shared bathrooms were clean, as were the rooms. Comfortable beds and friendly reception staff, would stay again if I returned to Stockholm.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank molly1994_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Its about 15mins or more of walking from T-centralen station. It was raining when we reach Stockholm, thus took quite a while to locate the place but we were fortunate to meet a friendly local who took us to the door step.

Reception is shared with the main Tegner Hotel.
For the price we paid for Hotel Micro, you cant complain much. For people who cant stand without window, this is definitely no no for you.

Room is compact and just nice for sleeping if you need a place just for that. Its actually all the way to the end of the busy shopping street, Drottninggatan. To the other end, you can actually keep walking to reach the Old town.

Drawback of this place is lack of kettle to boil water, especially during the cold season.
Toilet is shared, but they have multiple WCs and shower rooms.

Every place is card access, so do not forget to bring it with you.

Room Tip: Its windowless, thus bear this in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed recently for the first time in the Hotel Micro, and when you compare the price paid here for other hotels in the city centre, then it is great value. True, the rooms are small, but if you are only going to sleep in them then no problem at all.

Efficient and friendly staff upstairs in the reception area, and the downstairs part (where the rooms are, below ground) is VERY clean. The whole place appears to be really well run, but the cleanliness will certainly surprise you. Good bathrooms and showers (none in the rooms) which are also very clean and modern. Despite being underground, it is well lit and feels modern and fresh. Near to Sveavagen, so there are plenty of eating options nearby. They seemed to have the temperature just right in the hotel too, so sleeping was no problem.

So given the budget price and excellent cleanliness, as well as the staff who were always on hand upstairs, then I definitely recomend it for people who just want a good, clean place to sleep in Stockholm. Of course, if you want a big hotel room, private bathroom and hotel gym then this is not the place, but as a budget option, then it is excellent.

About the only thing extra that it needs is a coffee machine downstairs, as there is none, but the staff upstairs in reception fixed coffee for me.

So overall, a great place for a budget stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and apparently, some of them have pillars in them, so perhaps ask for a room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank centraltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We took a short break to Stockholm and found this very nice b&b. Staff was nice,rooms are small,but nice and clean,bathroom is shared but compare with the price we didn't complain.All in all this b&b is very good for a short break

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dastler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,179 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 154 in Stockholm
268 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
632 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
874 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Micro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Micro

Address: 8 Tegnerlunden, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Price Range: £44 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Micro 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Micro you stay in comfort at micro-price. The rooms are like small cabins without windows, decorated in marine colours. New, clean and roomy showers and WC for ladies and gentlemen you find on the same floor. We offer you a one star accommodation in the middle of the city, with a wonderful, comfortable bed at a really low price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Micro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing