We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect- top Stockholm location and good value!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stockholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drottning Victorias Orlogshem
Ranked #13 of 34 Stockholm B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

With only one review on trip advisor prior to my booking this was a long shot. I liked the the look of the Radisson Blu but NOT the price and found Drottning Victorias Orlogshem only metres away. There is nothing not to like. Apart from the convenience of the location metres from the waterfront, the rooms were impeccably clean (there were eight of us so we had two rooms). The guy on reception was friendly and spoke excellent English; he also helped booking taxis and with other advice. I arrived, with my two children (11 and 4), after a non- stop flight from New Zealand (35 hours from door to door) and the room was ready although it was slightly before 11am. The breakfast was great (the room was in two parts so being two families with noisy children we commandeered the smaller room). There was something to suit all tastes for breakfast and the lady was a sweetheart. With the price being the same or (maybe less in some cases) as less conveniently located hostels, I can live without the shampoo I might have got at the Radisson. The rooms are not large but they are quiet and comfortable- there was a desk, cupboard, and a couple of chairs in the room besides the beds. We also enjoyed that we were not in a generic chain type hotel- there is a bit more of an ambiance and history; the kids enjoyed the model ships down near the breakfast room. When you arrive you can orientate yourself by walking a few metres to the waterfront and jumping on one of the Hop on/ Hop off boats for a tour of the main spots.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Her_indoors_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

an old historic hotel in the very heart of Stockholm....a former hotel for Swedish sailors sponsored by the Royal Family. It retains its naval theme. Rooms are simple but have all teh required amennities. This place has HISTORY and LOCATION LOCATION. A gem of a find for me. Serving and retired military folks will get a discount (just to keep the naval tradition of giving a sailor a chance for a night ashore)

Room Tip: you can ask for a room away from the road if noise is an issue (mind you the hotel is not on a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a very curious hotel. Being named after a Swedish war vessel, the inside is entirely navy themed, up to the elevators and the mirrors in the bathrooms.
It's modest, but cosy and interesting.
The staff is helpful, but beware when leaving your key at the reception desk: the staff out on a break during lunch time!
The beds are comfortable enough, but the heating was slightly noisy, and the curtains are insufficient to keep out the midsummer light at night.
The street just outside is nothing special, but gives out to the bustling port from where you can easily go to the main attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is not an American style tourist hotel. Most of the other guests appeared to be European visitors. But this American tourist loved this hotel! The location is perfect. We walked to Gamla Stan, Scansan, Government buildings and other attractions. There are two small elevators. The rooms were not elaborate but were clean, comfortable and more than adequate. The included breakfast selections were typical Swedish breakfast fare: bread, meat, cheeses, cereal and yogurt. The front desk staff were always pleasant and accommodating. The price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here if or when I return to Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelingraninca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank philipsward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jimpan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#39 of 155 in Stockholm
775 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
1,598 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,201 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
628 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drottning Victorias Orlogshem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drottning Victorias Orlogshem

Address: Teatergatan 3, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Stockholm
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Örlogshotellet was founded in 1908 by Queen Victoria (wife of King Gustaf V Adolf). The purpose was to give young sailors of the Royal Swedish Navy, an opportunity to stay on land when visiting Stockholm. And at a very friendly price too. Örlogshotellet has, over the years, become more and more popular, not only among military personell. Allthough most of our guests work for, or are guests to, the Swedish Defence. Örlogshotellet offers shower/WC and TV in all rooms. All housed in a very centraly located 1920's building. There are about 40 restaurants, a number of cafees and theatres/cinemas, just around the corner. Breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing